We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0134, Norway (Sentrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #29 of 88 hotels in Oslo
Surrey, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Radisson Blu Oslo is very centrally located, a small work from the central train station and bus station. It's a large business hotel with decent sixed room and a great view from (high) the upper floors.

Room Tip: for great view go for one of the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    558
    287
    83
    35
See reviews for
147
375
90
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Oslo in May 2014. We stayed at the Radisson Blue Plaza hotel for 2 nights and picked this property due to the amenities listed and proximity to the central station. The hotel is directly next to the central station, which makes entering and exiting the city easy. They offer overnight valet parking for around 340KR. Our room was clean however the wifi was painfully slow. I am not sure if they were having issues with the wifi, but it was reminiscent of the speed of dial up. Another negative point was that both our safe and the ice machine on our floor were broken. On the positive side, the breakfast buffet had plenty of options, the rooms were clean, bathroom large and staff friendly and helpful. I probably would not pick this hotel again if I were to be in Oslo again because the speed of the wifi was a deal breaker for me. I had to work while I was staying at the property and it was next to impossible. However, if wifi is not a concern, and you want to be close to central station, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Probably one of the worst hotels I have stayed at for the price payed. did not receive the room I asked for (Double) - Received twin room. Fitness center terrible, pool terrible, Bathroom light didnt work properly (kept flickering) No air con in Fitness center. The only thing going for the place was the breakfast facilities as they were superb! Internet did not work properly - I was there on business and I am glad i didnt pay for this out of my own pocket - I will be ensuring all colleagues are notified of this hotel and to stay clear. There must be much better in Oslo

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloPlaza, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Jason D

Thank you for taking time posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very sad to hear that the stay did not meet your expectations, this is not the way we want our guests to experience the hotel. We will off course use this feedback for improvement. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at e-mail: gm.plaza.oslo@radissonblu.com.
Hope we will get the opportunity to see you here again – Welcome back!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Again, chose this hotel because of proximity to train station, right next door but only 10 minutes into the main City Centre. This is a large, glass building with over 30 floors giving stunning views across Oslo and out to sea!! We were on the 11th floor and had a good view of the sun setting.

We had a standard room. This was sufficient. Bed in the middle of the room allowing you to look out across the city to the mountains in the distance and watch the sun go down. Lovely air-conditioning to keep you cool, tastefully decorated in neutral colours. And very clean.

The bathroom was spacious and clean and well stocked up. Shower and bath.

The best part of the stay though was sitting in the bar on the 34th floor, drinking and watching the sun go down. Simply stunning and even if you don't eat there, which we didn't, you must visit the bar. You will not be disappointed.

Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and plenty of seating for such a large hotel.

Check in and check-out efficient with plenty of staff on hand. I know one reviewer said the area was was seedy. The area may seem seedy but you are soon in the main part of Oslo. And you need your room key to use the lifts so this prevents anyone not staying at the hotel from accessing the rooms. So perfectly safe enough and plenty of people around

There is a pool, sauna etc but we did not visit this.

This was a great experience and we would definitely stay here again. If in Oslo, I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you afford a suite, do, they are on the higher floors with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

One of Plaza's merits is that it is close to the Opera. It is also close to the Railway station, thus saving the traveler both time and cab fare. We spent two nights, from Friday to Sunday. Arriving we had the feeling that the desk was manned by substitutes; service was slow, laborious and somewhat hesitant. The room seemed okay though, reasonably spacious. It’s worth noting that they have reorganized the space, putting the bed in the middle of the room rather than in the corner or against the wall, as has been the regular set-up in the old SAS Radisson hotels for years. Next day, at breakfast the stay became less pleasant; the restaurant was more than full and the guests were more or less treated as cattle by a less than attentive staff. The "scrambled eggs" have clearly become more yellow, but they are still made from egg powder and taste nothing at all, which means, I guess, that they have just added some more color to the mixture. They place was basically noisy, stressful and not a place to linger (which is most likely the idea). We had noticed that one of the bed lamps was not working and asked the receptionist to have it fixed as well as to provide us with an extra towel to stand on getting out of the tub. Upon returning late in the afternoon the lamp still wasn't working and, worse, the room had not been done. Wanting to refresh ourselves, we found out that the bottle opener was missing. Furthermore, we were out of tissue paper. Calling the reception, they promised that everything was to be fixed by the evening. Coming back, the bed was done, but the lamp was still dead, there was no tissue paper, and we never got the extra towel. Breakfast next morning, Sunday, was even worse. And checking out, we were never asked whether we were satisfied or not, so I had to draw the shortcomings to the attention of the receptionist, who, gracefully, deducted two beers from the tab. I have had no experience with the hotel during the week, but if this is representative for how it is weekends, stay away, find something else if you're a couple going away for the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloPlaza, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear KOE21

Thank you for taking time posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very sad to hear that the stay did not meet your expectations, this is not the way we want our guests to experience the hotel. We will off course use this feedback for improvement. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at e-mail: gm.plaza.oslo@radissonblu.com.
Hope we will get the opportunity to see you here again – Welcome back!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel, 16 years apart ! I really enjoyed my first stay and this stay was no different. We got a room on one of the higher floors with a great view over Oslo including the Holmenkollen. The room had a funky layout with the bed in the centre of the room which I liked. The buffet breakfast was included in the price. Considering Oslo is the most expensive city in the world it allowed you to fill up for the day by eating as much as you wanted and save some money by skipping lunch ! There is also a bar on the 34th floor but it was closed for the Easter weekend. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a nice upper floor room with a view of downtown Oslo. Unfortunately, though convenient to the train station, the area was rather seedy with lots of beggars and people hanging around. The hotel had excellent amenities, with a lap pool and sauna which my wife used. The breakfast buffet was another great amenity, with a variety of foods and very attentive service. The concierge was also very knowledgeable and helpful. We bought a 7-day pass, which we used on trains, trams, subways, and buses.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0134, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#17 Business Hotel in Oslo
#17 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.