We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating tour of Ibsen home and a museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ibsen Museum

The Ibsen Museum
Henrik Ibsensgt. 26, Oslo 0253 , Norway
22 55 20 09
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 171 Attractions in Oslo
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum/exhibiton in the apartment of the world famous author.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour of Ibsen home and a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It isn't necessary to be familiar with Ibsen's writings to enjoy this museum. The home which is across the street from the Royal Palace is a piece of history. Our tour guide was a theatre major at the University so she shared some fascinating history about Ibsen and his family and friends. The museum is a self guided experience and not all of the exhibits are in English. Small gift shop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Henrik Ibsen's House in Oslo is superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just over the road from the castle you'll find Ibsens House. Henrik Ibsen was a prolific playwright and poet (Peer Gynt, A Doll's House etc) who is well known internationally. An hour or so here with the assistance of the fantastic guide will help you to understand such a lot about the man, his work, and Oslo itself. We were there for 90 minutes, but only had time to see the superbly kept apartment where Ibsen lived, and buy a few books. Next time we're there we'll go straight to the videos, cuttings and articles. See the great review by Wilma S. I couldn't agree with her more, but I have given it an even higher score.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I dont know whether the museum was boring or i wasnt interested. This museum is about henrik ibsen the playwright. The museum is not that big and is located near national theatre. It was pretty boring to me. You could miss this one happily if you have less time to get around.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum with a great guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Definitely recommend this one of a kind museum - they have completely reinstated Ibsen's apartment exactly as it was at the height of his fame and career and the tidbits of information you get from the tour guide are absolutely fascinating. A real personal touch to this museum and you get a real sense of who Ibsen was as a human being. The exhibition is a little scatter gun in its approach but has some interesting objects in it - if I were you I would go straight for the guided tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A Doll's House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

While my husband and I were in Oslo we decided to visit the Ibsen Museum as we were familiar with his work. It turned out that the museum was closing in five minutes.

We returned two days later but now we had our Oslo pass and entry was included with the pass. There was a small fee otherwise. The receptionist was very friendly. She pointed out lockers for our use for our heavy bags and coats. The toilets were beside the lockers and were well maintained and quite modern.

We were told on entry that there was a guided tour at noon. In the meantime we went up the stairs to the main area. There were photos on the wall on our way up the stairs. There was also a lift, if needed. The museum dipicted the life of Henrik Ibsen and there were cuttings and articles regarding him, his life and his work. In a corner was a small “movie theatre” with steps where you could sit down on cushions. There was a video playing about the life of Ibsen and various cuts from his films in different languages around the world. Well worth spending a few minutes watching this.

There was also a display of prints by Edvard Munch whose life crossed with Ibsen's.

We went back downstairs for our guided tour. The apartment Ibsen and his wife lived in was on the third floor. A lift was useful this time. After donning plastic overshoes we followed our guide throughout the apartment. It had been beautifully restored and many pieces were donated by Ibsen's late son for the museum. Some of the rooms and furniture could be seen up close, others were behind glass for protection. The kitchen was being renovated at the time. I found it interesting that his wife read to him from novels and described articles that she had read.

The tour was most interesting and I think it was over a half hour long. Have a good look at the ceilings, walls and furniture. From the windows in one of the lounges, Ibsen had a fantastic view of the comings and goings down below. At the time he was seen as a celebrity and people used to stand and watch for him to come out of his apartment.

There was a small gift shop but we did not purchase anything at that time. We did however, follow the path that Ibsen took every day down the street to his favourite cafe, the Grand Cafe on Karl Johans Gade. There were metal phrases worked into the pavements all the way to the cafe. This was quite interesting, too.

The museum was well worth a visit, for an Ibsen fan or not. It would give one a feel for someone living in Oslo during his life time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ibsen Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ibsen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ibsen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.