We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, all great experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0134, Norway (Sentrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Centrally located, all great experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week, the rooms were nice, no dresser drawers in a suite, but we somehow managed to stay organized. The staff is very accomodating, Everyone speaks English. After a week we found the menu hotel menu very limited, We enjoyed going up to the top floor but they only change the menu every other week, the chef did try to vary for us. They stored our luggage for a week while we had to travel. Since we were there for business many times we were in the room working, Room service works with you. Overall great experience. In general OSLO is EXPENSIVE. The staff is most appreciative of tips,locals dont tip. 10% is awesome.

Room Tip: Business suites do not have dresser draws.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    771
    379
    114
    43
See reviews for
203
507
124
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed at this hotel recently and loved it! Really good location, right in the city centre - especially very convenient for the central station. Nice, comfortable room with good amenities. Great views of the city from the higher floors! Very nice breakfast.

All in all, a great hotel at a pretty good price!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

great central location by the train station, professional staff, the executive rooms are smart and comfortable, the views from the bar at the top are great, food variety could be improved...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights for work, it was great. Hotel is really close to Oslo Central Station so was easy to get here from the airport train station (and normal train station at that).

Room was clean, service was excellent and bed was comfortable.

I had a late check out organised till 6pm and it was done with no fuss, and they didn't charge me as they weren't full.

Overally very happy with with my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Not much charm and all, but the staff is professional, the location is good, the rooms are clean and quite new, the view from the rooms on the higher floors is great, and the breakfast buffet has a large selection of just about everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Location: If you are flying into Oslo Airport, the location can't be beaten. You just need to hop on an express train and 20 minutes later you will be in Olso Central Station, which is just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel (accessed by a walkway/bridge).
Check in: Short wait but it's a busy hotel. Receptionist was a trainee and wasn't particularly helpful. We would have liked some information about where/when breakfast is served, dining options and other hotel services.
Concierge: Helpful. I got some good information about local tours.
Room: For the first time ever in a hotel, we changed room. We didn't want to but the chair in our room had a horrid looking (don't want to say what) stain on it. We complained to reception, expecting a new chair but they said there was no-one available to change it and we need to change rooms! Doesn't make much sense to me and I wasn't thrilled at having to repack/unpack again. There are no safes in rooms - quite surprised by that.
Bathroom: Clean, nice toiletries and good water pressure. Please note that you need to be mobile to get in the (over bath) shower as the bath is massive (deep) and I'm quite short and found it tricky (particularly when it's slippery). Sign on the wall says that anti-slip mats are available from housekeeping but that's not much use when you've already got in the shower!
Minibar: Didn't seem to be stocked completely and looks like someone had kicked in the door - hope they don't think we did it!
Room Service: Always on time and generally pretty good. It's expensive, but that's standard for Norway/Oslo I guess. Breakfast room service was ok, bread was a little stale on one day though. Evening meals ok. I had a children's meal one night as I wasn't that hungry. It was ok but I can honestly say that it was the saltiest meal I have ever eaten! Didn't eat any meals in the restaurant so can't comment on that.
Lift: It's definitely worth riding the outside lift to the top of the hotel - pretty scary though!
Check out: We requested and were granted a late check out (5pm), which I thought was excellent and made a huge difference to our trip.
Overall: clean (apart from yucky stains on chair), modern and convenient. Free wifi throughout the hotel is a bonus (English hotels, pay attention!). Great for business and shopping/sightseeing.

Room Tip: Showers over the massive/deep baths can be problematic for some people - check if they have shower o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I have mixed feelings towards the Plaza. Yes, it's right next to the train station and relatively close to the main street of Karl Johans Gata, but over the weekends the hotel felt isolated. Even accessing the hotel from the street is challenging--it took four trips before I figured out how to avoid running across the street due to limited pedestrian access. Further, the residential neighborhood next to the hotel is sketchy, particularly in the evenings. Even considering I was in Oslo, I decided to head back to the tourist areas rather than my intent to grab dinner at night in the working class area of town.

Compared to other reviewers, I thought the breakfast buffet was extensive and the staff was terrific. I loved having the selection of homemade fruit juice.

The front desk always had a line and I found the front desk staff to be somewhat cold in attitude and not helpful for restaurant suggestions. Further, my key cards were really fidgety in the elevator and room (I did not have them next to anything electronic) and I had to go downstairs to replace one card, which didn't help any. Also, the concierge was absent during most of my visit.

All that being said, I love Oslo and Norway and encourage everyone who can afford it to visit and support this great city and the generally wonderful people. I am still in disbelief that my visit came just weeks before the tragedy.

Room Tip: There are great view rooms of the city from high floors. Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0134, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Rezidor, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.