We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frogner House - Skovveien 8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Frogner House - Skovveien 8 to your Saves list
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a beautiful apartment! When we walked in, our first thought was “We could easily spend a week here.” The apartment is very tastefully decorated. The kitchen with sitting area is large and well equiped (even a dishwasher). The bedroom is even larger and also had a sofa bed (as we were travelling as a family with 2 children). The apartment had 2 bathrooms.
We slept on the 2nd floor and did not have any street noise. Reception was very efficient and friendly.

The apartment is within 15 mins walking of Aker Brygge (so plenty of restaurants nearby). Free wifi available.

I rarely rate places as excellent but this one clearly is excellent. I would definitely consider staying here again in future and would recommend this place to friends. Great value for money (not only to Norwegian standards).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dearest Belgian family, We are so so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would have liked to stay longer. We have limited amount of the apartments with two bathrooms however you got the pleasure to experience this. However this being said all the apartments are well equipped and have the same standard with dishwasher etc. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Frogner House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    58
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
40
39
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great location, well-appointed comfortable accommodation. Our room would have benefited from from a little more storage space for clothes but we were here only for a few days so we coped.
Good kitchenette - if you're there for a week well worth self-catering to significantly cut down the cost of dining out (and there are plenty of local supermarkets to source), but for three days it's a difficult call to make.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Kitbasher,
Thank you kindly for your valuable review. We certainly hope to welcome you back next summer!
Frogner House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are a family and stayed 2 nigths in Oslo. The location was very convinient. The room was big enough for the entire family, with a kitchen to prepare the breakfast. Some restaurants in the vicinity are quite good. The hotel is calm and clean, it has been a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Gamult,
Thank you kindly for your review, it is very valuable to us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Frogner House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sh
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

first of all they messed up my reservation, I booked for 2 weeks they made for only 1 night! and the booking process is terrible i had to send several emails to confirm it still they made it wrong.i made a mistake by smoking in the room which i admit is wrong, but i don't think that gave them right to punish me by paying 1500kr ! they could have warned me! on my 3rd day after i paid the 1500kr, my card was not functioning I went to the front desk and was told specificlly that my card doesn't work because i didn't pay the 1500kr! on my last day, they made a mistake about my paying, they totally messed up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Quadrato,
Thank you kindly for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had this experience staying with us. I remember the situation and aware that a lot of this had to do with miscommunication. Regarding the smoking fee this is a very strict policy and we intend to continue to follow this. Regarding no smoking warnings these are displayed in the apartments, in the information leaflet, well as communicated by the receptionist on check in. I am sorry to hear this was not sufficient. We intend to continue to improve and provide the best possible service for all our guest and welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The apartment was very clean, spacious with a well equipped kitchen and a comfortable bed. The location on an active pleasant neighborhood close to the city center is ideal for tourism or a business visit. Noise from the street is easily blocked by sound proof windows. The staff was quite helpful, helping us to change apartments when a window shade malfunctioned in June during the long sunny days of early Summer. Parking is available on the street by paying a machine 9AM to 5 PM and free outside those hours. A Kiwi food store on Frognersveien around the corner is reasonably well stocked. Tram and buses run nearby. The Nationalsteateret Tbane stop is 15 minutes walking from the apartment building.

Room Tip: Apartments on top floors have small skylight type windows. They are OK but lower floors may have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Travellers from Massachusetts,
Thank you kindly for the review we do appreciate it. Great details and tips for other travellers which is great.
Hope to see you next time you come to visit our beautiful country.
Have a great summer!
Kind Regards
Frogner House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple with two children (1.5 and 3.5 years old). We are just back from our first ever visit to Oslo for a three night break.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Oscarsgate.

The apartment had one room downstairs with kitchen and dining area, and a bathroom off this.

There was one bedroom upstairs with a mezzanine sitting room adjacent which had a pull out sofa bed. I think that all of the apartments have a different layout though so this is just an example!

The apartment was very well equipped and in very good condition. We were left plenty of towels and basic kitchen needs (dishwasher tablet, washing up liquid etc).

There was a lift so great for buggy and suitcases.

The few minor negatives were that there was a steep staircase "a zig zag stairs" as per our 3 year old, which was ok for us but would be challenging for anyone nervous about strange stairs or afraid of ladders; also the obvious place for the kids to sleep was the mezzanine and there was no stairgate - we improvised and always supervised the children but if you have young children this is not ideal; there was very little headroom in most of the bedroom which again was ok for us but would be a problem if you did not like bending your back; also there was no wine opener!

But apart from this the aoartment was great! The location was fantastic. Right next to lovely shops and cafes, supermarkets, tram bus and taxi services right there. Short walk to city centre and harbour.

We would highly recommend the apartment and would definately stay there if we return to Oslo.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Dublin family,

thank you kindly for the kind review. It is correct that all our apartments have different layout and therefore we can suggest to request an apartment without stairs if this is preferred. We can not guarantee all request however we certainly o our best to meet them.
We do hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Oslo.
have a great summer!
kind Regards
Frogner House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having recently retuned from a stay at Frogner House Skovveien 8, we would definitely recommend this location to others if you want a private, self contained apartment in a nice area of Oslo. The location at Skovveien 8 is very convenient for public transport (trams and buses stop directly outside) and the train station is only a 5 minute walk away - we got the 'flytoget' train from the Airport to National Theatre Train Station, which was very convenient.
We had a studio business room, which was small, one room plus bathroom, but had all that you would need - small oven/microwave, small hob, fridge (no freezer) and plenty of crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils.
A Laundry area is located on each floor containing free washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board.
Despite being located on a busy road junction - the room we had was very quiet, just occasional traffic noise, which lessened during night time, and infact, we heard NO noise at all from other rooms and fellow residents, which was great.
Only two real gripes .... the air conditioning/heating is centrally controlled, which means you cannot turn it off. This is a real nuisance when the room is too hot, and also if you want to sleep early, as the noise of the air conditioning unit is quite loud. It seems to be turned off by the hotel around 11pm, but back on around 7:30am.
Also - they should invest in some better lighting! the room was so dark, we had to drag the chairs over to the window to be able to read, and even then, it was a struggle.
Food shopping can be done at either of the two Seven-Eleven Shops or the Kiwi Mini-Prix - all three shops are a one/two minute walk away.
Local area is nice for cafes and restaurants, the Jewel of India does a great curry.
Easy, pleasant walk to all the major Oslo attractions and sights.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor - level 5 - to minimise traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Maurice,

Thank you kindly for the review we appreciate it . I am also sure your fellow travellers appreciate all the detailed information provided.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here. Have a great summer!
Frogner House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frogner House - Skovveien 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner House - Skovveien 8

Address: Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#25 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogner House - Skovveien 8 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner House offers you fully furnished serviced apartments imbued with more than 100 years' worth of homey atmosphere in the very heart of the most up-market neighbourhood in Oslo, Frogner.We offer Free WIFI, free laundry facilities, breakfast delivery to your door, and the comfort and freedom you appreciate in your own home.Your home when you are not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Frogner House - Skovveien 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogner House Hotel Oslo
Frogner Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frogner House - Skovveien 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.