We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Spectrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Spectrum to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Spectrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brugata 7, Oslo 0186, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The area is not the best in town. However, this Thon Budget Hotel is delicate, clean and totally OK. I had a large room with almost everything I needed. Because of the surrounding area you might be disturbed by music, street life etc. The breakfast is good to be a budget hotel,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving a review for us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you a lovely summer still and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    78
    94
    31
    12
See reviews for
20
55
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at Thon Hotel Spectrum overnight while passing through Oslo. It's a good find in its price category. Clean, quiet and modern, soft decent beds, clean, modern bathroom - everything's worth the price, but don't expect anything extra. The staff downstairs was very friendly and helpful. I got a room at the top floor, which was quiet (read some complaints about the noise since it's on a pedestrian street with bars) and had windows on the ceiling, rather than on the wall. Would have been nice to look out of the window to the street, but the windows were a unique detail as well. In addition to a king size double bed, my room also had a soft, big sofa.
Don't worry about reviews saying it's noisy and unsafe because of the bar street - it's all right. There's a Seven Eleven right opposite the hotel and it's only a few blocks walk to Oslo City Mall and the Central Railway Station. A convenient location!

Room Tip: If you want to make sure it's quiet, ask for a room on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is especially nice to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful.
The team at Thon Hotel Spectrum wishes you a nice summer and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel and Oslo in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ålesund
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend mid-april. The hotel was fairly easy to find from the Oslo central station, but we made a wrong turn and nearly ended up in Grønland. The hotel lies in a fairly shady street with lots of beggars and immigrants (legal and illegal i suppose) and I would recommend not wandering around there past dark. The hotel is very "in-the-middle-of-everything" and you should find your way to Oslo-City (mall) and Oslo-S (central station) without much problem.

The hotel itself is very basic but also very good. The staff where friendly and professional and the rooms are quite nice. The lobby area is minimalistic but also inviting. You need your room-key to use the elevator or the stairs, but this is more a pro than i con considering security. The staff where very helpfull ordering taxis on demand. This was very helpfull considering that we didn't want to walk around searching for public transportation.

We had a "family-room" was a bit larger than average and it also had a sleeping-couch. The bathroom was also spacious. Of course you noticed that that the finish and standard was "budget" and limited, but for the price it was a bargain. The breakfast was also impressive for a budget-hotel! I would highly recommend this hotel for everyone who wants to spend a couple of days in Oslo, just beware of the shady neighbourhood :)

Room Tip: Our room faced a big empty parking-building, so not much noise to complain about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your visit to Thon Hotel Spectrum and for leaving feedback for us on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to see that you had a nice stay with us and that the hotel met your expectations. I am especially happy to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful – this is of outmost importance to us!

The focus of the hotel is to provide affordable accommodation without the extras that you might find at other hotels and the standard is therefore, as you correctly state, budget – perfect for the category of the hotel as we are a budget hotel.

Thank you again for the very nice feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located centrally, the city centre and harbour well within walking distance and metro and tram and bus stops just up the street. Free wifi. Room clean, comfy, massive tele and free hot drink making facilities. It was warm too which when the temp outside drops is very welcoming! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The best bit was the breakfast - fantastic! I got a great deal as I stayed 3 nights and was more then pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for the outstanding feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The whole team works hard every day to make sure that our guests are happy and reviews like this one makes it worth all the time put in! The team at the hotel hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Spectrum again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Warned by previous reviews of the possibility of noise in rooms facing the street, I asked for a quiet room, and got one with no view, facing an interior courtyard, but very quiet. The breakfast was fantastic, with salmon, many meats and cheeses, delicious fresh bread, scrambled, soft-boiled, and hard-boiled eggs, juices, and fresh kiwi, pineapple and other fruits. Internet is free, fast, and reliable. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a giant (about 40") flat screen HD TV with 24-hour news in English from CNN, France24, and RT (from Russia). The location is very convenient, only two blocks from the main train station (with a fast connection to the airport) and from the T-bane (metro) with fast connections everywhere. If you like to wash with a bar of soap rather than cold, liquid soap from a wall dispenser, bring a bar with you, or go to the next-door Rema 1000 grocery store.
The Radisson one block away has a bar at the top with a great view over Oslo. Don’t miss City Hall. Go inside and walk around for free, looking at the main hall where the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded every year. Also visit the spectacular new Opera House, just out the south exit from the train station. It looks like an iceberg and you can walk up to the top (outside) for a nice view of the harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear guest,
The team at Thon Hotel Spectrum thanks you for the nice feedback. It is very good to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. The rooms facing the back of the hotel are quieter, the drawback being that the rooms face the courtyard and other buildings. Unfortunately, we were out of bars of soap during your stay, but this is normally present in all rooms.
It is also good to see that you enjoyed some of the sights the city has to offer during your visit. The team at the hotel hopes to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Spectrum in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Thon Hotel Spectrum in September 2012. It is conveniently located close to shopping area and restaurants. Check-in was rather fast but room allocated was along a corridor which had some steps that made it hard to pull a heavy suitcase. My room was clean and decent even though the bathroom was comparatively small. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of cold foods for a budget hotel. The only complaint I had was that outside the room I slept in was noisy at night and one could hear the revellers outside late into the night. Overall, it was a comfortable stay for the one week I was in Oslo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. Feedback from our guests is important to us and we use this in all training with our staff.
I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed your week in Oslo. Thon Hotel Spectrum is located in a part of Oslo with lots of shops, restaurants and bars and there can therefore be some noise outside the hotel in the evenings. However, I hope that you still managed to get some nights of good sleep.
We thank you for visiting with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Spectrum in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here one night so I'll keep it short and simple:

Good
- Cheap considering the location
- Clean
- Helpful staff
- Good sound isolation
- Free WiFi
- Free breakfast

Bad
- The breakfast buffet is disappointing when compared to other Thon Hotels Budget hotels
- One of the legs on the bed was broken (I told them about it, so hopefully it'll be fixed soon!)

It's located in Grønland, an area in Oslo with many immigrants. As a result, you have international grocery stores, restuarants and stores nearby. Generally cheaper than other places in Oslo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. Feedback from our guests is important to us and we use this in all training with our staff.
I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay in Oslo. I am especially pleased to hear that our staff members were helpful. Good service is very important to us and the staff is also happy when they get feedback like this one. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our breakfast. We spent some time revising the breakfast last fall and I hope that it is more satisfactory now. The bed has been changed so that it is now in proper condition.
We thank you for visiting with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Spectrum in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Spectrum

Address: Brugata 7, Oslo 0186, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Spectrum 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Spectrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.