We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ibsen Museum

The Ibsen Museum
Henrik Ibsensgt. 26, Oslo 0253 , Norway
22 55 20 09
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 171 Attractions in Oslo
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum/exhibiton in the apartment of the world famous author.
Northeast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This museum includes highlights of Ibsen's life and a visit to the last apartment he lived in. My travel companion went reluctantly to accommodate me, and in the end, had to admit it was one of the best spots we visited. I highly recommend a visit!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A place worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

When I had read "Hedda Gabler" and "A Doll's House" , I never thought I'd one day see the place where Ibsen lived, even though it was the latter years of his life .
I really enjoyed the guided tour and the wonderfully interesting commentary given by our pretty and charming guide. It really gave an insight into the working of the mind of the great playwright.
We came to see all the living rooms and the bedrooms of the author and the contrast between the various parts of his house was to say in the least, very interesting .
A must for all , esp those who have read and liked his works.
Also covered in Oslo pass.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our tour of Ibsen's home and were intrigued by a large metal key in a glass cabinet which was apparently given to Ibsen by the King and unlocks the gate to a Royal Park. If you are a fan of Ibsen's work then you won't be disappointed. The guides are friendly and knowledgable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An honest account of Ibsen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Within walking distance of downtown Oslo, the Ibsen Museum is worth a visit - particularly if you can get in for free with the Oslo pass. I found it interesting and refreshingly honest in its account of Ibsen as an immensely talented but flawed individual.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nicely done apartment tour, together with a good exhibition.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was two part visit. The first is an exhibition with a lot about Ibsen, his family, his life and his writing. The second is the tour of the apartment in Oslo where he lived for the remainder of his life after returning to Norway.

Both are very interesting regardless of your previous knowledge of Ibsen or his work.

Make sure to see the painting in his study, over the fire place, of his arch enemy. It's stunning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ibsen Museum also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to The Ibsen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ibsen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.