We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, comfiest bed in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kristian IVs Gate 7 | Postboks 6764, St. Olavsplass, Oslo 0164, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Oslo
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, comfiest bed in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were looking for a competitively priced hotel in the centre of Oslo for a long weekend city break and booked the Bristol hotel.
It was very easy to find, short walking distance to the national theatre train station which is fantastic as you can use the metro to get anywhere you might like to go.
On arrival at the Bristol hotel I was amazed by the beautiful Lobby area it relly is stunning. The reception team were fantastic, offering ideas for where we may like to visit during our stay and a map (always useful).
We had a standard room which was a good size with a desk and small sitting area. The bathroom was lovely, L'occtaine hair and body wash, just a shower which was fine for us, but if your someone who needs a bath, it may be worth checking with the hotel what type of room you need to book.
The room was spotless, and house keeping did a fantastic job daily to keep it so, infact the whole hotel was spotless.
The bed and pillows - aaaaamazing, most comfy bed I have ever slept in.
Breakfast is wonderful, buffett style with plenty of choice. If you can have breakfast late and consider it brunch (it will save you alot of money, Oslo is expensive!!)
I used the sauna once during my stay, again it was clean and well kept. It is small, but i was the only person there, a great way to warm up after a chilly day round Oslo.
Whilst we were visiting my boyfriend unfortunately broke his ankle sledging and really the hotel were fantastic (specificaly the reception team) . They faxed all our insurance documents and printed the documents we needed, extended our room to a late checkout on our rescheduled departure day, provided extra pillows, anythng we needed, the reception team eally are a credit to this already lovely hotel.
The hotel holds the charm from the 1920s and really is fantastic, we really hope to visit again (hopefully no broken bones next time!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    243
    80
    14
    13
See reviews for
61
226
55
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This city centre hotel combines old-world charm with modern comforts in an ideal location convenient to all the main city attractions, The rooms are small but well appointed and those on upper floors are quiet with views over the city from their small balcony. The buffet breakfast is extensive and of high standard. The free sauna, plunge pool (10c) and power showers are a valuable bonus on cold winter days. Room rates reduce by the number of days stayed and offer excellent value for money compared to other hotels even within the Thon group. I would not think of staying in any other hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful, very clean. I loved the lobby. You can get a light meal all day/evening in elegant but not pretentious surroundings. Super comfy- warm bed. Breakfast was yummy with the same elegant atmosphere. We sat in a small alcove off the main dining room. Close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need one. They will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel, staff and decor. Period decor in lobby and restaurants. Perfectly located, close to the central railway station, tube and tourist info offices. We spent 3 nights here in room 566. The bathroom is a bit of a let down compared to the beautiful lobby and pleasant room. Only a shower cubicle and no bathtub and no extras like moisturiser with toileteries. Quite expensive at over 140 euros for a double room but Norway is expensive. We were here to bring in the New Year. Breakfast - something to look forward to every morning in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book online and in advance for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Arrived at hotel early but reception staff were able to check us into our room immediately. Our first impression of room was WOW, large and comforable. Hotel is old and decor is traditional, and very classy. We ate in the restaurant both nights, food was great as was the service. Wine of course was expensive but thats just Norway. Breakfast was buffet style, huge amount of choice and excellent quality. Location of hotel was perfect, we walked everywhere to sightsee. Short walk to harbour. To top off our stay we ordered Hot Chocolate in the foyer cafe and it was served in a silver pot with cream on the side. Best hot chocolate on our entire trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our small group of hotel&restaurant managers met again, yesterday for our annual special dinner gathering. "Lutefisk" & "Creme Caramel" accompanied by selected Aquavits and beer was again served in a most professional way although Hotel Bristols restaurant division was serving the entire top management of Philips oil in their banquet departement at the same time.
Excellent Lutefisk - try it, by all means it is a Norwegian delicacy, however tasting a bit strange to foreigners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Splendid location, with comfortable and spacious room. Overall impression is good service, breakfast and quality, but the standard is a bit run down around the edges. For instance I had to use considerable strength to close the balconydoor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7 | Postboks 6764, St. Olavsplass, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#4 Business Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.