We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Vulkan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Vulkan to your Saves list
Scandic Vulkan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0175, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Wirral
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good trip for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I were here with the official England Fans trip for the Norway v England football match, though we kept ourselves to ourselves as much as possible.
Check in was very slow, because we were part of a large group.
Our room was perfectly good, though nothing exceptional. We wanted somewhere to rest and somewhere to store our stuff, and that's what we got.
The bar/restaurant downstairs was pretty good, and though expensive, it wasn't bad in Norwegian terms. Breakfast the next morning was perfectly good. I'm sorry that our stay in Oslo wasn't longer. We would consider staying here again, as it was good enough and reasonably central.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback after your stay with us at Scandic Vulkan.
We are happy to read that you appreciated our rooms and ecological breakfast.

We hope to see you and your wife soon again!

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    84
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
12
56
13
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almhult, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during a two day business trip. Arriving late in the evening, we were very pleased with a quick check in and a friendly recommendation for where to go to find food. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Great WiFi service as well. The location is walking distance to restaurants and shops. We had no trouble finding it and conveniently there is garage parking just across the street. This is a well decorated, hip hotel that isn't fancy, but has a good vibe. With a stylish breakfast room and great breakfast spread, it is easy to enjoy staying here. I will stay here again on my next visit to Oslo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback after staying with us. I'm happy you like the vibe at Vulkan and appreciated both our staff, services and breakfast.

A warm welcome back soon again!

Kind regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel seems to be a bit difficult to find on a car sat-nav. The formal address wasn’t recognized as we ended up at another street with exactly the same name. Once we phoned reception and asked for the cross street it was fine. Parked outside and unloaded, given a car park remote for the underground car par across the road. Check in no problem, up to my first room 515. It was one floor above the road – back down to ask for something quieter – no problem. I was given 525; I heard nothing even with the window open for fresh air all night. Room size was ok, bathroom was good size, shower good size and power, plenty of fresh well laundered towels, no shaving mirror just the usual big one above the wash-hand basin. TV was ok, some channels had English too. Great bed and bedding, very comfortable. Down for breakfast, good spread, plenty of tables, all nice quality. Check out no issues and another very friendly receptionist. Bar staff very friendly too. Everybody made the effort to be welcoming, all facilities good, and a definite “return to” hotel.

Room Tip: go for 525 which is 1 floor above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are delighted to read your comment after your stay with us at Scandic Vulkan, thank you.
How nice that you enjoyed our comfortable bed and friendly staff in front desk and at the bar.

A warm welcome back soon again for another round of our ecological and yummy breakfast!

Kind regards,

Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hast not sacrificed design for functionality. The decor of the hotels and the room is very hip, the hotal offers everything one would need. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Awesome service by the staff. Excellent price/service ratio.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hit interior of the hotel, our spacious rooms and first and foremost, our great and hospitable staff.

We hope to see you back here soon again!

Kind regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had been told about this hotel from a friend who had stayed before. The staff were fantastic. The girl behind the desk was professional but very down to earth. Very funny at times too. The gentleman who worked in the mornings was very friendly. I, as a typical man, forgot to buy a euro to uk adapter and he gave me shop names and perfect directions to the shops. Also went out of his way to help my partner too. The food was superb and value for money in Oslo. Breakfast was very good. As an englishman we a like a little bit of a fried breakfast. Different to a typical English fry up. But was very nice. A lot of choice too. The rooms were very morden and comfortable. Getting into the town centre is very easy. A short 2 minute walk downhill to the bustop. Buses are very frequent and in around 5 mins to the town centre. A minus note. Its a very busy nightlife area with a few bars and can get a little noisy. It didn't bother us at all. We was probably part of it. All in all a fantasic stay. I couldnt recommend it more. We will stay there again when visit Norway again.

Room Tip: If you like a view. Try get a room with 17 at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback after your stay at Scandic Vulkan. I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed our hotel and facilities. Your feedback related to our nice and friendly staff is very much appreciated.

It is important for us to offer a breakfast which appeals to everyone and it seems like we succeeded in this matter. Thank you. Did you know that V Bar og Bistro is Swan labeled as one of few restaurants in Norway?

A warm welcome back to Scandic Vulkan again soon!

Best regards,
Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at Scandic Vulkan in July and unfortunately was very surprised by the low standard of this hotel. The general standard of the room interior is below standard, including towels, duvets and pillows.

After waiting 10 minutes queuing for check-in, I got my room key. However the windows in the room were not working. When approaching the reception-desk the response was 'ohh ya, the windows arent working'. Surely this could have been a useful piece of information.

It is obvious that absolutely no cleaning was made during my stay. The television, lamp, desk was covered with dust and remained so for 3 days.

The stay included breakfast. But the buffet was totally empty and after waiting for 20 minutes, I decided to go for breakfast another place.

During my stay I informed the staff about it and afterwards made an official complaint. Surely expecting some kind of compensation, I was offered a 'free' upgrade, if I was ever to return. This compensation does not, in anyway, correlate with the lacking of this hotel.

Based on my experience I would not suggest anyone going there. Our company usually stays at Scandic, but will now look into changing our supplier.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and provide us with valuable feedback after your stay with us.

Please let me extend my sincere apology for what you unfortunately had to experience and for any inconvenience this might have caused you. I kindly ask you to contact me directly so that we can look into this matter further on lovisa.hegborn@scandichotels.com

I look forward to hear from you. Until then, I wish you a nice end of the summer.

Best regards,

Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

3 nights stay at this hotel was lovely experience. Hotel is located 15 minutes of walk away from central station at the newly built building. The hotel is brand new and contemporary designed. Room is simple featuring armchair, small table and flat TV. Minibar is missing, ice machine is located at the 6th and 8th floors. But it produces so small cubes of ice that the ice would melt half then you bring it to your room. If you stay at this hotel take slippers with you since it is not comfortable to walk on the wooden floor with bare feet. To be not forget the bed was comfy.

My biggest issue on this hotel is air condition. Looks like it is so much eco friendly that doesn’t work for cooling at all. We were lucky enough to get a sunny weather upon our arrival to Oslo, but unlucky to get not working air condition in the room (it didn’t cool). I applied to reception with this issue, but they dealt with me like with an idiot: are you sure you have your window closed? Did you put the room key into main switch? Of course I am sure, I understand how to use air-con. Reception even dialed to maintenance but my issue stayed unresolved. I had to sleep with open window, but it didn’t help a lot since due to security reasons it could be opened for a tiny slot only.

Do not stay at Scandic Vulcan if the weather is fine. Go there in wintertime ☺

We did breakfast 3 times during our stay and every time it had a different set up: one day jams were at one side of the table, the next day they were at another side, sometimes croissants were available, sometimes no coffee snacks (sweets at all). One day we saw do-it-yourself waffles, but it was a total mess around, too many people wanted to make waffles and only one waffle-iron. No porridge was available unlike to other Scandics. In comparison with other Scandics I have stayed (9 different hotels in Baltic states) Scandic Vulkan’s breakfast was the worst. My largest complaint is against terrible scrambled eggs served at the breakfast. I do not know how to name this egg dish: it neither looks like an omelette nor scrambled eggs.

We tried restaurant for dinner. It is written in room directory that the restaurant is open until 22:00, but no statement that kitchen closes half an hour earlier. We were lucky enough to place our order the last minute. Food was good, nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: If you need to open window ask for inner yard room. Road faced room are a bit noisy because of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hegborn L, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and comments after your stay at Scandic Vulkan.

I am happy to read that you had a lovely experience at out hotel and enjoyed our restaurant for dinner. As you wrote, the hotel is new with an urban design and located close to the central station.

Though, we apologize for the incidents during breakfast and this is of course not satisfying, we do take your comments on the matter very seriously. Waffles are served during weekends but we will look into adding one more waffle-iron.

We hope to see you back here soon again! Until then, I wish you a nice end of the summer.

Best regards,

Lovisa Hegborn
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Vulkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Vulkan

Address: Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0175, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Vulkan 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Oslo hotel has an attractive location in Oslo's Vulkan area, just 2 km from central Oslo. Hotel Scandic Vulkan opened in October 2011.The new Scandic Vulkan hotel has a great location in Vulkan, just north of central Oslo and by the Akerselva river. Vulkan is a part of Oslo that represents innovation, creativity and culture. The hotel is also close to Oslo's trendy Grunerlokka area with plenty of cosy cafés, bars and parks as well as several cultural institutions and creative colleges. Oslo's city centre and popular attractions are only a 2 km walk from hotel Scandic Vulkan.When you stay at hotel Scandic Vulkan, don't miss a visit to our popular restaurant V. Our restaurant serves great local food and is a relaxed and informal meeting place from morning till evening. You can also enjoy a drink in our hotel bar or arrange a conference or event with us. With solar cells, geothermal energy and other smart solutions with environmental focus, Scandic Vulkan is the first hotel in Norway with the Norwegian term 'Energy class A'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Vulkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Vulkan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.