We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Holberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Holberg to your Saves list
Scandic Holberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway (Formerly Rica Holberg Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent two night stay for a flying visit to Oslo. The parking garage was convenient, the room excellent and the breakfast was exceptionally good. Helpful staff made good recommnedations for our stay.
We were puzzled however why the bar was shut in July, but nearby refeshment was available, so it didn't cause a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We appreciate the excellent rating you gave us and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Rica Holberg Hotel.

We are pleased that you describe our breakfast as exceptionally good, that you find our staff helpful and that you are telling future guests about our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rica Holberg Hotel in the near future.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
19
72
30
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

When we arrived in the lobby we had the immediate attention of the receptionist, who greeted us welcome and gave us the key to the room with a big smile. She also told us about where and when to have breakfast. The lobby area is small and nothing special, not a place to sit very long. My room was booked by someone else and the confirmation said "superior room". In my opinion it was an ordinary hotel room, I don't know what was be the "superior" part of it.
It was ok, nothing more. A bit gloomy, not very well lit.
The bathroom was so tiny! Clean, very well illuminated, but so small it was almost useless. The shelf for your toiletries was above the WC, when you stand in front of the sink and the mirror you have to turn and stretch to reach the things you need. Very unpractical. Small shower and almost no space to get dry when you are out of the shower. I really can't understand why they have made the bathrooms so small. I stayed for two nights, if I had stayed longer it would have been very annoying.
As others here have said many times, the breakfast is very good with both warm and cold food. And the waiters greet you goodmorning, which is a very nice gesture.
My room was against the courtyard and so quiet, I could sleep with an open window without any problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Rica Holberg Hotel for you stay in Oslo. We do appreciate your nice comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important for us to achieve even better.

Next time ask for a room with a bigger bathroom.

November news: We are upgrading all windows facing the street with soundproof windows minimizing street noise.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Fabulous hotel experience. The location was good for us, central enough to see most of Oslo but not in the busy, busy streets by the train station. First, we were given a choice of view or quiet. Quiet won and our room faced the inner atrium. We had our window open all night and it really was quiet. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable-great bathroom/shower as well. All of the Front Desk staff was very helpful and friendly but special thanks to Sofie as she got us set up with the free hotel bicycles, which we used for two days and toured most of the city. The breakfast was amazing for taste and presentation. Also, our train to Stockholm left very early and we able to get our breakfast before the official opening time. Thanks again to the staff at the Front Desk and the breakfast room for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Susan W

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Oslo, and thank you for posting this fantastic review about Rica Holberg Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are especially glad to hear your comments about your nice quiet, spacious, clean room, the amazing breakfast and your kind words about our service team taking care of you while staying with us. Your feedback makes us want to achieve even better.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in Oslo, a short walk from the city centre. It has a few restaurants around it plus a seven eleven etc that is open all the time. The price was reasonable, and the room had everything that was supposed to have. The duvets were really warm and fluffy. The hotel provided anything you needed for the bathroom including body butter and such. The best part was the breakfast though! It is seriously the best hotel breakfast I have ever had! I really hope the hotel does not change this in the future to save some money.. The selection was excellent and there was something for everyone. And the products were quality not what you see in most hotels where they serve those little baguettes from a packet and jams and butter again, in little packages. This place had a great selection of fish, caviar, våfflor, jams, fruits, vegetables, sill, cereal, dried fruit, yoghurts, mixed salads, little desserts, pastries, ham, pate, cheese, and bread. I have to add that the bread meant there was at least 10 different varieties you could choose from, dry bread, fresh bread, proper loaf s and baguettes that you could cut yourself. Even two different types of butter. The drink section was also good, juices, coffee and for once more than just that black tea. Different types of sugar and honey. The service was also great. The staff was very fast with taking any plates or glasses away that you didnt use anymore. Extremely attentive! So, all in all, it has everything you expect from a hotel, and as described, the breakfast made the hotel stand out. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jessika P,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review about Rica Holberg Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are especially glad to read your comments about the "best breakfast ever". We promise that all future changes will be made to further improve our "Good Morning Breakfast". Thanks to comments like yours our goal will always be to serve the best breakfast in town.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a lovely clean and spacious room that even had a balcony facing the street, which of course resulted in noise from traffic and the tram. But it was quiet at night. We took the train from the airport, not knowing the airport bus stopped right across the street. As we exited the train station on the wrong side, it was a little bit of a hike to the hotel carting luggage and dodging construction. Breakfast was delicious with many choices. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again, being sure to take the airport bus instead of the train.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for submitting your response to Tripadvisor regarding Rica Holberg Hotel. Your nice review inspire us to achieve even better in the future.

In November 2013 all our rooms facing the street are being fitted with new soundproof windows. This is done to eliminate any noise problems. Remember that future guests will always have the opportunity to request a nice and quiet room facing the inner courtyard.

On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for your nice comments about your experience.

Thank you again for contributing! Your response is valuable to us.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I would give this wonderful hotel 5 stars, but one issue has lowered my rating - the noise of the tram that goes right by the hotel. The hotel rooms are very nice, and the service is fabulous - everyone is so helpful. The breakfasts are extraordinary, and we often skipped lunch because we'd eaten so much delicious food for breakfast. We loved Oslo, and we recommend this hotel but suggest you bring earplugs if you are sensitive to nighttime noise. We didn't hear anything from other rooms, just the tram.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear business guest,

Thank you for submitting your comments about the fabulous staff, nice room and extraordinary breakfast! Your comments are motivating the entire hotel team.

We have got some great news for you!

In November 2013 all our rooms facing the street are being fitted with new soundproof windows. This is done to eliminate any noise problems from the city traffic. Remember that future guests will always have the opportunity to request a nice and quiet room facing the inner courtyard.

On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for your nice comments about your experience.

Thank you again for contributing! Your response is valuable to us.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice location, just a short walk from downtown. Great staff who were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was amazing.
Best way to get from the airport is to take the SAS bus to the Radison Blu - it's just 100 meters away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holberg

Address: Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway (Formerly Rica Holberg Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#27 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Holberg hotel is located in the centre of Oslo and is within walking distance of Karl Johans Gate and Aker Brygge as well as shops and museums. A hearty breakfast is served in our restaurant which also serves lunch and dinner on request. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 70 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Holberg Oslo
Hotel Rica Holberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Holberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.