We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karl Johans Gate 31, Oslo NO-0159, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Stockholm
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel with excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of days in this hotel, It was our first visit to Oslo and it was altogether a very nice experience.The location of the hotel is just perfect, few minutes walk from central station, main shopping street and tourist attractions. Because of it's location, we plan to come here each time we come to Oslo. Hotel and hotel rooms are old and in need of refurbishment. Grand cafe is lovely and romantic, but again, in need of refurbishment. Breakfast is good, but with limited selection. Staff is excellent. If you want to explore the city and enjoy what Oslo has to offer, then do stay in this hotel. If you are looking for luxury or hotel up to date, do not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear A H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you are planning to stay with us every time you are coming to Oslo.

Regarding your comments to our rooms, we are glad to tell you that renovation is an ongoing process at the Grand Hotel and this year we will upgrade around 100 rooms as well as our ventilation system.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    304
    165
    69
    38
See reviews for
117
269
81
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Grand hotel in late october. This was my second visit to Oslo. In short, was quite disappointed with the hotel and it didnt live up to expectations or for the price i was paying.

The positives:
- great location, possibly the best in oslo, right next to everything possible including the station, aker brygge, palace, shopping, theatre etc.
- very good spread of the breakfast and quite tastefully done.

The negatives:
- the rooms are extremely small. I have stayed in oslo before and trust me for half the money you could get biggeer better rooms. The interior of the room just didnt match the exterior of the hotel. It seemed like a 3-star hotel room.
- the bathroom was very basic and was a struggle to get around.
- in a place like oslo, the room was very hot, almost like a furnace. It seemed the hotel completely controls the temperature and its impossible to make the room cooler. I had to sleep with the windows open (outside temp 5 degree) as i was sweating otherwise in the room. I have never had this experience before.
- the staff was not cold but at the same time not very hospitable either. Too business like.
- the corridor leading to the rooms is a bit dark and with steps, which makes carrying the luggage a challenge.

I would not stay here again as for half the price, you could get better hotel rooms that are a mere 500 meter walk. I would rather prefer the walk than pay a high price just for the location. Oslo is not a very big city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear RMJK,
We are glad to read that you appreciated our location, in the heart of Oslo and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet served in the Grand Café.

We appreciate receiving your feedback as it helps us to continuously improve our service delivery. Regarding your comments on your room experience, we would like to inform you that renovation and maintenance is a constant process at the Grand Hotel. Certainly we are truly sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and we hope that we will have the opportunity to change your opinion and welcome you back to Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Hi, we booked here for a 2 nites stay.the plus point its a warm hotel and you don't feel cold here despite the cold weather outside.its a hotel that aged and probably needs some restoration. The breakfast here are great indeed and bathing essentials were awesome as they provides loccitaine products.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Victor1612,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and appreciated our bath amenities. The Grand Hotel has a lot of history and we are constantly renovating the hotel to give our guest the best experience during their stay in Oslo.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Old, classic, charming, iconic, central but certainly missing some of the simple amenities which would give it a luxury label. Not even bedroom slippers nor shower caps. We did ask and a shower cap was produced on one of the 5 mornings we were there.
The best part of the Grand Hotel was the breakfast spread.Generous array of breads, cereals, cold meats, salads, fruits, hot food, omelette station, pancakes or waffles (albeit cold) And juices - freshly squeezed. But breakfast is busy and you really can't take your time.
Service throughout was friendly, professional and cordial.
Rooms are not large, beds comfortable.
All in all, a good stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear palatespeak,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. At the Grand Hotel we make great effort in providing the best service experience for our guests and we are proud to read that you enjoyed your breakfast buffet in the Grand Café.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel.
Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is just amazing, next to the Parliament. We feel the history and the potential of this establishment.
But ... The first room I got was completely outdated. Indeed, some of the rooms should really be renovated, especially in such a hotel. You can have rooms decorated like in the 80s only if it is a strong design statement, which is obviously not the case here.
The second night, I moved to another room with a view on the parliament and then, it was really closer to what one can expect. Renovation is OK without being exceptional. Apparently, there is a lack of strategy in the image that the hotel should give.
The breakfast is very good, the global level of service is OK.
It could be an amazing hotel (location, history, architecture, ...) but it still needs to improve and find its identity.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear FredK1412,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. Rest assured that we do take your comments seriously and hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Classic luxury hotel. We were not happy with the room we got initially (regular room booked online) , so we paid for the upgrade to the better room with central street view which was more satisfactory.
Rooms are rather small. Looks like some rooms ( the classic ones) need to be renovated.
Breakfast ( included with the room rate) was quite extensive.Polite and attentive staff.
Excellent location with walking distance to almost anywhere.
Overal good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for recenty renovated room or room in the main wing facing Karl Johans Gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Nathalie V,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and your nice words which we have passed on to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel.
Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Renowned as one of Oslo's best hotels, the location is certainly first class, about mid-way between the main railway station and the Royal Palace, and maybe 50 metres from the Parliament building.
The foyer area is very small; seating for perhaps 15 people, and not much width, due to the split levels within the hotel. My room was very dark and the only small window looked out to a concrete space between the front and back wings of the building.
Amenities are fairly basic. A plus was ample wardrobe and hanging space, but no in-room iron. The bathroom had a dual vanity (not much use for 1), and a shower over a rather deep bath. Certainly there is potential for a nasty fall.
The hotel does have free Wi-Fi, which worked well. A few tips. First, if you have heavy luggage, you would be better not staying on the 5th floor, as it is reached by stairs from the 4th. Secondly, If you plan on checking out before 7am, check that the front desk can print a bill; I discovered the hotel does a night cashier audit. Finally, avoid if you can taking a taxi to the airport, unless you are on company account, or have 3 or 4 going. One way price is around US$250. Better option is to take the airport train into the main station and cab from there, or walk if you are travelling light.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are probably best, but they can be noisy at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear greenstOat24,

Thank you very much for your constructive review and the positive comments regarding our location. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Karl Johans Gate 31, Oslo NO-0159, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.