We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cutest place, in the big city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels to your Saves list
Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming cutest place, in the big city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice everything: spa and sauna, small cute rooms, little decor touches you find here and there, fur rug on the bed, convenience of mac and wireless keyboard (skyping in bed is fun!), central location... and many more advantages. Not to mention the most AMAZING breakfast I've ever had! Great romantic weekend stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    97
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
29
96
19
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sesto San Giovanni, Italia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is one of the best hotel I have ever been and for Norwegian standard is definitely VALUE FOR MONEY. Rooms are comfortable furnished in Balines style with 4 poster beds, complimentary high speed wi-fi, apple TV and many toilet amenties (slippers, shaving kit, comb etc) which you would expect to find in a 5* hotel. Convenietely located just 10 minutes walk from the National Theater Railway station, a stone's throw drom the marina ad with many restaurants nearby. There's also a very relaxing spa included in the price of the room. The staff is friendly and helpful and make you feel at home despite you might be miles away from it. Braekfast is outstanding with local oragnig products. It is definitely Worth staying for business, romantic escapades or for visting Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Lovely reseption, lovely beds, not impressed with the badroom, looks good but water runes all in to the room. Dont like the "kitchen style" towels. They claim the breackfast is organic but as I live in Norway I recognizes it as not being organic. Door lock and safe didn't work, nor did the internett and the reseption didn't manage to fix it so had to move rooms twice. Stil not able to download movies on the mac. Poor insulation between the rooms so you hear snoring, tv +++. Well you get the picture.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back and high up... if the elevator works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonOslo, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear OsloTravelor,

regarding your review, we can understand that you have a number of personal likes and dislikes of the facilities and furnishings of our hotel, which is of course perfectly understandable - personal taste being an individual right. But there are 2 things in your review, that we really would like to have clarified: your claims regarding our breakfast not being organic, and the internet.
The organic aspect first: our breakfast is completely, 100% organic, and this is not a matter of opinion or discussion. We can document this, and we are certified by Debio as well. We are very curious to know exactly what prompted you to make this claim, and hope you will contact us about it. Please write to oslo@guldsmedenhotels.com.
Re: the internet, we cannot recall having had any problems, and cannot recognise having had to move a guest twice during the period, that you seem to have stayed with us. A little clarification regarding this would also be very helpful! We hope to hear from you.
Best from Carlton Oslo - Guldsmeden Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a great boutique hotel and a good price for Oslo.
The rooms are not big (think Paris size) but are clean and comfortable with quirky Sami/eastern influences. The bathroom was great and we loved the Eco friendly towels and cosmetics.
Breakfast was a real gem. Lovely organic treats from baked goods to artisan cheeses and organic fruit. The breakfast service was delightful with hand painted pottery making it feel really special (a far cry from institutional city centre hotels). There is freely available tea/coffee and juice through the day in a relaxed cafe environment. The staff are friendly and helpful. Check them out! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What's there not to like about the smartly eco-promoting Guldsmeden hotel in Oslo? Situated in a quiet residential road, it's just a leisurely 5mins stroll away from the hustle and bustle of the waterfront area with its nice bars and restaurants and equally close to the royal palace and its lovely park.
Welcoming, helpful and efficient receptionists, an Apple-cum-TV with free Wifi, naturally, imaginative decoration, very comfy bed and, best of all: black-out curtains. After a week in Norway around midsummer's night I wasn't far off the Al Pacino character in 'Insomnia', slowly but surely going mad as other hotels where I had stayed before had, fair enough if you are used to it, just standard curtains.
The only point that could upset tall as well as, well, large guests are the rather small bathrooms.
Breakfast is tasty (and healthy) and entertainment, well, just a short stroll away. Would i go back? Positively, absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I admit, it is a bit of a surprise to find out that the rooms in this hotel do not have a telephone nor room service and the wake-up call is someone knocking at your door in the morning but what a nice discovery this small hotel is! The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were comfortable and clean yet a bit on the small side. I arrived quite late in the evening so missed out on dinner but morning breakfast made up for that in a spectacular way. Great location also close to Aker Brygge. I really have all but praise for this hotel and its friendly staff and will definitely stay there again when in Oslo. One of the best value for money-hotels I stayed in for quite some time... Truly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel Guldsmeden is very reasonably priced for Oslo and it's in a great location. Many public transportation options are within easy walking distance, as is the Aker Brygge area. My single room was very small as expected, but I found the layout quite functional and comfortable. The furnishings made the room feel nice and cozy. The bedding was very comfortable and the room was quiet, so had a good night's sleep.

Really the only reason I'm not giving the hotel a perfect rating is the bathroom is very, very small. It was fine for a short stay, but I wouldn't want to be using such a tiny bathroom for more than a few days. For example the sink is way smaller than "normal", and it's difficult to use without getting water on the floor.

Breakfast at the hotel was solid, with a good variety and high quality. Service was somewhat lacking though, as the waitresses rush around clearing dirty plates or bringing clean plates out, but don't really focus on the diners. I had to make some effort to finally flag down a waitress to get more coffee.

Service at the front desk, in contrast, was outstanding. Amalie was very patient in providing directions and googling things she wasn't sure about. The only issue is that there's only one person working at a time so you may have to wait. I felt a little bad about this, as I was getting some detailed explanations and there was a group of people waiting behind me.

Overall I had a great stay, and would definitely stay again when back in Oslo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.