We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive and Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kristian IVs Gate 7 | Postboks 6764, St. Olavsplass, Oslo 0164, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Pietrasanta, Toscana, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exclusive and Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent two days in Oslo and we found this incredible accommodation. The Hotel is in the core of the city just few hundred meters from the most interesting places. The hall is something incredible that let you remember the old extremely luxury accommodation: things like Titanic or Queen Mary. It is a tea room, a piano bar, a library, there is a beautiful fountain in the middle: it's a warn recovery from the cold outside. Everything has been … perfect. Keep it up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    264
    82
    14
    13
See reviews for
64
243
60
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Thanks to all the wonderful TripAdvisor reviewers, I picked this hotel for a 4-day stay last March. It met every one of my needs: old-world local charm (I always knew I was in Oslo!), location within walking distance of most places and a street-car ride for all the rest, sparkling clean room (but small, so I only had what I needed/wanted), good restaurant, nice pub, super breakfast, wireless everywhere, etc. Most of all, the lobby gave me a home away from home: great for a solo traveller who knew no-one when she arrived. The service was warm and friendly. Plus I got an instant insight into why people complain that Norway is expensive when I checked the laundry prices and found a $25 price for washing (not ironing) a pair of jeans. It was obvious that prices are high when service is involved, because they pay everyone a living wage and benefits. This made for friendly service people; it also made for taking advantage of all the "practically free" public benefits, like the Oslo ticket that covers all the museums, transport, etc. Even going to the opera, and to a couple of really top restaurants, this visit was not expensive, because so much of what I wanted to do and see was much cheaper than it would have been in the U.S.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

of the lobby strikes you immediately when you enter ; very cosy: big leather sofa's which creates an immediate nice ambiance. It sure is a nice different to some of the more 'sterile' Scandinavian hotels I stayed in.
The front desk staff is friendly and helpful.
The rooms are comfortable - and the windows do open (I like to have some fresh air).
Nothing fancy but comfortable.
A thing that struck me is that (at times) there is a slight sewage smell in the bathroom; I was told that in Scandinavia they are not allowed to use harsh cleaning products (like bleach) ...!!!
During the peak season the breakfast room can be a bit ' overcrowded'; you may have to wait to find a table; also the replenishing of the breakfast items does take time as the staff can not handle the flow. But hey, who is in a rush right?

The location is TOPS; 2 minutes from the main square. 10 minutes from the port (really fab to sit at a terrace in the summer watching people stroll by, listen to a concert.
Everything is at hand; restaurants, bars and cinemas.

And the Scandinavians sure enjoy the outdoors; it does not matter if it is 25 degrees or minus 20; I saw them on the (heated) terraces having a drink!

But I am always surprised how expensive it can be!?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were looking for a competitively priced hotel in the centre of Oslo for a long weekend city break and booked the Bristol hotel.
It was very easy to find, short walking distance to the national theatre train station which is fantastic as you can use the metro to get anywhere you might like to go.
On arrival at the Bristol hotel I was amazed by the beautiful Lobby area it relly is stunning. The reception team were fantastic, offering ideas for where we may like to visit during our stay and a map (always useful).
We had a standard room which was a good size with a desk and small sitting area. The bathroom was lovely, L'occtaine hair and body wash, just a shower which was fine for us, but if your someone who needs a bath, it may be worth checking with the hotel what type of room you need to book.
The room was spotless, and house keeping did a fantastic job daily to keep it so, infact the whole hotel was spotless.
The bed and pillows - aaaaamazing, most comfy bed I have ever slept in.
Breakfast is wonderful, buffett style with plenty of choice. If you can have breakfast late and consider it brunch (it will save you alot of money, Oslo is expensive!!)
I used the sauna once during my stay, again it was clean and well kept. It is small, but i was the only person there, a great way to warm up after a chilly day round Oslo.
Whilst we were visiting my boyfriend unfortunately broke his ankle sledging and really the hotel were fantastic (specificaly the reception team) . They faxed all our insurance documents and printed the documents we needed, extended our room to a late checkout on our rescheduled departure day, provided extra pillows, anythng we needed, the reception team eally are a credit to this already lovely hotel.
The hotel holds the charm from the 1920s and really is fantastic, we really hope to visit again (hopefully no broken bones next time!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This city centre hotel combines old-world charm with modern comforts in an ideal location convenient to all the main city attractions, The rooms are small but well appointed and those on upper floors are quiet with views over the city from their small balcony. The buffet breakfast is extensive and of high standard. The free sauna, plunge pool (10c) and power showers are a valuable bonus on cold winter days. Room rates reduce by the number of days stayed and offer excellent value for money compared to other hotels even within the Thon group. I would not think of staying in any other hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful, very clean. I loved the lobby. You can get a light meal all day/evening in elegant but not pretentious surroundings. Super comfy- warm bed. Breakfast was yummy with the same elegant atmosphere. We sat in a small alcove off the main dining room. Close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need one. They will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel, staff and decor. Period decor in lobby and restaurants. Perfectly located, close to the central railway station, tube and tourist info offices. We spent 3 nights here in room 566. The bathroom is a bit of a let down compared to the beautiful lobby and pleasant room. Only a shower cubicle and no bathtub and no extras like moisturiser with toileteries. Quite expensive at over 140 euros for a double room but Norway is expensive. We were here to bring in the New Year. Breakfast - something to look forward to every morning in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book online and in advance for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7 | Postboks 6764, St. Olavsplass, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#4 Business Hotel in Oslo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.