We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet room in a quiet city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rica Holberg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rica Holberg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rica Holberg Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 88 hotels in Oslo
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A quiet room in a quiet city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights during the middle of the week. Not the largest room in the world nor the biggest bathroom but very comfortable, warm and quiet - the very thick door helps. I was offered a room at the front or the quieter back. In fact the only sounds you can hear from the front are the trams which aren't that noisy and the room had a small balcony. Breakfast is good with a good range of cold and hot food. Very welcoming and helpful front-desk staff. Good location for the city centre and close to a park. Walking distance to the Opera House railway station which serves the airport. It is, though, quicker to use the stairs than the lift!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Rica Holberg Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of Rica Holberg Hotel and I am extremely happy that you had a nice stay with us. A good night sleep and a good start of the day with our "Good Morning" breakfast buffet.

I will forward your comments to my colleagues at the front desk, positive feedback is important for us to achieve even better.

We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Oslo and we are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    117
    50
    9
    8
See reviews for
11
52
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean, comfortable room. On the small side, but adequate and functional room with a comfortable bed. Almost half the price of the hotel where others in my group were staying and I think I had just as good a night's rest! The breakfast is kind of reminiscent of a school cafeteria - not very charming - but the food was good. Short work or bus/tram ride from main train station. When you arrive you will first see the sister hostel - full of students - and then go around the corner to the hotel. Have recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Rica Holberg Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your great review of our property Rica Holberg Hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

The restaurant team strives to serve a breakfast of superb quality. "Good Morning" is the name of Rica Hotels' exciting focus on breakfast.

Our breakfast gives you energy for the rest of the day and includes freshly squeezed juice with exciting ingredients, nutritious cereals, our own fresh bread, and our popular hot smoked salmon with cocoa and chili. And yes, you are allowed to eat eggs and bacon too!

Looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

...is difficult, but the Rica Holberg is a good start. A comfortable mid-range hotel a few minutes walk from the centre of Oslo (or the tram stops right outside) with incredibly helpful staff and a great breakfast included in the rate.

Room Tip: Note that single rooms really are! i.e. you get a small room and a single bed (quite usual for Oslo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Rica Holberg Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review of our property Rica Holberg Hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will forward your comments to my colleagues as we all do appreciate feedback from our guests.

For you next visit to Oslo I would recommend you to upgrade to a double or a superior double if you would like more space.

Looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Comfortable hotel, large room luckily without carpet. Small bathroom but warm and well working.
Breakfast nice lika at all Rica hotels, but a lot of irritation from slow working elevator ( there is only one). Also the staff are using this to a large extend, you may wait for minutes for it.
Stayed 3 days, my keycard stopped working twice, reception staff blaming my mobile !
Never happend before.
Fix the elevator and I will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Rica Holberg Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Rica Holberg Hotel. We do appreciate your comment which is important for us to achieve even better in the future.

We are sorry that the elevator service was unstable during your visit. The problem was fixed just after your visit. We have also taken measures to make sure that staff does not use the elevator in the most busy period in the morning.

We do hope to see you again and please make sure to contact med on your nest visit to Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed her often whilst visiting Oslo over the last 5yrs or so, and never disappointed. My room was very roomy with lovely comfy bed (well two singels which i pushed together). OK there are the tram lines outside but you have to expect that living just outside the centre and i dont think at all intrusive, in any case you could always request a court side room. Friendly and accommodating staff.

Minus .. No obvious handicap access from street to lift
Price of minibar

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Rica Holberg Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for submitting your response to TripAdvisor regarding Rica Holberg Hotel. We do appreciate your nice review. Your comments certainly inspire us to do even better. We are glad to hear that you enjoy staying with us as a frequent guest.

Thank you again for contributing! Your response is very valuable to us.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I got a really nice room at the top of the hotel below the roof. However, the hotel is located in a very noisy area, because of road and tram traffic. breakfast is quite good. reasonable price. clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Rica Holberg Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for submitting your response to TripAdvisor regarding Rica Holberg Hotel. Your review is important for us in our strive to achieve better customer service.

It is correct that Rica Holberg Hotel is located in the city centre and the tram runs in the street outside the hotel. We are currently changing windows on the lower floors facing the street in order to reduce street noise. The trams stops running at night, but you can always request a room facing the quiet court side.

Thank you again for contributing! Your response is valuable to us.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very friendly staff, both at reception and bar. We could check in a bit early which is great to get rid of luggage before getting to the meeting I was attending. Room is basic but quite nice. Had an actual single room, opted for inner courtyard high up so it was nice and quiet. Bed was quite soft and comfy. Bathroom is nice and clean but a tad cramped. Wifi worked well without hassles and is included. No in-room safes. Needs a bit of paint here and there, but all in all a nice and clean hotel.

Room Tip: There's not much of a view to be had, so you might as well opt for inside courtyard rooms, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehus, General Manager at Rica Holberg Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for submitting your response to TripAdvisor regarding Rica Holberg Hotel. Your nice review inspire us to achieve even better customer service in the future.

As you describe the inner courtyard is nice and quiet, and we have just completed painting the courtyard. The free of charge Wi-Fi was upgraded a few months ago and works well after logging on with only your room number and family name.

On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for your nice comments about your experience.

Thank you again for contributing! Your response is valuable to us.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rica Holberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Holberg Hotel

Address: Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 88 hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rica Holberg Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Rica Holberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Holberg Oslo
Hotel Rica Holberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Holberg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.