We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum)

Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum)
Bygning 21 | Festning, Oslo 0015 , Norway
47 23 09 32 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 212 attractions in Oslo
Type: History Museums, Military Museums
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were late for the museum but got ample time to walk around the area of the castle. Even though it was drizzling we really enjoyed the walk and the great view of the harbour and later ,the night lights along the harbour. The guards on duty were really sweet and went out of the way to help us ,which is really appreciated by us. It was a well spent couple of hours for us.would do it again if I had the time!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    95
    25
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting but not a must visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A stroll in the castle area where the museum is located is a nice way to spend a few hours if the weather is nice. The museum is rather small and not particularly impressive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“More to it than meets the eye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

There's a great deal more inside this museum than you might imagine. It is an excellent guide to the struggles and privations of the Norwegian people during the occupation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paxnrth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brave Teachers and Pastors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nazi brutality not withstanding, we were impressed with the universal non-cooperation of Norwegian teachers and pastors. They didn't use guns and bombs like the more active resistance did, but they were just as brave and refused to teach and preach Nazi heresies.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Depends on your interests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Even though I had visited this many years ago, I am a WWII aficionado and this museum was a must when we were in Oslo on a cruise. Norway had an active resistance. I can remember reading a book about the attack on the heavy water when I was growing up. Anyway, I really enjoyed the museum. If you're not into WWII or Norway's resistance movement, you might be better off roaming around this beautiful city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum) to your Saves list