We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum)
Bygning 21 | Festning, Oslo 0015 , Norway
47 23 09 32 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 171 Attractions in Oslo
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The museum had a lot of great information and most of it translated to English. We were impressed by the will of the Norwegian people to stand up to the Nazis. I didn't realize the extent of their resistance and suffering.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    133
    37
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I really enjoyed this museum. The recorded speeches from the king and from Quisling were a nice extra touch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very well organized museum showing the sequence of events leading up to , during and just after the occupation of Norway by the Nazi's. I found the lower level exhibits to be the best. Plan to spend a hour or so to go thru the museum

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Deceptive from the outside but chock a block with interesting items and photos when you get in. Quite awesome.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good information and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I visited the museum on a Sunday morning in winter, so it was quite empty. Of course I don't know what the museum is like during peak tourist seasons, but I quite enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and the ability to soak in all the information without being bothered by other visitors.
. . . And there was definitely a lot of information. I enjoy learning about military history, and the museum definitely taught me a great deal about Norway's role during WWII, and the stories of those involved with the resistance. The museum itself is located in Akershus Fortress, so there are beautiful surrounding buildings complimented by a lovely view of the city.
I wouldn't take children here, however. Although the museum is not gruesome, the displays and presentation of the information are not designed for children, and I can imagine children getting quite board quite quickly. One father brought his daughter (8-10 years old) along, and they practically zoomed through the entire museum.

If you're interested in military/civilian history, or you simply want to learn more about Norway's role during the war, definitely visit the museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norway's Resistance Museum (Norges Hjemmefront Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.