We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good surprise in Oslo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruffino Ristorante Italiano

Ruffino Ristorante Italiano
Arbinsgate 1 | Entry From Henrik Ibsensgate, Oslo 0253, Norway
+47 22 55 32 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 971 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ruffino is an authentic Italian restaurant that smells, tastes and feels Italian. The menu includes a large selection of antipasti, home-made pasta dishes, seafood and meat dishes, as well as dessert favourites like fondente, tiramisu and gelato. All dishes on Ruffino's menu are available as children's portions for half price. The restaurant is located in Henrik Ibsens gate, close to the Royal Palace and Karl Johans gate.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good surprise in Oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went to Ruffino restaurant in Oslo and it was an excellent choice. The restaurant was near our hotel and we decided to go walking even without having booked before. The restaurant was full but we got a table. This is a family restaurant and the service is very attentive. The food was very good and I recommend the Tiramisu as dessert. It is made of really Italian "mascarpone chesse", very light and tasteful. Nice place, nice food, nice service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    144
    29
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Customer Service is Possible in Norway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had spent the weekend north of Oslo and decided to spend a Sunday in Oslo before we flew out. We had visited Oslo two years ago so it wasn't our first time in the city. We wanted some Italian food and after a little searching landed on Ruffino Ristorante. We went around 5 pm, shortly after they opened. As we walked up to the restaurant we realized we were probably under-dressed for the restaurant but we wanted Italian and didn't have a change of clothes so we thought what the heck. Our server, Alessandro, was hands down the best server I've had in Norway period. Norway is not known for good customer service and after spending a couple of months in the country I can attest to their general lack of customer service.

Not only was he friendly and attentive to us but he knew his stuff. After we accidentally ordered 2 wrong drinks (totally our fault) due to our lack of attention to detail on the menu. Alessandro recognized we made a genuine mistake and immediately took the drinks, make a recommendation and got the new drinks no questions asked. Alcohol is very expensive in Norway so this was an extremely kind gesture on his part. We also found out everyone who works there is Italian which I think helps with their knowledge of the menu and drink, we were a big fan of that.

The food was seriously delicious and the portion sizes were perfect feeling satisfied without being full. Most of their pasta is made from scratch with the exception of their spaghetti pasta. Overall, for us just coming in off the street, the service and food was incredible. It was one of the best restaurant experiences we've had in Norway. Kudos to Alessandro and Ruffino Ristorante for an excellent Italian food experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

While on business in Oslo for 5 days, I visited 3 of the top 10 (in Trip Advisor) restaurants and Ruffino was by far my favorite. It’s a family owned business, so there is great attention to detail, from the food to the service to the ambience. I came solo, which at times can be uncomfortable especially at an upscale restaurant but the owner and his son went out of their way to make me feel welcome. The truffle ravioli was decadent and the chocolate fondant was to die for, and I can’t wait to visit Ruffino again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not too many words this time, but a nice little restaurant with average italian food.
My partner ordered some antipasti which was ok, but the lasagne i ordered was disappointingly dull. My carpaccio starter was also average and needs to be upgraded. We agreed that we might come back another time, but not to eat italian but a glass of wine and a salad. It is a nice location and the service however was very good...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice talian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have been here 2 times, for make a short comment..... it's a very good restaurant, from the food to the service and everyting else. ill be back as soon i come to norway!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruffino Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Ruffino Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruffino Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.