We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nighthawk Diner

The Nighthawk Diner
Seilduksgata 15B, Oslo 553, Norway
47 96 62 73 27
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #317 of 993 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic diner at Grünerlokka with hamburgers, steaks, pancakes, pies, milkshakes and other American classics on the menu. Good selection of quality beers and cocktails. Breakfast served weekdays from 7 am and on weekends from 10 am. Children's menu.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Have had lunch here a few times and the food is excellent. Good burgers or good lunch plates. There is often a line outside to be seated and a waiting period in the bar. The size of the meal is pretty good and not to expensive either. Quite a few beers and good deserts. This is one of those places that qualify as an american diner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    91
    43
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Cool venue, mediocre food and lousy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Nighthawk (TND) is located in Seilduksgaten 15 in one of Oslo's nicest neighbourhoods, Grünerløkka.

There are many great restaurants that deliver good quality in the area. TND is owned (as far as I know) by of the most active players who have been almost creating the borough.

We arrive TND around eight o'clock on a Tuesday. The restaurant is close to full but no queuing at the door.

We are left to wait for 15 minutes before someone takes the time to see if we would like a table. We are the only one at the door. They staff pass us every 30 seconds, but no welcome or smiles that indicate that they have seen us queuing. We actually feel a bit embarrassed. But it’s a birthday dinner for my friend and he really want to check this restaurant out…

When one (English spoken) waiter arrives we do not feel welcomed. But he informs us that its 30 minute wait for a table. He kind of say goodbye to us, before I suggest we can sit in the bar; that we can see is available. He is almost surprised that this is an option.

We have to find the seats ourselves in the bar.

Its very comfortable seats and the atmosphere are very nice with Americana on the speakers. The bartender don’t say hello, and after 15 minute wait he offer us the bar menus. Its so lousy service that we laugh and it feels almost surrealistic.

We order out drinks, and wait another 15 while he makes the «welcome drinks»…

At the same time as the drinks are ready, the waiter says that the table is ready. I inform the lady that we can have the drinks at the table, which she confirms.

We find the table. And (believe it or not) it takes another 10 minutes to take the drinks to our table from the bar. We laugh… Truth to be told that was a perfect Dry Martini!

I ask for extra olives. I refresh the waiter’s memory after 10 new minutes before the extra olives arrive. Phew!

This is a very cool venue, I give ten points for cold water automatically on arrival, and a classic Wurlitzer adorn the room.

The food arrives after 20 minute.

The burger is small but tastes good. The Coleslaw is a bit too sour compared to the American classic taste, and there is overdose of batter around the onion rings, way to fatty with oil. The blue cheese side order was marvellous and the fries perfect.

The staff looks tired and bored. They show that all the time; witch is the opposite you would experience in a classic American dinner in the US.

In summary, this is a fantastic facility, with a beautiful design. Nice music, but the food we ate was average and service close to miserable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Favorite place for American food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is my absolute favorite place to go for some real, fatty, Amercian food. They offer a wide range of the typical diner style foods, like pancakes, milkshakes, spare ribs and burgers.

The restaurant is usually full, so be sure to make reservations. And this also means that you might have to wait a little to get served.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“American All Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have been to Nighthawk Diner quite often and I really do enjoy myself every single time. But watch out for the young blond girl acting as a waitress, she was really rude! But that's easy to forget 'cause the rest of the staff do make up for her.
The food is good - I don't think I've had a better burger in Norway - and so are their cocktails. They have a wide range of various beers and the meat they serve comes from a farm around that has been producing organic meat since 1994.
The interior certainly sets the place for enjoying a good time at an overall American diner.
I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best milkshakes in Oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The classic american diner is a nice gimmick in a place like Oslo where everyone has seen so many of them in american movies that they want to visit one.

The place is a bit hipstery where they try to have organic and locally sourced foods for everything. they also over do it a bit when it comes to the side salads where they make them fancier than they should be. Rocket salad does not belong on a burger and that's that.

They have breakfast all day and are very good at their eggs. they also have one of the best milkshakes you can get in Oslo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nighthawk Diner also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to The Nighthawk Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nighthawk Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.