We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planned for one night, stayed for two” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Sjolyst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Sjolyst to your Saves list
Scandic Sjolyst
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjolyst Plass 5,, Oslo 0212, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fargo, ND
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Planned for one night, stayed for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Scandic Sjolyst was our first stop once we landed in Norway. We had such a great experience at the Scandic Sjolyst that we extended our stay. We were supposed to stay one night but we stayed for two, because we know a good thing when we find it. The front desk staff were fabulous (I am sorry I did not remember to write down your names, but you were all amazing!). They were so helpful and patient. We went for a nice morning stroll through the peninsula of Bygdoy, and the Sjolyst is so close to Bygdoy that we felt like we had a nice home base for sightseeing Oslo. And one word for the breakfast: AMAZING. Seriously, that was the best breakfast we had in Norway (we spent 22 days in Norway). Maybe we were just starving...but all the rest of our breakfasts were compared to this one and they never even compared to this breakfast. Our room was clean, and the warm floors in the bathroom was a nice touch. The bed was comfortable. If we can afford another holiday to Norway we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment about your stay! We are very happy and proud to hear that you only planned to stay for one night but decided to stay for two. We are proud as a team to hear that you received fabulous service from the front desk team and that the breakfast was amasing! This made our day! We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Oslo. Have a nice day!

Best regards,
Team Sjølyst

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    57
    26
    7
See reviews for
19
27
16
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A warm welcome awaits you at this hotel. The concierge/receptionist was excellent and had a little chat rather than the perfunctory check in questions. the following day he provided great tips on Oslo and also on how to try and get a refund from the taxi fare we were charged fro the airport whichw as extortionate.

I booked a superior room which was very clean and modern. It was very comfortable and everything you needed was there. My friend had a standard room which was equally as good just smaller.

The breakfast was excellent and catered for all ypes of allergies which was a welcome surprise. Note though that the main restaurant is only open Mon to Thursday so if you'regoing for the weekend you will need to eat out in the evening.

All in all a good experience

Room Tip: If you like a good amount of space then plump for the superior rooms. If not the standard rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share with other travellers feedback on your stay with us. We truly appreciate the feedback and we are as a team proud to be dedicated towards our customers and our job, and are happy to hear you were happy with the stay.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Team Sjølyst

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Norway before as we have friend who lives here. Lucky this was the first time we needed to find a hotel,as norway is expensive for vistors. This hotel was just perfect as our friend lives sjølyst and was only down the road. We found the hotel to be clean and modern with a comfy bed. It's one stop on the train to centrel Oslo although the tram is good as you see more the stop is close too and so is the train station. The staff were friendly and smiley. the breakfast was good,espically in a country that's so expensive it's good to be set up for the day. all in all our experience was good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to log on to Tripadvisor and leave a review about your stay here at Scandic Sjølyst. We are happy to hear we were able to accomadate a good stay with comfy, clean and modern room and that you were all set for Oslo with a good breakfast. Thank you again!

We hope to be able to welcome you back with us when you need another hotel room!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked a room for 3 adults. But the third bed was like a sunbed with mattress. Finally I put the mattress on the floor to get a little bit a sleep. If they cannot fit a 3-bedroom, then they should offer only 1 and 2 bedrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello,

We are grateful you took your time review your stay here at Scandic Sjølyst, it is of great value for us in order to improve our product. Sjølyst have very few rooms that can accomodate 3 people, howver we are planning renovations of two floors in nearby future were we are considering "smart solutions" to be able to fit 3+4 people in the rooms with proper beds. At the moment we only provide standard extra beds for our larger rooms, and I can understand that the matresses are thin. We will certainly look further into thicker matresses.

Thank you again, and we hope to be able to welcome you!

Best regards,

Team Sjølyst
Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great value, excellent friendly service and tour advice, comfy clean rooms, a short bus ride to the centre of Oslo, safe central location, handy underground car park and an excellent breakfast. What more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Tripadvsior. We are very happy to hear you summed up your stay with "what more can I ask for"!

It is a pleasure to hear you received friendly serivce, tour advice and comfy and clean rooms. Comments such as these motivate us to try to exceed the little extra everyday for our customers! Thank you again, and we wish you welcome bac to Scandic Sjølyst!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This no frills hotel is perfectly adequate for a business stay. Located 5 mins walk from the train station and with good sized rooms, the staff were friendly upon arrival and there was a good breakfast buffet spread. The bed was comfortable, although the room was rather hot - opening the windows brought in a lot of traffic noise from outside however. The lifts also take a while to pick you up from your floor, so allow 5 mins extra if you need to leave in a rush! The hotel is situated just off the main street, and there are 3-4 restaurants nearby to choose. The staff were happy to recommend these.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to go to tripadvisor to advise others about your stay here at Scandic Sjølyst. We are very pleased to hear you received good service and that the breakfast buffet was good. Hope to be able to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a typical city hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but a trifle soulless. The staff range from pleasant to totally disinterested (particularly at breakfast). You cannot access the hotel from the car par until you have checked in, which makes for a confusing trek to get out of the underground car park. The bar was shut at 10.00, which was surprising. However, locationally is it excellent for access to the main museum district, and having a car park in the city is a bonus whatever the case. Overall, it's what I would have expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment abour your stay at Scandic Sjølyst. We are grateful to receive feedbak on your stay in order improve our services.

I am sorry about the inconvenience it may have caused regarding the car parking. The underground car park is owned by our landlord, and in order to access the entrance the guests need to check in and get a ticket at the reception, also in order to ensure that we have enough car parking for our guests. However as you also mentioned, we have the opportunity to offer our guests car parking at an affordable price in Oslo with an easy access with lift to the reception and rooms.

Moreover I am also sorry to hear you receieved mixed service from the staff, I will make sure to follow this up, as one of our main focus is to make our guests feel at home here at Scandic Sjølyst.

Hope however you had a pleasent stay with some nice sightseeing around the area, and wish to welcome you back.

Do not hesistate to contact the hotel if you have any further feedback.

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Sjolyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sjolyst

Address: Sjolyst Plass 5,, Oslo 0212, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sjolyst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Sjolyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Oslo Sjolyst Hotel Oslo
Scandic Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Sjolyst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.