We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Gabelshus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Gabelshus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Gabelshus to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Gabelshus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gabelsgate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hotel Gabelshus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent three nights in the Gabelshus Hotel in Oslo which was recommended to us by Oslo friends of a friend. It is located in a lovely neighborhood with rather easy connections to the local transportation system, either tram or bus lines. While the bathroom was quite small, the room was comfortable, and considering Oslo prices quite nice for the money. The staff was uniformly helpful in helping us find our way around town and recommending interesting places to see and how to get to them. The included breakfast and evening meals were very good thanks to a wide selection. Being of Scandinavian heritage I enjoyed the three types of pickled herring at breakfast, but for those less inclined to such a treat, there were many other options to satisfy any appetite. We would stay there on any future trips to Oslo. Most of the guests appeared to be Norwegian which we appreciated as it emphasized the fact we were in Norway not in a cookie cutter hotel that could have been anywhere.

Room Tip: Stay above the floor near the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trude R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear DallasBirder,
It was very nice to read your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write one.
Thank you for staying at Gabelshus when you visited Oslo, and thank you for recommending it to your friends back in Dallas.
Some of the bathrooms in the hotel are small (the hotel was built in 1912 with no bathrooms...), other are bigger. The hotel consists of two buildings, and before year 2000, two hotels, Ritz and Gabelshus. The Ritz building has bigger bathrooms.
Have a nice summer, and welcome back to Hotel Gabelshus!

Trude Havnegjerde Rørvik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    125
    34
    17
    4
See reviews for
26
148
28
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horten, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed three nights whilst attending Nor-shipping 2013. The room was very nice and even with a nice balcony. Spacious and well equipped room, however, the bathroom was small but had all you needed.
Food was excellent for all meals. Fresh, delicate and with a good variety. Fresh fruit at all times :-)
The athmosphere of the hotel must be experienced. As the hotel is located centrally, it is a surprise that it has so calm surroundings only 5-10 minutes walk from Aker Brygge.
Add free parking, a nice beer on the tap, friendly service and a flexible staff, then you have everything you need for a pleasant stay in Oslo.
This will be our hotel for our next stays in Oslo, business or leisure, that`s for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trude R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear WallyElisabeth,
What a wonderful day/week/summer you give all the staff at Gabelshus leaving such a positive feedback, thank you so much! This is what we want our guests to feel after a stay at our hotel.
Have a nice summer, and welcome back!
Trude Havnegjerde Rørvik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogaland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We used to live in the neigbourhood for 10 years. My parents always stayed at this hotel when they visited, so I have eaten many a breakfast at the hotel in previous years. Finally got to stay there during our last visit to Oslo. Period building, great curb-appeal. Good location, approx 10 min walk from Aker brygge, the castle and the parliment. Quiet residential neighbourhood. Good breakfast. Rooms in the old part are more charming, but nice design also in the newer rooms. A very good option if you wish to stay downtown in Oslo, but without the noise of the main street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trude R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Jorid_T,
Thank you very much for your positive review, and thank you for staying at Gabelshus!
It is true that the hotel is located in a quit residential area, yet only 1 minute from the tram, which will take you to Karl Johan in 6 minutes.
We are looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in Oslo.
Trude Havnegjerde Rørvik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and I'm glad I didn't have to stay longer.
There are some very good points about this hotel like the food and the classic looks.
However, you soon realize that everything about this hotel is done on the cheap and you cannot, in any way, describe this hotel as "quality".
I'll give you some examples. There are no irons or ironing boards in the rooms. You have to use the "ironing room" which you share with all the other guests. This can result in long waiting times if you want to iron any clothing.
You also have to insert your card key in the door lock when exiting your room otherwise your room is left unlocked. I don't know any hotel, anywhere, where I've had to do this. You expect when your door closes behind you that it locks automatically.
The rooms and bathrooms are absolutely minimalistic and cheap. I've stayed in Youth Hostels with a classier feel. It felt like I was locking myself in solitary confinement whenever I closed the door behind me.
Oh, and if anyone else closes their room door all the walls shake and it will wake you up.
On the bright side, the internet was OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trude R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Bergen,
Thank you for staying at Gabelshus when visiting Oslo.
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel. We totally agree that the lock system, that you have to insert your key card when leaving the room to ensure it is locked, is old fashioned. Therefore, it is a pleasure to inform you that in July, the hotel will have a brand new lock system installed. We are really looking forward to this.
Half of our hotel rooms will be renovated, and many bathrooms, so from August Gabelshus will be a new experience.
Hope you will try us again!
Trude Havnegjerde Rørvik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My first report is a bit old by now, and I have visited Gabelshus a few more times after that. I have seen no "old" rooms lately, which may very well mean they have done them all up by now. Service is allmost impeckable but I miss a waiter that could serve on the terrace after a run, or a meal.

The intimate atmosphere of this hotel makes everything quite acceptable. It is no big Hilton or business-like Plaza, but more of a home away from home.

I love the quiet neighbourhood and the free parking. I miss a "back-door" with easy access to the parking/backyard. It would also save me from going through closed receptions/parties in my sweaty running gear or dragging my luggage through the restaurant.

Rooms on the ground floor are my favourite. They are spacious, but not too much. I guess it's the easy access/near the restaurant and lobby. But it is always quiet. No noise ever!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are quiet and saves you alot of walking to the lobby. In winter, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trude R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Garrrrden,
Thank you for staying at Gabelshus this time - and the previous times, we are thankful for all our regular guests. As you know, we have several types of rooms, and thank you for useful tips to other travellers. Our free parking (limited number of spaces) is quite unique, and maybe we should look into the possibility of an easier access to the parking area. Thank you!
Looking forward to having you as a guest on your next visit to Oslo.
Best regards
Trude Havnegjerde Rørvik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Gabelshus Hotel for at least 4 times and always had a good experience. The rooms are warm, quiet and cosy, but can be very small depending on which room you have been assigned to. My most recent stay was just last week for 9 nights. I requested for a queen bed and was assigned to a corner room in the 4th floor of the old wing. This was my first experience staying in the old wing and the experience was unfortunately not good. The old wing had dark creepy looking doors, and upon entering into the room, I was shocked to find that there was no proper writing table and the bathroom door (translucent glass) could not close properly as there were no knobs. The most unacceptable part was the bathtub which was situated below the slanted attic roof, and it was impossible to shower when standing up (you have to sit down on the bathtub to shower). I wonder how this room can be offered to guests when they cannot even shower properly. Also, the wifi connection in the room was horribly slow, which was different from the experience I had before. I requested for a room change the next day and got assigned to a room in the new wing with a proper writing table and shower cubicle. Wifi connection was good and fast. I have no complaints about the new room except that the toilet lights were not fully functional (only the light above the mirror lit up) so the toilet was quite dark.

My advice to travelers who are booking this hotel is that they should always ask for a room in the new wing as my experience staying in that part of the hotel has always been good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trude R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Tropics15,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Gabelshus on your latest visit to Oslo. The hotel was previous two hotels, the Gabelshus and the Ritz. Some years ago, the two were built into one hotel, now Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus. The two buildings have different kind of rooms, from single rooms without desks, to suites with two rooms. All the rooms in the Ritz building have desks, but not all of the Gabelshus rooms.
I am glad that you got a new room when you were not pleased with the first one.
Thank you again, we hope to see you again next time you visit Oslo.
Trude Havnegjerde Rørvik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Cozy rooms at home feeling. I do not believe hotels should always have the gold and glitter feeling. The breakfast and evening meal are always excellent. (That's because chef is always on the ball). The staff always helpful and do their jobs very well. A quiet location and the possibility to sit outside during summer anyway. We stayed 17th May 2013.
Leonard F.P. Bellizia
Lillehammer, Norway

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trude R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear BeritandLeonard B,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Gabelshus when visiting Oslo for the 17th of May, and thank you for your positive feedback. We really apreciate it, all the staff read the reviews on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Best regards
Trude Havnegjerde Rørvik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Gabelshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Gabelshus

Address: Gabelsgate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Gabelshus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Hotel Gabelshus offers a deep dive into the culture and history of Oslo. The interior is composed of historical details and fantastic paintings. Being in the heart of an elegant residential area and in walking distance from Vigelandsparken, Aker Brygge and the Royal castle you are guaranteed an exciting stay in Oslo.The hotel offers tasty meals in a charming atmosphere with access to our popular terrace for outside dining. Enjoy your breakfast or complimentary evening meal surrounded by murals reflecting the history of the area. The special atmosphere of the dining room and lounges around has been a background of various fashion shoots.Hotel Gabelshus offers a range of salons with a relaxing atmosphere- the hotel library has a dignified style where you can relax with a book, watch TV or enjoy a glass of wine. The so- called fireplace room is furnished with antique furniture and calming colors offering relaxation in comfortable armchairs in front of the open fireplace.Hotel Gabelshus has a long and exciting history. The mansion was erected in 1912 and was originally a lodging house. The three first managers and owners were women, one more special than the other. Miss Sommerfeldt who ran it from 1933-45 lived herself in the building with her two parrots that had free access to anywhere in the building. She ran the place in a caring and authoritative manner at daytime and used to relax with her guests smoking a pipe in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Gabelshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Gabelshus Hotel Oslo
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Clarion Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Gabelshus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.