We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum - National Gallery

National Museum - National Gallery
Universitetsgaten 13 (city centre), Oslo, Norway
47 22 20 04 04
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 212 attractions in Oslo
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent a few hours at the National Museum, and really enjoyed it. The collection was well thought through - and featured both European masters and Scandinavian art. I appreciated learning about Norwegian artists that I knew little about. The Munch collection was excellent (not sure if it's permanent). Also, it was incredibly quiet and not busy at all - which made it even more delightful. I wish there was an audio tour, but still enjoyed walking through on my own.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    229
    42
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A quick stop is worth the while....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Went in with low expectations really. But found that we liked the way the gallery was laid out. Also, some really cool stuff from Munch, the local artist. We did it in about 1.5 hours and felt we saw it all.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“certainly well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Judging by the ads and the gallery shop, Munch's The Scream is the big attraction, but there's lot more besides, including French Impressionism and post-Impressionism and some very good Norwegian C19 landscapes (about which we were sadly ignorant, but appreciated being able to see); the gallery is not massive, so can de done in a couple of hours; the ambience is pleasant; quite good - but pricey - shot. Only problem is that the signposting of the rooms mixes up numbers and letters, so it takes some working out. Certainly well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love the Munch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We enjoyed our visit during the Munch special exhibit. This museum is the perfect size. Manageable in a few hours...you see everything and don't get art fatigue!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Sunday free entrance for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The national museum is really worth a visit! It has all major pictures of well known artists from Scandinavia including the Scream and the Madonna from Munch.

There are lockers on the ground floor and you have to lock away bags etc. It is a 10Kr coin you will need (deposit that you get back).

Every sunday the entrance is free of charge (given there is no special exhibition).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum - National Gallery also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to National Museum - National Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum - National Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Museum - National Gallery to your Saves list