We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Holberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Holberg to your Saves list
Scandic Holberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway (Formerly Rica Holberg Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Molde, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Whenever I go to Oslo I always try to book at room at the Rica Holberg Hotel. Why? Firstly, It is a great location - 5 min walk from the high street (Carl Johan) - 5 min walk from the King's Castle - the airport coach takes you directly to the doorstep (or, strictly speaking - across the street). Most importantly: Great service. This time we stayed for 4 nights - and the great new experience was lovely Ms Alexandra showing us a good table and serving us with great cappuccinos every morning - with a great smile and friendly smalltalk. She is a great asset to this hotel (hope she stays for a while). We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: The tram runs on two sides of the hotel - so ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor, or a room facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. In our constant strive to improve ourselves feedback from our guests is most valuable.

And what a great review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service, location and found it convenient with the airport coach stopping outside the hotel.

We are looking forward to your return!

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    92
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
19
72
30
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The strongest side of Norway is cofident that for almost expensive price you will get high quality product. This hotel is not an exeption. It was the cheapest 4* hotel in the city center, and the same time it was wanderful. Very comfortable bed, very-very well served breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. In our constant strive to improve ourselves feedback from our guests is most valuable.

Our team appreciates the excellent rating you gave us and are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I came across this gem while looking for a place to stay for a two day stop over before an expedition to the arctic... What a find!!!
I am a single female traveller and when I read the reviews regarding the room sizes I was hesitant but low and behold when I got there I was surprised to find that the room was more than warm and comfortable, the bath had heated flooring and the tv played at least 5 English speaking channels....
In a city as expensive as Oslo, to find a room that will set you back for the price of a decent meal is a miracle on its own...!!!
As for the breakfast, why rant when others have done it before me? It's all true!!! What a buffet!!!
My advice: if you are lucky to find a room then book now cause you are not going to find anything that comes even close for this price!!!
Ps don't forget to visit the summit bar at the radisson blu across the street, the most amazing Oslo views. Also bus to and from the airport literally stops at your door step.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Wow! Our team appreciates the excellent rating you gave us on Tripadvisor and we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. In our constant strive to improve ourselves feedback from our guests is most valuable.

We hope to see you back on your next visit to Oslo.


Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent two night stay for a flying visit to Oslo. The parking garage was convenient, the room excellent and the breakfast was exceptionally good. Helpful staff made good recommnedations for our stay.
We were puzzled however why the bar was shut in July, but nearby refeshment was available, so it didn't cause a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We appreciate the excellent rating you gave us and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Rica Holberg Hotel.

We are pleased that you describe our breakfast as exceptionally good, that you find our staff helpful and that you are telling future guests about our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rica Holberg Hotel in the near future.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

When we arrived in the lobby we had the immediate attention of the receptionist, who greeted us welcome and gave us the key to the room with a big smile. She also told us about where and when to have breakfast. The lobby area is small and nothing special, not a place to sit very long. My room was booked by someone else and the confirmation said "superior room". In my opinion it was an ordinary hotel room, I don't know what was be the "superior" part of it.
It was ok, nothing more. A bit gloomy, not very well lit.
The bathroom was so tiny! Clean, very well illuminated, but so small it was almost useless. The shelf for your toiletries was above the WC, when you stand in front of the sink and the mirror you have to turn and stretch to reach the things you need. Very unpractical. Small shower and almost no space to get dry when you are out of the shower. I really can't understand why they have made the bathrooms so small. I stayed for two nights, if I had stayed longer it would have been very annoying.
As others here have said many times, the breakfast is very good with both warm and cold food. And the waiters greet you goodmorning, which is a very nice gesture.
My room was against the courtyard and so quiet, I could sleep with an open window without any problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Rica Holberg Hotel for you stay in Oslo. We do appreciate your nice comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important for us to achieve even better.

Next time ask for a room with a bigger bathroom.

November news: We are upgrading all windows facing the street with soundproof windows minimizing street noise.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Fabulous hotel experience. The location was good for us, central enough to see most of Oslo but not in the busy, busy streets by the train station. First, we were given a choice of view or quiet. Quiet won and our room faced the inner atrium. We had our window open all night and it really was quiet. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable-great bathroom/shower as well. All of the Front Desk staff was very helpful and friendly but special thanks to Sofie as she got us set up with the free hotel bicycles, which we used for two days and toured most of the city. The breakfast was amazing for taste and presentation. Also, our train to Stockholm left very early and we able to get our breakfast before the official opening time. Thanks again to the staff at the Front Desk and the breakfast room for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Susan W

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Oslo, and thank you for posting this fantastic review about Rica Holberg Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are especially glad to hear your comments about your nice quiet, spacious, clean room, the amazing breakfast and your kind words about our service team taking care of you while staying with us. Your feedback makes us want to achieve even better.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in Oslo, a short walk from the city centre. It has a few restaurants around it plus a seven eleven etc that is open all the time. The price was reasonable, and the room had everything that was supposed to have. The duvets were really warm and fluffy. The hotel provided anything you needed for the bathroom including body butter and such. The best part was the breakfast though! It is seriously the best hotel breakfast I have ever had! I really hope the hotel does not change this in the future to save some money.. The selection was excellent and there was something for everyone. And the products were quality not what you see in most hotels where they serve those little baguettes from a packet and jams and butter again, in little packages. This place had a great selection of fish, caviar, våfflor, jams, fruits, vegetables, sill, cereal, dried fruit, yoghurts, mixed salads, little desserts, pastries, ham, pate, cheese, and bread. I have to add that the bread meant there was at least 10 different varieties you could choose from, dry bread, fresh bread, proper loaf s and baguettes that you could cut yourself. Even two different types of butter. The drink section was also good, juices, coffee and for once more than just that black tea. Different types of sugar and honey. The service was also great. The staff was very fast with taking any plates or glasses away that you didnt use anymore. Extremely attentive! So, all in all, it has everything you expect from a hotel, and as described, the breakfast made the hotel stand out. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jessika P,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review about Rica Holberg Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are especially glad to read your comments about the "best breakfast ever". We promise that all future changes will be made to further improve our "Good Morning Breakfast". Thanks to comments like yours our goal will always be to serve the best breakfast in town.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holberg

Address: Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway (Formerly Rica Holberg Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#27 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Holberg hotel is located in the centre of Oslo and is within walking distance of Karl Johans Gate and Aker Brygge as well as shops and museums. A hearty breakfast is served in our restaurant which also serves lunch and dinner on request. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 70 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Holberg Oslo
Hotel Rica Holberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Holberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.