We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anker Hotel to your Saves list
Anker Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Even though the hotel is in a very good location, it is very average in every sense. Rooms are tiny, stuff very unhelpful and does not speak English well, corridors are massively run down and going into the elevator is a bit of an experience. The air co was set at a boiling temperature which we couldnt change and bed were really poor too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    321
    207
    47
    26
See reviews for
112
208
104
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on a business trip.

Good:
- near the tram station for easy access to downtown
- very friendly staff

Bad:
- expensive parking
- poor breakfast, bread rolls in the morning were old (all three days)
- no gym

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Anker hotel for 4 nights with a friend. Wre arrived early but we could check in already as they had a double available. Service is friendly. The room is cleaned every day. Huge breakfast which has something for everyone. The hotel itself isnt very cozy; pretty clean ans soulless actually. However location is really gopd near trendy Grunnerløkka, 5min walk from central station and even some good bus and tram lines right in front of the hotel.
Prices for rooms are high compared to other countries but for Oslo its pretty decent.
Oh and for those of u travelling in winter: the bathroom has floor heating which is pretty awesome but extremely hot when its 26ºC outside haha!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great choice for those who don't want to stay in the very downtown but like to be quite near all its places. Stayed here 2 nights. Good location on the border of Sentrum and Grünerløkka districts, 10-15 min walking to the railway station and Karl Johans gate or a couple of stops by tram or bus.
Modern Scandinavian interior design. Spacious single room but the bed was quite narrow. No shower cabin in the bathroom, just a curtain.
Decent buffet breakfast although room was felt a bit crowded. Strong and reliable WiFi. Supermarket around the corner works till late.
Necessity to use room access card to use the elevator was sometimes irritating. Fridge in the room would be a plus.
Overall great place for a good price, would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed at Anker Hotel at the end of May 2013. Me and my friend shared a double room and we totally loved it. The prices are average. We payed 150 pounds each and had breakfast included. We loved the position of the hotel, which is very close to central station. We found it really easy to find the hotel also our way around it. We had TV , free WI- FI and we had our room cleaned and towels changed daily. We absolutely loved the breakfast. was varied and filling. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hi,

I have stayed at Anker couple of times when I travel on business to Oslo. This hotel is near Hansmanns Gate tram station and is a 10 min walk to Oslo central station. It is a nice place if you are traveling on business or family holiday as well.

Rooms are comfortable and staff is very courteous. I would recommend to opt for the corner facing rooms which are in the new tower as it gives the best view of the city if you get a high rise floor room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is very easy to get to and is on several key bus/tram routes. Just a few minutes on the tram from the central station. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. The hotel is situated in a slightly poor area and also runs student accommodation.
The wireless didn't work on either of the 2 times we stayed there.
Breakfast was plentiful and the quality was ok.
We accidentally left some clothing on our first visit and notified the hotel by email so we fully expected to have it returned to us when we returned to the hotel just a few days later but nothing was recorded in their systems. So make sure you don't leave anything.

Room Tip: Some rooms get tissues provided and some don't! Not quite sure why this is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.