We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Bistro

Albert Bistro
Stranden 3, Oslo 0250, Norway
+47 21 02 36 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 971 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: When the French crave a simple and honest meal, a neighborhood bistro is nearly always their destination. In a lively yet intimate environment, locals and visitors dine on simple French dishes. At Albert Bistro we love this style of food and gives our own interpretation of classic dishes.With a great view of Akershus Fortress and the marina, Albert Bistro is a casual but stylish neighborhood cafe with tempting French classics on the menu.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After trying quite a few joints in Oslo this evening I happen to find Albert bistro on a pedestrian area along the sea and the harbour. The service impressed me at first while we were ordering. Then I looked around and enjoyed the atmosphere: old cooking silverware and cutlery on the walls, nicely set tables and clean toilets on the second floor. When the food came, it was delicous. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Kundeansvarlig at Albert Bistro, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor - we appreciate all your comments, and hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Albert Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    42
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Price quality a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Oslo is just an expensive city for food. We found this one also via tripadvisor and the other comments are rather accurate. We had a very nice frizesalad and fish of the day. Very good fast service. Nice location in the harbor. 286k per person without wine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Kundeansvarlig at Albert Bistro, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We appreciate that you take the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and are glad to you enjoyed dining at Albert Bistro.

Kind regards
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Albert Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Busy but pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Despite the huge numbers of tourists and locals strolling on the Akers Brygg, Albert Bistro offers a carefully thought out menu and preparers absolutely delicious meals. It is frequented also by locals who come to enjoy their meal in the harbour. Wonderful place for a busy - or more relaxed - lunch. Solo travellers will enjoy watching the endless stream of people on the dock.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Kundeansvarlig at Albert Bistro, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the to write your review on TripAdvisor. We like to think we are doing a good job, but it always gives us a little boost when our guests take time to give us their opinions. Thank you for the kind words!

Best regards
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Albert Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Albert is a busy bistro on the seaside pedestrian street/dock. Excellent food served in a great place to stop and enjoy sun and the flow of people passing by. Fresh fish, and the catch of the day will not disappoint you. Friendly, good service, great place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Albert Bistro, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We appreciate that you take the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere here at Albert Bistro.

Kind regards
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Albert Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a find! The food was excellent, and despite being in Aker Brygge (that I though would be an expensive area), the cost was very reasonable by Oslo standards -- we spent as much there as in other restaurants that were less good and in less a picturesque location. We went for dinner; I ordered some creamed spinach and the seared tuna, which was perfect, and my husband had a cherry tomato salad and the pork neck, which is a somewhat fatty cut of meat but was well prepared and very tender. All together it came to $90 for 2 people (including a couple of beers but no dessert), which is comparable to what we’d expect to spend in California, while most other places where we ate seemed to be either less good or about 30% more expensive. The only complaint was that our waiter was rather distracted – he’d forget to bring things, disappear for long periods, forget to check in with us (we probably would have ordered another beer if he had come by a bit before we finished our meal), and it took us ages to get the bill. But we were not in a hurry. Later in the week as we were trying new places we kept joking that perhaps we should just go back to Albert Bistro where we know the food is good and it won’t break the bank.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Albert Bistro, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor - we appreciate all your comments, and hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Albert Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert Bistro also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Albert Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.