We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oslo favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanami

Hanami
Tjuvholmen | Kanalen 1, Oslo, Norway
22-83-10-90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 990 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Oslo favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hanami is one of the absolute best places in Oslo. Go there on a sunny day, and get a sea front table, as we were able to on our last visit. The cocktails are farily good, try the After Chili if you are into chili and passion fruit (who isn't?).

I had i.a the ceviche tasters on my last visit. They were good, but compared to other ceviche places (like Coya, London), they lack that little extra to make them really exceptional.

The lightly smoked halibut is alwyas a treat, as is the beef tataki.

The service is according to the price level - quite high.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    64
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best japanese/sushi in Oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is the best sushi in Oslo. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Expensive, but fish this quality cannot be any cheaper in Oslo. My favourite in Oslo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Got a beautiful table outside, but enjoyed a lovely coctail in the bar first. Very nice bar, and all the interiordecor is tasteful and sober. Food is excellent, and we loved the fact that you can order many different things besides sushi. Dessert was heavenlike. Service is so good. Quite pricey, but if you are looking for a meal and surroundings to remember - Hanami is a very good choice!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants is Oslo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Visited several times, both business and with friends, Hanami never fails to deliver,
The food is awesome. Try the black cod and the spicy beef. The sushi is also great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

It was a fantastic evening spent with my Norwegian wife on a long awaited date night as we have two very young children and have not had a night out in a while! We were on a short break in Oslo visiting family.

We enjoyed a cocktail at the outdoor bar in the glorious sunshine, great service and delicious drinks. We were escorted through to the waterside table which was lovely. A young Swedish girl served us who was very knowledgeable, she recommended that we try a range of dishes and that she could put together a suitable menu for us if we wished. After a little hesitation we nervously agreed. The food was sublime, smoked halibut sashimi, beef tataki, sushi to die for, sea bass, lamb cutlets and duck breast from the grill. It was one of the best meals we have both enjoyed and not having to make any decisions on what to eat left more time to enjoy each others company.

The only let down I would say was the ice cream dessert, it was an after thought and not very high quality. The ice cream was full of crunchy ice crystals and the flavours we were offered did not go together at all. It did not spoil the evening but they could certainly improve on this.

This is by no means a cheap night out but I am a believer in you get what you pay for. There was a huge amount of skill that had gone into the preparation of our dishes and for the greatest part they were fantastic. I would highly recommend to anyone followed by an after dinner drink at The Thief Hotel rooftop bar overlooking the Oslo waterfront and up to Holmenkollen.

We will go back but maybe just once a year once we have saved up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanami also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Hanami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.