We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Victoria to your Saves list
Scandic Victoria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosenkrantzgate 13, Oslo 0121, Norway (Formerly Rica Victoria Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Oslo
1 review
“We recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice, relatively cheap hotel in the centre of Oslo. Good and varied breakfast. Clean rooms, very good beds and the bathroom was clean and nice. Carpets in corrridors. Nice bar and atrium - and the hotel was pretty new built.


  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOslo, Hotel manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear ninah501, thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your good experience and you recommondation to stay with us here at Scandic Victoria. We appreciate that very much.

We hope to be welcoming you back very soon!

Regards
Kristoffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    121
    66
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
76
20
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the hotel this weekend, it was our first trip to Oslo, and the location of the hotel could not have been better. Everything we wanted to see and visit was in easy reach. Also an easy walk from National Theatre train station which is on the route of the Flytoget from the airport. We visited the Parliament and waterfront all within walking distance. The Norwegian Folk Museum was a bus ride away but the bus stop was just around the corner. The staff on reception were excellent, very efficient, knowledgeable and friendly - the lady from Nigerian always had a smile. The room was comfortable the only thing I would say is that the bathroom was always cold which is not very nice when you get out of a warm shower. Also better lighting in the bathroom would be good. The buffet breakfast was exceptional, lovely fish, breads, jams, yoghurts nicely presented and good quality. Really would recommend this as the hotel of choice when visiting Oslo.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOslo, Hotel manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mudeford123, thank you for taking the time to share your great experience from Scandic Victoria. It's so nice to hear and muchly appreciated.

Come see us soon again!

Regards

Kristoffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights at Scandic Victoria in Oslo.
The location is great, close to the national theatre; rooms are comfortable and modern; and the breakfast is great. The hotel also offers free wifi and staff are courteous and efficient. My colleague forgot a briefcase in the train and the hotel staff helped him retrieve it through the list and found. All in all a very nice place to stay, not luxurious, but functional.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOslo, Rooms division manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your good review of Scandic Victoria. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

Come see us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

When I last stayed in Oslo, I booked at the Smarthotel. This time I decided to book elsewhere.

It was worth the effort to find another hotel. The room was much larger, the decor was much better, and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The location was much more central to the palace, the harbor, and to the central station.

The bathroom had heated flooring, and the shower was clean and spacious.

There were 3 sets of windows in the room, and all could be opened. There was a matching smaller window above that could also be opened. Great for having ventilation in the room.

All in all, we were pleased here, and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOslo, Rooms division manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you for your great review of Scandic Victoria. We appreciate that you take the time to tell us about your experience.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Very central, walking distance to the area of the Astrup Fearnley Museum with its pedestrian areas and its location at the waterfront with interesting architectural and urban plan designs. The hotel itself although located in a street with traffic, it is quiet as only cars go through that street, since it has not public transportation going by. The room is small for North American standards but the usual size according to European standards. The bathroom is large enough, offering liquid gel for shampoo and for body lotion, which is not my favourite form of soap as one has to squeeze the container really hard in order to get a small amount of soap. Also, the water pressure in the shower is not very strong.

There is no room safe either. The TV in the room offers a package of music, tv and movies on demand but at a price of K$140 added to the bill. Therefore, we just shut it off.

The breakfast is vast, varied, so you will not go hungry in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOslo, Rooms division manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Scandic Victoria. We appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experience.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The hotel is very well located close to castle and main shopping street , also, it is not far from central station. Very good breakfasts.What we didn't like is poor quality of cleaning and this why i put mark 3 from 5 as I had to make to warnings to reception that there was no wacum cleaning at the room during the cleaning, once it was fixed, second time - no. So it is not high standard sign.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOslo, Rooms division manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Scandic Victoria. We appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Victoria

Address: Rosenkrantzgate 13, Oslo 0121, Norway (Formerly Rica Victoria Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Victoria is a first-class business hotel in the heart of Oslo. Aker Brygge, the Parliament, Karl Johans gate are all within short walking distance. The hotel has 199 spacious, light and comfortable rooms, some of which are suites. The hotel has several meeting rooms and a large atrium ideal for mini-fairs and exhibitions, receptions, lunches and dinners. A large and varied buffet lunch is served daily in the atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Victoria Oslo
Oslo Rica Victoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.