We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel in the centre of Oslo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karl Johans Gate 31, Oslo NO-0159, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel in the centre of Oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a popular Hotel on the main street in Oslo. It has a great location for exploring the city if you are interested in sightseeing, shopping and/or nightlife. It is situated real close to the royal castle and also to the norwegian Parliament (Stortinget). You are within walking distance to the main railwaystation, theatres, the opera and also the seafront area with lots of nice restaurants. The Hotel offers a great breakfast and also has a fancy restaurant if you like such things. I enjoyed my stay very much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your stay at the Grand Hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back to the Grand in the near future.

Best regards,
Kari Hasselknippe - Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    333
    180
    75
    42
See reviews for
130
287
86
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice property, centrally located close to the National Art Gallery and Theatre and the central train station. Good-sized room, very grand looking. Awesome breakfast included, a shoeshine service would be nice or some other information on available services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again!

Best regards,
Kari Hasselknippe - Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

It is an old fashioned hotel without a lot of gadgets that we have usually nowadays. Finally we will understand that we need only a few things to feel good in a hotel. Grand Hotel Oslo is an excellent example. Ibsen came here every day to have a glass of wine....Hotel staff in uniforms open the entry door to you and then the reception is really wonderful. Huge interior and really nice chancelier. You have the classical stairs to the elevators,in the left and the reception desk to the right. Individual desks, it is not so often.... The service and the staff is ultra sympathic and competent. My room was really small, I couldn't even watch TV from the bed because of the angle, but I hadn't even use the TV. I was at the 7th floor but with a strong and always present wifi, so I listend my favourite radio channels....The Breakfast is one of the best I ever had in Europe, I mean the quality and not the quantity of the food. The only negative remark goes with the morning coffee....Fruits and vegetables are simply fresh and delicious. The situation of the hotel is very good, pubs and shops and metro is very close, the Parliament building is almost the next building, the castle is about 15 minutes. The hotel is not the cheapest one, as from 220 euro/ night , but we are is the most expensive city in the world....

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us. We really appreciate that you took the time to express your views in such a detailed way and are delighted to read that especially the breakfast buffet as well as the staff met your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back to the Grand in the near future.

Best regards,
Kari Hasselknippe - Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It would have taken us about 20 minutes walk to get home, but it was time for a mini break close to home!

Checking in at about 4 pm, I asked the receptionist if they could please bring a ice bucket to our room, as I had brought with me a bottle of cava to surprice my boyfriend. It took about 4-5 minutes, and it was delivered to my room.

And WHAT a room :) We had the pleasure of staying in a room with a view! French balcony, facing Oslo's main street Karl Johan, and the Parliament building. A fantastic chandelier in the ceiling, wardrobes on the bed, comfortable wooden floor and a lovely, large double bed!

Breakfast is served at the well knowned Grand Cafe. A great ambiance, huge selection of fresh fruit, teas, sweets and fish/meat. Also, the have their own chef in the restaurant, making omelettes at your request. Waiters with attention to details, and always around serving coffee. I love this place :)

Thank you! We will be back :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. What a truly great idea to have a mini break close to home. Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel for this occasion and please do come and visit us again. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Kari Hasselknippe - Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragør, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

About time I reccomend this 'old' hotel in Oslo.
From the time you check in to the time you leave the style and feeling of Grand Hotel will stay with you - and linger some time afterwards.
The restaurant serves great seasonal food and is well worth the money.
Grand Hotel is located directly at Karl Johan and most of the major sites in Oslo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review, we really appreciate this. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel for many more great memories in the future.

Best regards,
Kari Hasselknippe - Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

As one of the 'grand' northern hotels it is one of the best looking buildings in Oslo's town centre. We stayed for one night and you could tell the staff were very proud to be there and they made us feel very special. We had a large deluxe room which had apparently been renovated. I've seen worse but i've also seen a lot better. I wouldn't have liked to have seen a non-renovated room! Our room looked out on an interior central courtyard and in retrospect I would have preferred a front facing room looking over the square and would ask for such a room next time - even if it wasn't as big a room. We both thought the buffet breakfast which was included inthe room price was excellent, as was the Grand Cafe in general. The bar at the top which we visited when we returned from dinner, well let's just say I'm glad it was dark so we couldn't see things too clearly! Overall then this isn't a boutique trendy hotel. But what it is, is a very good, old hotel with classic old-fashioned service and a relaxed and self important atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the square, not a rom that simply overlooks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your insightful comments about your stay at the Grand Hotel.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and especially appreciated our service and the service level of our staff as well as the Grand Café.

Please inform us next time you book your stay with us so we know that you prefer a room facing to the front and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good overall but not exceptional. I asked for a renovated room which was fine, although the location of various light switches was not obvious. Breakfast choice was too northern European (a lot of processed meat and fish - too heavy for my taste). I booked for a massage, the experience was average, the therapist was eager to finish.

I am told that this is the best hotel in Oslo though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Allow us to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your experience with us.

The negative yet constructive feedback about our breakfast was of course also studied, and again we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Please be assured that we put in a lot of effort to create the current breakfast menu items. The goal was to create bigger variety combining northern and international standards. The general response of our guests so far is very positive. We will however make some adjustments to the menu in the near future. Please rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration during this process, as well as your comments regarding our Artesia Spa.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Sonja Noack - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Karl Johans Gate 31, Oslo NO-0159, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.