We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable place for an unbelievable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau Apartments to your Saves list
Chateau Apartments
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Nedre Gate 8, Oslo 0551, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place for an unbelievable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Came on a one week visit to Oslo to see our daughter who is studying here. The apartment was amazingly huge - probably bigger than any apartment i've ever stayed in, spotless and beautiful. Given the high prices in Oslo, it was no big deal to cook and eat in the apartment and the dining table was more than enough for 4/5 (there were only 2 of us). The beds were huge and comfortable and there was good hot water. Only downside was that it was very very warm, but nothing that an open window could not cure.

The apartment is only a couple of tram stops away from the city centre and is located near some good supermarkets and a posh expensive amrket - but take your pick.

Across the road is a jazz club called Blah which had the most fantastic jazz musicians with a brilliant feel to the place. Beer was expensive in the club, but then... you are in Oslo. Can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: All rooms have good sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
44
40
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Only downside is a that it is little outside the city-center (but not very far within an average walking distance) and location looks a bit shabby. But please do not let that discourage you from choosing it as a place to stay. Cheap as hell by Scandinavian standards. Spacious apartments (in fact it was bigger and better than my present flat!), clean and hygienic, strong wi-fi signal, comfortable beds, decent place to cook light food, refrigerator provided, plenty of budget eateries around, very friendly and communicative staff. Pity that I stayed there for only one night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I arrived at the Chateau Apartment with a sinking feeling after reading previous reviews on Trip Adviser. It was a dark and Wet night and they are a little hard to find as they are at the end of a side Street and name Board is not very big . On entering I was met by a very nice Young man who had all my details to hand and shortly after with my Code Card in hand I made my way to the 5th Floor and my apartment. I had reserved a Studio Apartment but was given a 2 Bedroomed apartment . It was very clean and well furnished with a huge Flat Screen TV I could not have been more delighted. The Staff I met another member of staff the next day - a young lady this time who again was most helpful and sorted out the TV for me as I had been pressing all the wrong buttons. I most certainly would reccomend these apartments to any of my friends
and I cannot understand how they had managed to clock up so many bad reviews previously. Lets hope I was at the start of a new beginning and for the price you cannot get better as they onceyou have sorted out the trams and the busses are very Central to everywhere and locally there are some very nice restaurants and bars. I give 10 out of 10 to the Chataue Apartments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we stayed at room 306,for 5 days on September 2012.We were 6 people.The apartment was beautiful,huge,clean and sunny.It had 3 bedrooms,not big,but with the necesary space.Each one had a 2 person bed,2 cabines and a wardrobe,white decoration and a large window.The salon was good with a black sofa,dinertable,a huge tv and a well orginised kitchen.The 2 bathrooms were huge and clean.
The problems:First the beds didnt have sheets!!We asked to bring to us repeatedly but the reception just ignored us.So we were sleeping without sheets(the beds were smelling clean although!).Second,the towels werent enough.We asked for more,but guess what...!They ignored us!And third,there was nothing to sweap the bathroom after the bath.
The view was nothing special but the hotel is 10 minutes on foot from the center.I would come again to this hotel,but they must do something with their receptionist.

ps:We left an olive oil and a shampoo for the next residents!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Myself and friends from the UK travelled to Oslo for a reunion and looked everywhere for somewhere to stay, from hostels to hotels. The chateau apartments came up as we were looking for somewhere that could accommodate 8 people (one was joining us from another part of Norway). This apartment cost us 2400 Krone which worked out at about £32 each for two nights. The hostels were about £30 per night so this place was a bargain.

When we arrived checking in was so easy, although be careful as the office is only open for short periods of time and if you miss the office you won't be able to check in. We couldn't believe the size of the apartment. One large dining area, kitchen and living room, on the same floor was a big twin/double room and a large wet room. On the second floor was another twin/double room and then up a couple of stairs was another room which had two more sets of twin/double beds. We also had access to the roof which on one night we stood and watched fireworks.
There is a lift to all floors as well as the stairs and they do have quiet time after 10pm. I read other reviews and have to agree in the sense that my only criticism is that one bathroom was not enough for 8 people, one more toilet would have been useful and there was definitely enough room in the apartment for one.
It is about a 25 minute walk to the port where you can get a boat trip about the fjords or walk up the roof of the opera house.

Bedding is provided and one towel per guest is on your bed when you arrive.

All in all it was probably one of the best value for money apartments i have ever found and should i return to Oslo i would book here without hesitation.

Room Tip: We did here that the smaller apartments are small, but if you are a large group or maybe 5+ book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FInland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent couple of nights here coming and returning and both times rooms were very satisfactory with huge high ceiling rooms and very spacious living room/kitchen. Finding a parking space was pain both times since hotel doesn't have any parking except couple of places in front of hotel. When asked about parking advice is "good luck" with smile. But actually best tactics seems to be to drive around couple of blocks or even better to walk since many of the nearby roads are narrow one direction. There are very few free places but plenty of paid and even a parking hall which takes hefty 30€ for parking one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apartments

Address: Nedre Gate 8, Oslo 0551, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Chateau Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.