We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice eco friendly boutique hotel with amazing rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels to your Saves list
Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice eco friendly boutique hotel with amazing rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I usually stay in Oslo in Radisson Plaza hotel, but this time I was too late with booking, so I had to find something else. As I have stayed couple of times in Axel Guldsmeden hotel in Copenhagen, I decided to try Guldsmeden hotel in Oslo.
Location is actually very convenient for airport train, only 200 meters to National Theatre station. Hotel rooms are in orient style and most of them have four-poster beds. Wi-fi for free and Mac in room with wireless keyboard.
In bathrooms Guldsmeden hotels have wide range of eco friendly cosmetics which smell very good. Breakfast is good, pretty unique for this hotel chain and most of products eco labelled. Organic muesli and yoghurt were amazing.
Overall feeling in hotel is very cosy and I would definitely stay also for leisure trip.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have more space and interior is fancier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    91
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
28
91
19
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the beginning of a trip to several places in Norway. We had the honeymoon suite (currently in the hotel's picture on this site--with the copper soaking tub). The room had plenty of space for us and a very large bathroom with a sauna. The bed was really comfortable, the soaking tub was fantastic and if we'd stayed longer the Macs would have been welcome (we only had time to play one of the playlists on them). The shower has a drain right into the floor, which is fine, but there isn't any door or anything to keep the water from spraying all over the floor, which wasn't a problem but did require cleaning up after. We liked the quiet neighborhood location of the hotel--it felt safe and was interesting to walk through to the center of the city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We booked this Hotel as our daughter had stayed with the same Hotel group in Copenhagen. It is a little difficult to find and Google Maps are just hopeless. Best to use bus/tram to 'Solti'. It's easy to find from here. As with other reviews, the rooms are quite small but bathroom is ok. It's effectively a wet room and the water from the shower goes everywhere. The staff are all very pleasant and breakfast is great quailty. The hotel does not have a bar but they are happy to chill wine for you. If you leave the hotel, turn left, there is a little bar at the corner. I have to admit that I am not a fan of Apple Mac's and found it's use as a tv very difficult to use. Having free Internet though was a plus point. All in all, a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing courtyard probably quietest. Room numbers ending in '3' is near lift sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Carlton Guldsmeden Hotel is located in a quiet, safe neighboorhood, not far from Oslo City Center - but also not too close. You'll need to walk 10 to 20 minutes to most places, including the stops of the Airport Bus. Aker Brygge - a beautiful new neighbourhood - is relative close, though.
The hotel is not impressive from the outside and the rooms are small, though not tiny - the room, especially the bathroom, shows some aging, but it is in good shape and well-kept. Besides a Sauna, which we did not use, the hotel does not have a lot of features to offer (e.g. no gym).
..
So, now to the good stuff: The rooms are really nicely decorated - the style is called "Balinese" for whatever reason, but I loved it. Instead of a TV, there is an iMac mounted to the wall, offering e.g. streaming radio and WIFI with very good connectivity.
The staff (everybody! we met) is simply awesome - really friendly and nice and when we arrived early at 10.30am, there actually was a room already available for us (some luck involved, but still a good thing).
Breakfast is continental (so - don't expect a Full English Breakfast) and I really, really liked it: The selection is a bit limited, but everything I had was somewhere between excellent and awesome. Most of it closer to being awesome (the bread! the bread!)

Just one thing to complain in the end - not having a shower curtain isn't really stylish - it is just creating a mess, when actually using the shower, guys!

Overall, for the roughly 150€ we paid, it would be expensive in most cities I stayed so far, but in Oslo I'd consider it as excellent value. Would stay here again (as long as my legs don't mind a walk).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I tend to stay at boutique hotels if I can just because I don't like the big hotel feel and you tend to get more for your money. The Carlton was kind of boutique, but only because the rooms were tiny. I don't mind small rooms, but these were tight, and only because they jam too much stuff into the room. Also, the bathrooms being wide open so they practically flood when you take a shower wasn't really good planning in my opinion. I like the iMac on the wall and the breakfast for being included wasn't bad, but I've stayed at similar hotels for half the price and gotten twice as much for my money. The hotel is a bit outside the main tourist areas, but Oslo is tiny, so a quick walk never hurt anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not on the 2nd floor, since it's right above the kitchen, and the walls a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was my first visit to Oslo and I will definitely go back and stay at the same hotel. Great location in a charming area, very friendly and helpful personnel, great decoration of the rooms. I appreciated the sustainable touch, from food to decoration: breakfast is very nice and the biofood wonderful. Despite the comments we read about small rooms, we had a very nice room that was big enough for two, the bathroom is small but convenient but it might be a good idea to install a glass shower door. The wellness area is a real plus, the products in bathroom and sauna are of excellent quality. The iMac in the room was a nice discovery and the water front within walking distance as well. Clearly a hotel I would recommend without hesitation. Fair price to Norwegian standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

I'll come back to this hotel. Nice, friendly staff. Charming, and in a safe area. Lots of charming touches in my (standard level) room, which looked just like the photos. Nice breakfast in pleasantly decorated dining room. They've spent time and care on aesthetic touches.

I'm glad I read the other reviews beforehand, though. Even though I put towels on the floor next to the shower (based on other comments), the whole floor still got wet. There's no ecological reason not to install a glass shower door! And it would be nice to have a terry cloth option to the scratchy towels. And though I was given a quiet room, there was a chainsaw going in a neighboring courtyard till sundown.

Comfy pillows, pretty decor, clean, good room temp, restful night's sleep, fresh food at breakfast, solid wifi, nice neighborhood, fair price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Oslo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes’ walk from the Royal Palace, Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden’s own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style décor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.