We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Days in Oslo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anker Hotel to your Saves list
Anker Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Setubal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5 Days in Oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hello.
My wife and I visited Oslo on 23/05/2014-27/05/2014. We stayed at the hotel Hanker. I think in terms of quality / price is acceptable, well positioned, easy access to transport, easy access to major points of access. I consider it a safe city. I think a very expensive city but using the guide Oslo Pass is easy and is not expensive. We were pleased with the visit to this city but we were sad for not having eaten codfish and as in Portugal. We know that fish comes from Norway, but …

greetings

José Carlos Silva

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    357
    228
    49
    27
See reviews for
121
235
111
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Not a bad hotel not a gret hotel.

Pros: Close to the action (&bus/train terminal), friendly helpful hotel staff, not a bad view from the 12th floor. There is a nice cafe right accross the road, and a taxi rank close by too! bathroom was spotless!

Cons: We couldn't get an iron!! we asked for an iron and was told there was a wait list but we would not get one that day (we asked for it around 5 oclock) we had to go out wrinkled!!!
Room was a little grubby - we had no aircon in our room and every morning when we woke up we felt chocked up (buffy eyes and throat) even thought we left the window open every night - we felt that perhpas the carpet was very dusty but it's hard to know.
Hotel is not located in the best area - two of the roads leading to the hotel were full of drug addicts (down by the river and the road parallel) - nothing happenend to us but we got taxis more often as a result - taxis in Oslo are expensive!
Breakfast was not great - Not healthy enough I thought. the only fresh fruit were oranges/bananas. No yogurt or healthy musli. The scambled eggs were swimming in butter - ick! The bread was nice though.

Room Tip: Get a room high up and bring a travel iron/hairdryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is located just a short walk from the central station. There are trams and buses stopping near the hotel all the time which makes it a good location. In addition, if you want to walk away from the downtown section of Oslo, there are several pubs and cafes nearby. Of course, everything you eat or drink in expensive in Oslo. The rooms are small and basic, but hospitable. The staff is very welcoming and helpful -- transportation, restaurants, hotel services, they help with everything. Breakfast is included and is typical European with lots of choices. I would probably use it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The triple room was really comfortable enough for 3 people. The breakfast was rich, offering even 3 types of herring. The hotel is actually 15-20mins away (walking) from the Opera and the city center, although the area you must pass through to reach them is not very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Went here with my girlfriend. Wasn't expecting much from the hotel really and wasn't left in a different mind after staying there.
The staff were friendly, able to speak english and efficient.
The room, apparently a superior double, was just grand. Clean but a bit dated. It was very warm despite having the window open all night. No fridge, safe or tea making facilities.
For the price paid there can't be complaints really as Oslo in general is very expensive. Hotel is in a great location to go and see things.

Room Tip: Sortgata is the road we walked on getting to the hotel. It didn't feel like the nicest of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvika, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My stay didn't get off to the best start.

Upon arrival we were told that the hotel had overbooked on double rooms and that the only room available was a smaller room with a smaller bed (140cm instead of 180cm). Not a double room we had paid for and requested.

Normally we're not fussy at all, but my boyfriend has recently had back problems and the womans attitude on the front desk was absolutely appalling and she didn't help matters at all.
She did admit that it was the hotel that was at fault -that they had overbooked, but she was not sincere or helpful at all and it felt like she just wanted rid of us, not welcoming at all - I was pretty shocked to be honest.
As we weren't left with many options (no upgrade available, unless WE paid extra!) and as we were staying with another couple who had checked in before us at this hotel and as it was such late notice to do anything else -we had no other options than to take the room with the smaller bed.

I have received a £20 discount from the agent I booked through, but that is just small change really -as we got a room suited for 1 person even though we paid for a double, i find this discount a disgrace - they have pretty much made a profit out of putting us in a smaller room which is at a cheaper rate anyway.

Otherwise, the hotel had some plus points,

it was in short walking distance of the train station and close to many shops and restaurants.
Room was clean.
Breakfast was good. and I liked that they had a later breakfast on a weekend - great idea.
They allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel after checking out and picked it up later.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean and very comfortable, the service is good and the personnel is friendly and welcoming. The position is great: it is not far from the center, only 2 bus stops from Oslo Central Station or about 10 minutes walking. Although I wouldn't recommend to walk to the hotel (especially at night), it seems that you have to pass through a "dangerous" and "not really safe" street...I didn't know, and I didn't notice anything "dangerous", but people then told me it is better to take the bus or the tram....the bus stops are right in front of the Hotel! On the other side of the Hotel there is also a very nice neighbourhood, full of nice restaurants and bars, very nice atmosphere during the weekend! The breakfast at the hotel was ok, it was a big european-style breakfast, but I found the quality a bit low - the bread was good, but I found the rest not really fresh. I also had a bad experience with the wifi connection - it never worked for more than 5 minutes which made impossible working on the web or even check the email.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.