We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Linne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Linne to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Linne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Statsrad Mathiesens vei 12, Oslo 0598, Norway (Formerly Linne Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked this hotel. Very warm reception, friendly staff, clean room, nice restaurant. All in all a pleasant experience. I would stay here again. The food gives a good feel for Norwegian cuisine, but if that is not to your taste, there are other options available. Breakfast had a really wide choice of food too.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Are G, Manager at Thon Hotel Linne, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your nice review and welcome back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
11
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I've been staying at hotels for over ten years due to my work, and I think I never have met more service minded staff in all this years. Arriving late in the evening (after shops and so on was closed) I found out that I have lost my mobile charger. I contacted the front desk asking if they had a spare, but they didn't. The girl at the desk offer me to have her personal mobile charger for the night!
The next day waking up to one exceptional good breakfast.

I was sitting in the lobby for a while after that, and it was a very busy day because of a big horse race and a big football match in the town. The day shift girl at the desk was just as helpful and professional as the night shift, and even with one extremely rude and difficult guest she stayed cool, professional and helpful.
Very impressed all in all.

The room was ok++ for the price, clean and had everything you need.

Would both recommend to others, and stay here the next time I'm in town.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Are G, Manager at Thon Hotel Linne, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your nice review and welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We had very pleasant experience staying at Thon Hotel Linne in Oslo. I stayed in a family room for 2 nights, these rooms are really comfortable for a family. Free parking was easily available. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They serve really good breakfast. I think it was the best value for money in Oslo.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Are G, Manager at Thon Hotel Linne, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your nice review and of course, welcome back:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My first stay in Oslo. Stayed for three nights.
Disappointed in this hotel. 15 minutes to check in - not an impressive start, Located in a room in the building directly across the street from the main hotel which was more akin to a students residence that a better class of hotel. Room had evidence of dust on the walls, toilet cistern leaked onto the floor, shower head was broken at the top, flooring in the room was wooden and was all scraped which made it look dirty, tiling on bathroom floor had cracks in it and the curtain was hanging off the curtain rail in the bedroom area. The wardrobe to hang you clothes was located in the bathroom !.
Having said all that the meals were good and staff generally friendly but having to go outside and cross a busy road to get your meal was not great as there was no room service !

Room Tip: I don't know what the main hotel building rooms were like but make sure you are located in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Are G, Manager at Thon Hotel Linne, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I am not sure which room you had, but i have now ordered my staff to check every single room to see if there are things to improve.

We have 10 different roomtypes in the hotel so it is difficult for me to say if the standard is different. We have some smaller rooms in that buidling and some are also large rooms. Many of our guests prefer to stay in the building across the street because of the fitnesroom in the basement and the sauna, others prefer to stay in them main building. It depends of which type of stay our guests have when they stay in our hotel.

It is possible to book a room in the main building if you let us know upon arrival. So if you come back to Norway it is possible to do so.

Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire..
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Long feedback sorry, very long !!!
Feedback is more about the staff, but the hotel is excellent too. Sometimes the human side of things gets overlooked, and reviews focus on the negative or just the hotel...
I've just returned back to England after working for 2 weeks very close to the hotel, stayed a the hotel Thon Linne for all but 1 night of my time. Over the next 4 months i will be going back to work in the area, i will always try use this hotel .
Had to find another hotel for 1 night on the Saturday, due to a horse race and annual horse auction. The race course is just up the road from the hotel, unfortunately this resulted in the hotel being totally full. As with all big events, this meant there were a lot of people that had obviously enjoyed the alcohol side of things. On the Friday night the hotel restaurant and reception area, was totally full until the early hours of the morning. The staff were fantastic during this time, I travel all over the world and stay in higher end hotels. But I have not seen customer service like I did at the hotel Linne, during the night I was sat having a drink in the reception area with a friend. There were a lot of drunk people, not in a bad or aggressive way. There was a member of staff on the reception a young lady, I think her name was Kiran ( sorry if that's not the correct)She was the night reception I think. At one of the tables, there was a very drunk lady guest who was having problems standing up. The member of staff Kiran, went across and spent time talking and helped the guest to stand up, but also escorted her out side to get some fresh air. She stayed with her and made sure she was ok, her actions and more importantly compassion totally blew me away. Kiran was probably the most courteous - professional and helpful person I've ever seen in a hotel or elsewhere for that matter. Through out the evening and night she showed the same level of service to every single guest.... Superb, total respect!!
Also top marks to the ladies in the restaurant, again superb service and cracking sense of humour. Their English is excellent, but their humour is even better. When you travel away from home, and away from family it's the little things that make a big difference.

Big thank you to all the staff, Mr Olav Thon you should be very proud of these people...
I'm looking forward to going back to the hotel in 2weeks time...

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Are G, Manager at Thon Hotel Linne, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your response. Nice to hear that you had a nice stay.

Welcome back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was good value for the money. It is the best deal is Oslo for a room with a good rating (parking and breakfast included!) However, the best part of this hotel is their hotel staff. Everyone we met from the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Are G, General Manager at Thon Hotel Linne, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your response.
I am glad you liked our hotel and staff.

If you come to Oslo again... Welcome back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A very good place to stay. Just one drawback: perhaps you´ll need your own car. But still one of the best options to stay in Oslo, where hotels are overpriced. Huge TV where you can see films at night from your USB. Clean. As Oslo is an expensive city, in this hotel usually breakfast is included. Definitely a good value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Are G, General Manager at Thon Hotel Linne, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello
Thank you for your response. It is possible to stay in the hotel and use tube or bus. It is connection by bus from the airport. Since most of our guests has their own car it is possible to park for free on the outside and also possible indoor in our garage. Parkingfee inside.

Nice to hear that you had a nice stay in Thon Hotel Linne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Linne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Linne

Address: Statsrad Mathiesens vei 12, Oslo 0598, Norway (Formerly Linne Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Linne 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Linne is a business hotel situated in Groruddalen, Oslo North. Last renovated in 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thon Hotel Linne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linne Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Linne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.