We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Grand Central to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway (Sentrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel one night in beginning of April.
Reception was like a 7-Eleven, with a kiosk behind the front desk. And I was told there is no minibar in the room. Got a room in the new wing, room 4hundredsomething. First of all, it was a long walk and I had to ask for direction due to lack of signs. Second, it was the smallest room I ever got in a hotel. Almost claustrophobic. The bed was taking 80% of the room space. The decor on the wall was some (what looks like) Korean characters with a Asian woman with her fist raised. Could it be North Korean?? Absolutely not to my liking. And another form of decor in the room and hallway was teared off pieces of old wallpaper glued to the wall. And in combination with something looking like tagging on the walls. The desk was a fall down desk from the wall, and the chair was looking like something from the 70ies. Not very comfortable. The TV was just above, so working on the computer and looking at TV at the same time was a challenge. The bed was nice and gave me a good sleep.

The bathroom looked new and was in a good size. I guess it was 1/3 of the bedroom size.

The Fitness room was located just above the reception, and if you where working out there you was on display for people down stairs.

Ate at the restaurant. It was average and over prized. 55 kr for 4 pieces of bread with aioli is ridiculous. Wine prices at 4-5 times the price at the Vinmonopolet is not very customer friendly. Would not eat there again. However, my colleague said the breakfast was decent.

First time I have been asked to pay for my room at check-in. Felt like a cheap motel, but for the price at more than 1400 kroner its not something I would return to if there is other options.

But at least the location was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Erling,

Thank you for staying with us here at Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
The art of Ariel McMillion creates the identity we want in this listed building from 1884. Some love the artwork, others not- that’s the beauty of art!

In Comfort Hotels we means that hotel minibars are ridiculously expensive, too expensive for you and expensive to operate for me. Buy rather a bottle of drink from my dear service crew to at NOK 20.

Your homemade focaccia and fresh aioli at NOK 55 at Bella Bambina Ristorante is calculated with an average and normal food cost. I respect your opinion, but we`re not an overpriced restaurant.

Hope you`ll stay with us soon again Erling.
Wish you all the best with your ferry cruise ship high-season soon to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    352
    104
    26
    6
See reviews for
107
284
49
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Average minus, it's a place to sleep, but not much more.
The Restaurant claims to be the best Italian in town. Well, it's not.

The breakfast buffet is poor compared with Scandic (Both Comfort and Scandic Grand Central is located in the complex of Oslo Central railway station, so I think it's fair to compare them). Only one type of bread, no sausages, lack of normal selection of jams, no-fat milk. Simply not as you expect.

The building is old, but the hotel is brand new and everything is renovated for the opening. So, why are there cracks in the flooring and walls of floor stand after a few months?

Have had different rooms, but all have the same wallpaper: A strange woman / fantasy creatures who, according to my taste certainly is not particularly pretty, looking down at you from different angles. Interior design involves strips of the same paper is glued up here and there on other painted walls. Not "my cup of tea", but maybe someone thinks this is trendy.

A sterile lobby decorated more like a reading than as a place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear OlavAnd,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. As General Manager I appreciate highly any input. It`s the only and best way to get better. Enhance and develop.

We have taken some conceptual choices, which you unfortunately dislike;

Yes, the breakfast has a smaller range. But better ingredients. We focus on sustainable food not quantity items that are only for decoration and not often used and ultimately discarded as waste. We throw way too much food in Norway. Our local contribution to the environment for the reduction of food waste is a smaller and better breakfast.
Yes, Jam buffet does not have 10 different varieties loaded with sugar, we have selected 1 homemade, with 1.2 kg fresh berries and 100 g fructose.

The wallpaper art of Ariel McMillion in many of my 170 rooms creates the identity we wanted. With art there is always opinions. Positive and negative -that's the beauty of art!

When you do some conceptual choices it means that some Love to stay here, others not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had a small single room. The room had the essentials: good bed, good tv, nice bathroom, a small desk and a chair. But it did'nt have anything else. No iron, no kettle, no shoe horn.
Breakfest was good, staff was nice, hotel was clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Johan,
Thank you for your stay with us. And thank you for sharing your experience. As a reasonable newly opened hotel all extra input is appreciated.
You want kettle, shoe horn and ironing board. It is understandable if you use this a lot in hotels during you stay. But; We wish you as our guest welcome with 24 hour complimentary organic coffee and tea service in the lobby, and Norway’s most creative ironing room on the 2nd floor.

Very glad you liked the essential in a hotel, cleaning, healthy breakfast, good bed, 40 "TV and a good bathroom.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us Johan. All the best from Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Found the hotel very easily (is in the train station - look for McDonald's and you're on the right track) and the location is absolutely superb. The staff are very attentive, friendly and lovely really!! All of them very welcoming and if only all staff were like this everywhere!!
The facilities to store the luggage are fantastic, realisable and I felt safe leaving my bags at the hotel as we had a late plane.
I was surprised with the room at first as it felt very expensive for what you actually get, as I wasn't keen on the art of if or the grey on the walls and the white writin which made it feel like it was 'cheaper' than it was. But the beds were incredibly comfortable, as were the duvets. The shower was fab, the only problem being there was no shower curtain or curtains over the window and even though no one can look in, when you move in the shower (it's like one big wet room) you can get a bit chilly cause nothing is keeping the hot air in.
The free wifi is fabulous, again very impressive along with free tea and coffee (just a shame they didn't have breakfast tea which I love!).
I wasn't a huge fan of breakfast because I'm quite a plain Jane so didn't find anything to suit me apart from cornflakes and I didn't like the teas on offer (again would much prefer a breakfast tea) but there is a healthy kick going on in the hotel so I understand why the teas are fruity. Also I would like some white bread as an option but that's purely just preference. My bf who is not fussy in the slightest loved breakfast :) again the kitchen staff were fantastic and do a great job. The hotel was very clean too, no complaints there. If I came to Oslo again I would choose to stop here. Many thanks to the wonderful staff again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear kmurphDerbyshire,

Thank you! It pleases me and my colleagues to read your kind feedback. I will share your words with all of my on site, because you motivate us with such kind words.
Hope we see you both soon again as our guests here at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central! Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is modern, well decorared and part of the central station. There is no need to leave the station to enter the hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and the breakfast is quite tasty. The hotel lacks in some common amenities found in other hotels like toiletries and around the clock laundry services.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear whslc,

Thank you for staying with us at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central!
Laundry services is available but is unfortunately only open during the external dry cleaner's own opening time.

Glad you liked the hotel, the good location and the service. I hope to see you back soon as my guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For anyone struggling to find exactly where the hotel is: it occupies part of the big yellow "Ostbanehallen" building immediately to the south of Oslo Sentral railway station. You can walk through the station and then a row of shops and restaurants to the door of the hotel lobby, though it's a bit tricky to find this the first time - it's easiest to go round the outside of the Ostbanehallen to find the hotel's external door. It's in a very convenient location, right next to the main railway station, and various tram and bus routes, and very close to Karl Johans Gate, Oslo's pedestrianised main drag. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and modern, though rather minimalist - not many frills. I found my room a bit clumsily designed: when you put towels on the towel rail, they hang down over the WC basin; the thermostat was hidden behind the flatscreen TV on the wall, so I didn't find it until the second day; and the desk had an inconveniently placed row of metal studs down the middle, making it difficult to place my laptop on it. I could hear no noise from outside the hotel, but did hear some noise and footsteps from the corridor outside my room - probably because the floors are hard. Pricewise it seemed to be reasonable value by Oslo standards (in the city where a coffee and a bun can set you back $15), though I did see adverts for another nearby hotel which claimed to charge a lot less.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear PeterCG
I highly appreciate your kind feedback.
Thank you for your dedication to the many new readers who are searching for information about the Comfort Hotel Grand Central.

Appreciate the input to improve our hotel, I take this further with the management team. Thank you for helping us improve to product! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pros:
1) The customer service at the front desk was excellent. I agree with some other reviewers that not all of the staff is as knowledgeable about Oslo as Emilie. She was an expert on just about everything.
2) The free breakfast had a large assortment of delicacies...except the eggs! The scrambled eggs had a hard crust from sitting under the warming light, yet they were cold. This presents a hygiene issue. The other food items were fresh and tasty.
3) Strong wifi signal.
4) Clean rooms.
5) Great location in the train station. You see people schlepping their suitcases all over town walking to their hotels located blocks away.

Cons:
1) Lack of towels. They supply two hand towels and two bath towels and no wash cloths. One hand towel had to be used as a bath mat because there was no shower door, so the water splashed all over the bathroom floor.
2) No where to hang clothes. There are hangars, and some very short pegs, but the pegs are not conducive to holding more than one hangar.
3) The bathroom could use some robe hooks on the door and at least one shelf in the shower to put shampoos and soaps (instead they have to be placed on the shower floor).
4) The room layout. There is plenty of room, but the space in our room was not properly utilized. The desk was right in front of the bed, so one had to crawl over the bed if someone was sitting at the desk.
5) The pillows were small and lumpy. I left a note for housekeeping for extra pillows and they complied.
6) The coffee maker in the lobby never seemed to work and they were always out of creamer.

Since there is no air conditioning in the rooms, I could see a noise issue in the warmer months. I could not get the heat to turn off in the room. We kept the window open. Our room was facing the front of the hotel, which is loud and bustling almost 24/7. I always carry ear plugs, so this was not an issue for us.

I would stay here, again, but it would be nice if they addressed the little things that make a hotel stay truly great.

Room Tip: Plan your room location based on the weather. In warmer months, chose a room not facing the bustling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear FriendshipII,

Thank you for an fantastic and helpful review.
We will bring your feedback to next management meeting for further development on issues witch is not brand standards needed to be followed.

Thank you for making us better. And thanks to you and your family for staying with us. Hope to see you all soon again. Emilie will be rewarded at our next staff meeting.
Welcome back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.