We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viking ships museum visit a must while in Scandinavia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vikingskipshuset

Vikingskipshuset
Huk Aveny 35, Oslo 0287, Norway
47 2213 5280
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$32*
and up
Oslo Shore Excursion: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off...
Ranked #14 of 171 Attractions in Oslo
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Viking ships museum visit a must while in Scandinavia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

There are only a couple viking ships, but they and the few side exhibits are quite interesting to look at. The various higher vantage points are excellent since the ships are so large and difficult to see from the ground. This museum is definitely worth a visit if Oslo'll be your only Scandinavian stop to learn about the vikings, but otherwise there isn't very much to see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    665
    242
    47
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small but one of a kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Considering the history and preservation of 3 Viking ships discovered over a hundred years ago (ships were buried in 800s) it's worth a stop. You won't see this anywhere else. The museum is small since not a whole lot has withstood the test of time. You can take the ferry or Bus No. 30 so not too difficult to reach. I did wish I had my cell phone and headphones. They have free audio accompaniment available via their own wireless connection which might have made this trip more enlightening. My husband, a history buff, enjoyed this more then me.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very interesting and informative with plenty of displays and legends. With the bustops right outside the entrance, the museum is easy to get to and from. One point though; I am disabled, walking with a stick. I needed the loo but they were all downstairs. A member of staff went off to organise the lift for me but after waiting nearly 15 minutes, I made my own way down with the help of my daughter.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
310 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“A SMALL MUSEUM TO LEARN ABOUT VICKINGS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

As we visited Scandinavia for the first time ,it was a must for us to learn about Vickings, their ships ,other objects they used , and also some sceletons.
The best way, was to visit Viking Ship Museum in Oslo.
It is a small museum but very interesting. Outside, where the parking place is, you can find the Museum's kiosk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A really interesting museum.

I really enjoyed my visit here. A highlight of Oslo for me!

The ships are fascinating and the stories behind them give a real insight into Viking culture.

So glad I visited!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vikingskipshuset also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Vikingskipshuset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vikingskipshuset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.