We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Gyldenlove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Gyldenlove to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Gyldenlove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bogstadveien 20, Oslo 0355, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Goleta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed there for one night and had a great time. The rooms were small but clean and tidy, the receptionist was friendly and the complimentary breakfast is delicious. It was also not a problem that we checked out an hour late because we were lazy. Great experience!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    49
    17
    7
See reviews for
17
39
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice welcome and friendly staff in the reception, that is a bit small, and already shows, that everything is not so roomy ;-) but quiet to the back yard.
The first room i saw was a single bed, where you not should stay if you need just a bit more space. The second room i was offered, was a double bed, and was ok for the size and price. The cleaning staff had maybee a stressed day, because there where black hair in the toilette, the shower floor was not realy clean, and on the matress sheed there where stains of a kind - i did not touch it. The floors to the room´s was also not the cleanest.The bed and sleeping comfort was ok. The breakfast room was very simple furnished and only made for this occasation. The food had a ok quality and was matched to the price of the room. By complaining about the cleaning at the reception at check out, they where very friendly and realy tried to make it up. So an extra point for the good service at the desk.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back yard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Soccerwatcher!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!
First of all I would like to thank you for your kind words about the good service at the front desk. This is much appreciated! We aim to give our guest the assistance they need in order to have a great stay in Oslo.

As you mentioned, the lobby as well as the rooms are not the biggest. The hotel is a typical bed- and breakfast hotel, but we also hade some upgraded rooms. For guest that need more space we recommend to order one of our family-, superior- or business rooms.

Regarding your comments about the cleaning in the room that you were given, I would like to apologize for this experience. I trust that the receptionist was able to sort out the situation, and that you were given a room that suited you well.

All in all I hope that you had a nice stay, and I would also like to welcome you back to Thon Hotel Gyldenløve and Oslo!


Best Regards
Thon Hotel Gyldenløve

Christina Alstad-Rygg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the hotel for visiting our Niece who lives in Oslo.
Good hotel.
Beautiful and large superior room but strange idea to put le bathroom sink in the room.
Good price regarding location in Oslo.
Congratulation for the breakfast.
Daily cleaning not made every day. (Problems with staff?)

Room Tip: Rather booking a superior room than a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jean-Michel!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!
I am glad that you liked the superior room and especially the size, even though you thought the lay out was rather unconventional. This choice was made to create more light in the rooms as well as a design feature. We get some comments on this lay out, and we can fully understand that it seem strange. I can assure you that we take your comments in consideration for our next renovation.
I am especially happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast. It is one of our main goals to serve our guests a healthy and delicious morning meal, before they embark on the days tasks.
Regarding your comment about the daily cleaning, I apologize so much for this! I have talked to the executive housekeeper so that they will go through their routines. I hope this did not cause to much trouble for you!
I would like to welcome you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!
Hope to see you again!


Best Regards
Thon Hotel Gyldenløve

Christina Alstad-Rygg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed in the hotel for the weekend. The room was small, but fine considering the price and location. The bed linens were soft, and the bed was nice and firm.

The bathroom was small. Very small. So small they apparently couldn't fit the sink in the bathroom. For me this was a problem. It does not feel very hygienic to have to open the bathroom door (sliding door) with dirty hands before getting to wash them after using the bathroom. Washing my hands in the shower didn't exactly make the cut at an alternative since that would result in getting completely soaked. Taking a shower meant the entire bathroom got wet, including the toilet paper. Fun. Or not.

The breaksfast was decent, but thy should have replaced old and dry cheese, and lukewarm smoothies. If you are going to serve weekend-breakfast until 12:00, make sure it doesn't feel like scraps/leftovers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevators if you want a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Marianne_Bambi!
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about your stay here at Thon hotel Gyldenløve, and for your high score on service!
I can understand that you question the bathroom solution!
This creative solutions was made to give more light and space both in the room and the bathroom. I will take your remarks with me for the next time we are going to renovate.
It is good to se that you found the bed and linens comfortable! Thon Hotels prioritize good quality beds, so that our guest can get well rested while staying with us.
Regarding your comments on the breakfast, I have spoken with the kitchen staff. Of course the breakfast should have the same quality from opening to closing time! I apologize if you did not get the quality you expected! We will continue our work with breakfast, and hope that we will get the chance to serve once again! Welcome back to Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!

Best Regards
Thon Hotel Gyldenløve

Christina Alstad-Rygg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The location was perfect, central to good shopping and a nice walk to the palace and aker brygge and majourstua. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was ok, comfortable bed but you could smell stale smoke in the room. Breakfast was good with a large variety of food.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Hanne R!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!
We are happy to se that you found the location perfect! The hotel is situated in the hart of Bogstadveien and Majorstua district - a quiet part of the city, still close to everything that Oslo can offer.
I would also like to thank you for the kind words about our staff!
I will let them all know that you thought they were helpful and friendly!
About the stale smoke you smelled in the room, I can ensure you that all rooms are smoke free.
Unfortunately some guest do not respect this, and this is what might happened on your floor.
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced!
We will check the room to make sure that the smell is gone - and if not we will make arrangement for extra cleaning of the room and textiles. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Hope to se you again soon here at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Stayed for one night. Had a late check-in (01:00AM), so I just got a few hours sleep before rushing to the office. Nice, clean single-room with creative solutions. Breakfast was ok, not the best selection, but everything was fresh and tasted good. The hotel is located close to public transportation, both tram and subway.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors have less noise from the street, and are more private, as they lay higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kristoffer J!
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your stay!
We are happy to read that you liked the room and our somewhat creative solutions!
This playful choice was made to give our rooms more light and space.
We also strive to serve a good and healthy breakfast, and we are glad to se that you found it fresh and tasteful. I can also recommend Thon Hotels Conference hotels if you want a even wider selection. On the conference hotels you will also find an omelet bar as well as more choices.
We hope to se you again here at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!

Best regards
Thon Hotel Gyldenløve

Christina Alstad-Rygg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Thon Hotel Hyldenlove is an excellent place to stay if you want to be near the sea, mountains or even if you want to go to the centre.

The people that work there are very kind in every way and they were very helpful with every information I needed.

I liked the breakfast mostly because of the rich food that was given every morning.

My rate is 5/5.

Best wishes.
Mezei David

Room Tip: The higher floors at the back are very quiet. Not sure for the rest. Since it is located in a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear DavidMezei!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve!
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially liked the breakfast!
We are trying our very best to give our guest a good and healthy meal in the morning.
I am also happy that our location worked for you. Thon Hotel Gyldenløve is situated in a quiet part of Oslo, but still close to everything that Oslo can offer.
If you are planning a new trip to Norway, we hope that we will have the honor of seeing you again! Welcome back!


Best Regards
Thon Hotel Gyldenløve

Christina Alstad-Rygg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Gyldenlove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Gyldenlove

Address: Bogstadveien 20, Oslo 0355, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Gyldenlove 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Gyldenløve is a modern design hotel, located in one of Oslo’s best shopping streets “Bogstadveien”. The 164 rooms are furnished in Scandinavian, minimalistic stile and comfortably quipped with a modern bathroom solution. With short distance to tourist sights like the Vigelands Sculpture Park, the Royal Palace or Karl Johans gate and business centers like „Majorstuen“, „Forskningsparken“ and „Blindern“ the hotel suites business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary w-lan is available throughout the whole hotel. A rich breakfast buffet is served in the mornings, every week-end until 12:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Hotel Gyldenlove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Gyldenlove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.