We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Gabelshus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Gabelshus to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Gabelshus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gabelsgate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Skien, Norway
1 review
“Nice and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in a quiet a neighborhood of Skillebekk (3 stops by tram from the National Theater). It's a clean and cozy place serving good food and gratis waffles, coffee and fruit in the afternoon.
The only disadvantage was a smell of stale water in the bathroom but it didn't spoil our impression of the hotel.
I'd definitely recommend this place to my friends!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    139
    38
    18
    5
See reviews for
31
158
32
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice quiet hotell in a nice part of Oslo. The tram close by and free parking is perfect for a weekend stay. Evening buffet is also a nice tradition at this hotell. It is also in walking distanse of senter of town.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is excellent, just 15 minutes walk from the city centre, and very quiet indeed. The main sound is that of the squawking of enormous seagulls (who sometimes literally dive-bomb your plate if you sit out on the sunny terrace having breakfast, smashing glasses and plates to seize that fresh bread you had just layered with butter and marmelade - thereupon to scoff it in front of you while its beady eye just dares you to intervene !). There is free parking off the road. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well-heated (very important at 60°N where a sunny summer day can see temperatures plunge to below freezing whenever a cloud passes in front of the sun), with luxurious under-floor heating in the bathrooms. The beds are firm and comfortable with a thin but very warm duvet (I don't know how they do that but it kept me perfectly warm despite sleeping with the window wide open when it was 2°C outside). This is a hotel which takes very seriously the well-being of its guests as evidenced by the free (admittedly light) buffet in the evening, a truly excellent breakfast buffet (real egg scrambled egg as opposed to the nasty powdered scrambled eggs one finds in most places), free coffee and fruit available at all hours of the day and night, a log fire in the winter (only one log at a time though) and a real feel of being in a large country house with old leather chairs, parquet floors and carpets. The personnel are very friendly indeed, without the cloying over-attention one often finds in large hotel chains. Here they actually LIKE their guests and are not just TOLD to like their guests.The ONLY criticism I have is that the tv channel availability is hopeless and has been so for the 23 years I have been coming here on business trips. Just one English language channel (BBC, which unfortunately only provides interest for half an hour before endlessly repeating itself ad infinitum). The rest are gobbledygook Norwegian, Danish and Swedish channels. Let us have National Geographic channel please, dear Hotell Gabelshus, at the very least ! It wouldn't cost you much.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leksvik Municipality, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel with quite and relaxing athmosphere.
Great breakfast, and even evening supper included.
Small showerspace was the only negative point, but not a problem.
Some distance from central area, but no problem to get there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great hotell with friendly staff. We have been here 3 times before and will be back...)
Location is perfect for shopping, there are great restaurants and cafe near by.
Takes you maybe 10 min walk to karl johanns gate and on the way you should take a stop at Pascals cafe, great cakes...)




  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Hallgeir.

Many thanks for the nice review. It is a great pleasure for us to host you at Gabelshus hotel and we will be looking forward to seeing you soon.


Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It felt like this hotel was under staffed. The staff were not interested in the guests and could not understand Swedish/English. Breakfast was good but many of the plates ran out of food. Evening buffe was not so tasty.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello.

My guess is that you are describing the last Sunday breakfast experience. All I can say is that the hotel was not understaffed, since we had 3 employees on that shift and it is more then enough to make sure that everything went smooth and the guest had a good start of the day. Unfortunately it was not the case and yes, it is because the staff on duty seemed to be indifferent in many ways. It is totally unacceptable and we have taken necessary and very serous measures to ensure that this will NEVER happen again. Please accept my deepest apologies and come back to us again for the next occasion to get a different opinion.

Naira Lalayan
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Gabelshus for a couple of nights at the tail end of a long, multi-country business trip. The nights spent here were the best of the trip - and I would rank this hotel among the best of any small hotels I've stayed at in 15 years of travelling. Let me be clear - the Gabelshus is not a fancy boutique hotel. That said, it's got a certain understated, tasteful elegance - like a university professor's house.

The Gabelshus is not quite in central Oslo, but very close to the center. Its neighborhood, Frogner, is great for walking & exploring. Tram service is also very close if you want to get into the center city quickly.

As other reviews have mentioned, the Gabelshus has a great Scandinavian breakfast spread and similarly great dinner buffet. All meals have smoked fish (of course). There is also a little bar next to the front desk, and if you ask, the receptionist who checks you in will walk over and pull you a pint of Ringnes, Norway's favorite pilsner beer. The public areas are quiet and cozy. My room, which was behind a four-inch thick wooden door, was almost perfectly silent.

A couple things keep this hotel from being a solid five-star place. First and foremost, the gym/sauna/spa are sadly neglected. The workout facilities were unacceptably Spartan. The sauna was cold in a way that seemed permanent. Second - the bathroom in my room, which was in high corner of the building, was situated under the pitch of the building's roof in such a way that I really couldn't stand up to take a shower! As I am 5'7 this was not a huge issue but if I were Norway-tall...well I'd ask for another room.

All in all however, I really, really, really liked the hotel. Great value, great stay. Don't know how often I'll be in Oslo but I will stay at the Gabelshus every time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for a long, detailed and realistic description of Gabelshus. I can only add that I wish the gym was upgraded and I will have it as a goal to do everything in my power to make it happen in the future.

We all will be looking forward to you next and hopefully frequent visits to Oslo and Gabelshus.


Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Gabelshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Gabelshus

Address: Gabelsgate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
#14 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Gabelshus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Hotel Gabelshus offers a deep dive into the culture and history of Oslo. The interior is composed of historical details and fantastic paintings. Being in the heart of an elegant residential area and in walking distance from Vigelandsparken, Aker Brygge and the Royal castle you are guaranteed an exciting stay in Oslo.The hotel offers tasty meals in a charming atmosphere with access to our popular terrace for outside dining. Enjoy your breakfast or complimentary evening meal surrounded by murals reflecting the history of the area. The special atmosphere of the dining room and lounges around has been a background of various fashion shoots.Hotel Gabelshus offers a range of salons with a relaxing atmosphere- the hotel library has a dignified style where you can relax with a book, watch TV or enjoy a glass of wine. The so- called fireplace room is furnished with antique furniture and calming colors offering relaxation in comfortable armchairs in front of the open fireplace.Hotel Gabelshus has a long and exciting history. The mansion was erected in 1912 and was originally a lodging house. The three first managers and owners were women, one more special than the other. Miss Sommerfeldt who ran it from 1933-45 lived herself in the building with her two parrots that had free access to anywhere in the building. She ran the place in a caring and authoritative manner at daytime and used to relax with her guests smoking a pipe in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Gabelshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Gabelshus Hotel Oslo
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Clarion Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Gabelshus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.