We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munch Museum

Munch Museum
Jarlsborgveien 14, Oslo 0578, Norway
2349 3500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Visit Oslo Pass
Ranked #27 of 171 Attractions in Oslo
Type: Art Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Edvard Munch bequeathed a large portion of his work to the city before his death in 1940, and this museum is the result. It contains books, paintings, drawings, scuptures and letters.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We walked to the Munch Museum through the botanical gardens and enjoyed it thoroughly. Do take the time to watch the video of his life before you start the visit to the museum. It is downstairs and takes about 45 minutes. It made the museum come alive. The exhibit was great and was very worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    156
    96
    25
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gran, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The "Munch 150" exhibition really was good and very interesting. The location of the museum is wonderful on a sunny summer day, and I think it really is a pity they are going to move it. The paintings of Munch suit to hang close together, so the place was very good for this exhibition. The cafe is very nice on a fine day, with its big outdoor departure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Oslo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very interesting exhibition at the Munch Museum. Apart from gorgeous paintings like "The Scream" and the "Madonna", and self-portraits at different stages of his life, I also enjoyed reading some comments made by the artist, showing that he certainly had a sense of humor (if you read Norwegian, don't miss the article about Munch's turkeys on the first board on the left at the entrance of the exhibition).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“fall in love-with Munch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

i lended last week in Oslo apparently, just to be sure, that this could be the man of my life. yes i am a bit late....as now celebrating 150 years to his birth.charming Edvard Munch -as the norwegian pronounce his name.
in Munch museum,his 220 rare masterpieces on canvas, are so inviting.the issues that are also the story of my life...:broken heart,loneliness,fears, but in such a vivid and playfull paintings.whaoooo!
i had a great private guide ,so i could enjoy and understand much more the background of his melancholic expressions.death was his ally since he was a child,nor getting married, not having offsprings.with great hobby of alcoholism, he suffered much.so he devoted himself to art and became a collector of his own.more then 13,000 paintings were found, in many houses that he made his warehouses.
i loved his "mid summer night", as this is an issue for the scandinavian people .they celebrate with bonfires in beaches, and dance the longest day of the year-23 of june. in some of those festivitiys on canvas, Munch plant himself. always sitiing bending, lack of life and passion, tortured soul.but learning from my guide, the symbols of his unique language, helped me to identify his screams. or in norwegian: SKRIK.
this famous painting, that was stolen a decade ago,is also there...in one of the corners, without any fanfare or sign ,saying this is the original. how can i summarize such a short visit to a lost love? in promising myself a "reunion" .maybe in fall, maybe elsewhere. only till october.RUN to SEE!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good exhibition, very poor guiding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's worth a visit. We came to have a free guide in English. This was a person that probably knows a lot, most likely has studied (too) many years, but had very poor ability to make this knowledge interesing. And as we were more than 20, it was very hard to hear what was said. We gev up before halfway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munch Museum also viewed

 

Been to Munch Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munch Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.