We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful garden only overshadowed by the food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ni&Tyve

Ni&Tyve
Parkveien 29, Oslo 0350, Norway (Sentrum)
22 06 86 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #359 of 990 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Colchester Vermont
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A beautiful garden only overshadowed by the food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Norway is expensive for most all purchases. This restaurant is worth every penny!! The wine list is expansive and we found many options that would be great. We had a wonderful Brunello with our meal. Fish, beef, pork were all done to perfection. If you have only a few nights to done in Oslo do not miss this place. We will remember our experience for many years to come.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Perfect place, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is located in a beautiful part of the city, surrounded by historical buildings an parks. The terrace is beautiful, and the inside very elegant but not overwhelming.
We had a business dinner with the tasting menu of Norwegian specialties, and although the portions seemed small at first we left the place full. The wine list is very extensive, and the waiters are knowledgable.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant for social or business occasions.

The only minor negative point is the waiting time between dishes, but I'm sure that if you mention it to them it would be fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A perfect evening in excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had both food menu and wine menu. Both were of top standard, price on the high side, but compared to other Oslo restaurants very good value for the money. The restaurant is close to city center, but in a very nice area. The building is old, and the management has succeeded in utilizing this in making an excellent atmosphere with tables not too tight together.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a great place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've been to Resturant Ni&Tyve quite a lot, and it always delivers! During the summer it is lovely to sit out in the garden and in autum/winter it's such a warm and cosy atmposphere inside in the resturant. The old villa is beautifully refurbished and the interiour is just lovely. The food and wine is tasteful and the service is top class. I recommend everyone to visit this little pearl either for an informal lunch a Saturday afternoon or a dinner when you are going to treat yourself to something special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The old building with in which the restaurant with its delicate interiours brings out a cosy atmosphere. The menu doesn't have that many courses, however varies during the season. The wine list contains a good selection of whites, reds and rosés.
Service is excellent, and I have never been let down on the food. The restaurant is on my top 5 of Oslo restaurants.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ni&Tyve also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Ni&Tyve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ni&Tyve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.