We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babes to old folks in stone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vigeland Museum

Vigeland Museum
Nobels gate 32, Oslo 0268, Norway
23 49 37 00
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights
Ranked #1 of 364 things to do in Oslo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vigeland Park is the world's largest sculpture park made by a single artist, and is one of Norway's most popular tourist attractions. The park is open to visitors all year round.The unique sculpture park is Gustav Vigeland's lifework with more than 200 sculptures in bronze, granite and wrought iron. Vigeland was also in charge of the design and architectural layout of the park. The Vigeland Park was mainly completed between 1939 and 1949. Most of the sculptures are placed in five units along an 850 meter long axis: The Main gate, the Bridge with the Children's playground, the Fountain, the Monolith plateau and the Wheel of Life.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Babes to old folks in stone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We toured this sculpture garden with a group and a guide who gave us a bit of background on the sculptor and some of the sculptures. It was beautifully laid out so we never felt crowded, even on a June day in tourist season. The human figures looked so lifelike yet concrete-looking. Our guide wondered about his use of so many children, since Vigeland did not have a relationship with his own. The trees representing various stages of life were interesting, but the most intriguing part for me was the series of poses on different levels all around the large fountain. One could spend quite a bit of time there with no time constraints.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,332
    1,019
    177
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A walk in the park surrounded by a concentration of sculptures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A lovely location to spend an hour or two. Have lunch on one of the seats. We took the 13 tram from the Ibsen museum (buy tickets at any 7-11 - day tickets last 24 hours and are better value if you do at least 3 trips). It was hot on the day so we didn't spend too long admiring each sculpture. Oslo is peppered with sculptures and this park has a large number in a small area, along with a phallic symbol. Of course, it's free.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“i love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

dont miss it especually in the summer. it can be quaiet but it can be alsko full of music and sport.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
376 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Top Norway attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Don't go with a bus tour like we did. We were rushed through there in 30 minutes and had inadequate time to view and reflect on most sculptures.
It is a world famous sculpture park containing significant works by on man.
Located in a lovely outdoor garden park with no facilities inside.
This is a place to go and enjoy and reflect not be run through with a fast talking bus tour guide.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Unique vision”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Vigeland certainly had a distinctive personal style, and this park is a showcase for his sculpture.

I am reminded somewhat of Gaudi in Barcelona, but Vigeland specialized in sculptures of basically human figures. I say basically because many of them are very stylized: twisted and fused in odd ways, blended with animals, apparently juggling babies etc. (The latter definitely a bit weird)!: I have to suspect that he was psychologically... well, somewhat out of the norm.

Not classical sculpture, and some of it perhaps a bit disturbing on certain levels.
But at least the park is free, so you can see as much or little as you want to!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vigeland Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vigeland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vigeland Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.