We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Scandic ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Edderkoppen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Edderkoppen to your Saves list
Scandic Edderkoppen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St Olavs Plass 1 | P. B. 6981, Oslo 0165, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worst Scandic ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about the hotel is its location. Indifferent staff. Dormitory-like room, no hot water, no view from the room, dust everywhere, breakfast with poor variety. As a conference venue- a total disaster.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us you feedback on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen.

I am very sorry to hear you were not satisficed with your stay with us, I can assure you this is not according to our standard and will be addresses immediately.

Concerning the lack of hot water, this was caused by a broken water pipe in the district heating system and this affected the hot water in large parts of Oslo.

Please contact me directly and I am sure we can come to an understanding in this matter.

Best regards
Nina Thomassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    120
    87
    26
    9
See reviews for
28
84
38
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked 3 rooms in this hotel for a short stay whilst visiting the city.
-Superb location
-Front desk nice and efficient
- Service ok
-Room, small and basic, but ok
-Breakfast ok.
The best with this hotel is the location, just 5 minutes walk from Karl Johan and the royal castle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments about Scandic Edderkoppen.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards
Nina Thomassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3nights whilst visiting the city. The hotel is in a really great location and we were very happy with the room. Although basic it was clean, had everything we needed and was serviced to a high standard. The breakfast was really wonderful and couldn't fault it. My only complaint with this hotel was with the reception staff - they were rude, unhelpful and really would put me off returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel.

Our main focus is to deliver good services, so I am very sorry to hear you were not satisficed with the reception staff. This is not according to our standard and will be addressed.

Hope we can welcome you back to Scandic Edderkoppen in the future.

Best regards
Nina Thomassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to visit the city. It is a good location to start your daily visits, with or without public transportation.
Everything you need is there, rooms are not to big, but for us good enough.
It is all very clean, they do a great job on this and the staff is very friendly and speak very good english.
Few miner points, the hairdryer is in the room instead of the bathroom and the bottle opener is supposed to be in the bathroom...??

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I especially appreciate your comments concerning our friendly staff.

Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Nina Thomassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

When choosing Scandic its kind of the same everytime, the rooms are ok, the service are ok and breakfast are good. Its kind of like a tuesday, its ok but slightly boring. What is good with this hotel is the location just 5 minutes walk from Karl Johan and the royal castle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Location, SCANDIC Terrific breakfast, and most attentive and caring staff made it a great experience. I stayed in an economy room using the friends discount, so it was great (for expensive Norway). I managed to try the sauna, very nice after a rainy day, and the lobby is also nice with a couple of PC and wi-fi everywhere. you can leave your bag(s) in a storage after check-out. Convenient. I had a room overlooking the circle and like it, as well as all the theatrical decorations (it was closed for the season, Xmas). PS: I loved the heated WC floors in Norway, such a treat, and i found the use of your room-key as a master lock to turn off electricity very innovative. there were bins for recycling (for environmentally obsessed like myself).PSPS: and it's within a walking distance for a walker like me, 20-25 min to the Central station

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Its OK and has the usual great Scandic breakfast EXCEPT, oddly for Norway, no proper coffee machine (only a filter machine). I didn't try the restaurant but it had no visible menu at the entrance which is off putting. Staff are friendly and the broken bulb in my bathroom was efficiently replaced when I pointed it out. Room was very small and overall the hotel feels the lack of a purpose built building in an awkward rather than charming way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Edderkoppen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Edderkoppen

Address: St Olavs Plass 1 | P. B. 6981, Oslo 0165, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Edderkoppen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Edderkoppen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Edderkoppen Oslo
Scandic Edderkoppen Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Edderkoppen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.