We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Gabelshus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Gabelshus to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Gabelshus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gabelsgate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We (family of 4) stayed here on the 4th floor in 2 separate rooms. The hotel was beautiful! Our room was small but that is how they are in Europe/Scandinavia. The air conditioner did not seem to be working but I opened the window and the weather was a perfect 56! The bed was comfortable, the staff was friendly, and most importantly, the hotel was quiet. We even didn't arrive until after midnight and the front desk man was extremely helpful. There is a metro stop about 2 blocks away. There is a convenient store right by the metro stop and you can by a day pass. This allows use on all transport (bus, metro, ferry). The room included breakfast as well as an evening meal. Although I was not blown away by the food the quality was good. Upon returning to Oslo before leaving the country we stayed at a sister hotel called Hotel Savoy. It was wonderful as well but I much preferred Hotel Gabelshus mainly due to the quietness of the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hello.

It was a pleasure to read your review. Many thanks on the behalf of our staff and myself. Welcome back to Hotel Gabelshus when in Oslo again and to the big Clarion Collection family with over 40 hotels in most popular Scandinavian destinations.


Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    125
    34
    17
    4
See reviews for
26
148
28
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Gabelhus is a beautiful mansion in an area of embassies and stately homes. It felt more like staying at a country house than in a hotel.

Our bathroom had a wooden door so perhaps the glass door issue has been addressed but - if not - request a room with a wooden door as they do exist. Showers are the compact European style.

There is a good buffet breakfast, waffles and coffee in the afternoon and a dinner buffet from 6pm. Dining in Oslo can be exceedingly expensive so this can save you a great deal of money.

If you're a moderate walker, walking into the centre of Oslo or out to Bygdøy is easy from the Gabel Hus. Or there is a tram line at the bottom of the road.

And if you drive, parking at the hotel is free and covered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello.

Thank you very much for the review. Have a nice summer and welcome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed in this hotel recently (June 2012) and was very impressed. The breakfast buffet and evening buffet were excellent. Beds were comfortable and a good size for a European hotel. Shower was small but that is to be expected. Located in a quiet part of Oslo but within walking distance to all the sights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us as well as the high score and nice review!

We will be happy to host you here at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus again .

Have a nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Really pleased to have stayed here. The hotel is located just slightly out of the centre in green and leafy embassy land - midst lots of grand and rather beautiful old houses. This means that it's quiet, and a pleasure to sit in the patio out the front with a drink or for a chat. Other clients - mix of business, families, couples and it was all very relaxed. Transport links excellent, both tram and buses but an easy walk to several major sights. Food fine as has been noted - quite enjoyed the DIY waffles at tea time. Staff uniformly helpful (we stayed 4 nights so saw a representative sample). The room was a nice, corner room with high ceiling, little balcony. Minor quibbles - foam mattress very soft, and the odd drawer or hook would not have come amiss. BBC television reception mediocre. But all in all an excellent base for a few days in Oslo.

Room Tip: The ironing room is 219 so your might want to be nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for the detailed review and a the description of the location , facilities and atmosphere.

Welcome back when in Oslo next time!

Have a great day and nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Gabelshus when recently in Oslo. It was conveniently located making it easy to walk to many, if not all of Oslo's attractions. The hotel was very nicely appointed, great lounges to relax in, nice outdoor space to sit and eat your dinner or have a drink. The breakfast and dinner buffet was an added bonus as eating out in Norway can be an expensive undertaking. Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean ... and, more importantly, quiet as I don't sleep all that well. The staff were all very great ... very nice, helpful and always pleasant! We will definitely stay here again when travelling through Oslo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks for your brief but covering review. We have very favorable rates at our hotel mostly during the whole summer, and welcome all Oslo tourists to us, for a nice and relaxing stay in the middle of Oslo.

Have a great day and nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A pleasant surprise in this rather expensive city. The rates were reasonable and included breakfast and dinner. It is conveniently located to many of Oslo's attractions and there is a trolly stop about one block away. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hello.

Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate that our guests both take time to drop some lines as well as mention important elements of your concept like the free of charge light evening meal.
Hope to see you again soon in Oslo and at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus.
Wish you a nice summer in the meanwhile.


Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It's our national day, and we all gathered for a big lunch.the food and service was excellent.
But the restaurant buffet interior need a new style, and for this lovely area, a french bistro, open all day, would be perfect!

The Hotel deserves a proper restaurant:)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Gabelshus, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for choosing us on our National Day the 17th of May. Hotel Gabelshus has a long history of serving nice and traditional food on the National day combined with new and fresh elements of modern trends. We will make sure to continue the tradition and hope to see you next year as well.

As it comes to a restaurant concept, I quite agree with you that the potential is good, but at the same time we have chosen to fokus on providing our overnight guests, as well as our numeral regular guests type of facilities and services making their stay as close to the feeling of being home as possible.

Looking forward to host you at our charming hotel whether is it a an overnight in Oslo or a celebration of any kind. Just contact us and we will arrange it for you to your best satisfaction.


Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Gabelshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Gabelshus

Address: Gabelsgate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Gabelshus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Hotel Gabelshus offers a deep dive into the culture and history of Oslo. The interior is composed of historical details and fantastic paintings. Being in the heart of an elegant residential area and in walking distance from Vigelandsparken, Aker Brygge and the Royal castle you are guaranteed an exciting stay in Oslo.The hotel offers tasty meals in a charming atmosphere with access to our popular terrace for outside dining. Enjoy your breakfast or complimentary evening meal surrounded by murals reflecting the history of the area. The special atmosphere of the dining room and lounges around has been a background of various fashion shoots.Hotel Gabelshus offers a range of salons with a relaxing atmosphere- the hotel library has a dignified style where you can relax with a book, watch TV or enjoy a glass of wine. The so- called fireplace room is furnished with antique furniture and calming colors offering relaxation in comfortable armchairs in front of the open fireplace.Hotel Gabelshus has a long and exciting history. The mansion was erected in 1912 and was originally a lodging house. The three first managers and owners were women, one more special than the other. Miss Sommerfeldt who ran it from 1933-45 lived herself in the building with her two parrots that had free access to anywhere in the building. She ran the place in a caring and authoritative manner at daytime and used to relax with her guests smoking a pipe in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nordic Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Gabelshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Gabelshus Hotel Oslo
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Clarion Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Gabelshus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.