We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel the service second to none, fantastic breakfasts complete full range of hot and cold, from smoothies to full English or should I say Norwegian. The surprise is you also have a meal on seventh floor from 6 till 9 at no extra charge also fantastic. We also had a boutique style room with a balcony again on the seventh floor.

Room Tip: The seventh floor has balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    247
    71
    27
    12
See reviews for
69
378
71
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This place is great. Welcoming and homely. The staff can't do enough for you. The superior rooms are very spacious and pleasant - lovely details like the luminous sheep jumping a gate on the wall - something you only see at night...
Excellent breakfasts and dinners in the grill. Try the smoothie shots for a start to your day!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic hotel, excellent service, they knew my name from the moment I walked in and always addressed me by my name. Very friendly staff and extremely professional. Hotel is an older hotel, this can be seen, but the service absolutely outstanding!
Excellent value, included breakfast buffet and light dinner, an absolute delight.
Definitely recommending!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have previously stayed at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret as a frequent guest over an extended period of time. My visit this time was a single-night-visit due to business travel. The staff makes me feel like an important guest and the service/rooms are excellent. Thanks to Kaja for upgrading my room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Pendler853,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion about your last stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and your kind words about our hotel. It’s great to see that we managed to meet your expectations, after not staying here for a while. I will personally make sure to share your comments with Kaja. We would love to see you again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly prior to your next arrival, in case you should have any inquiries. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the outside we were a bit dubious about our choice of hotel but appearances can be deceptive. This hotel is great - once we got used to the very subdued lighting everywhere. We were made to feel very welcome -free wifi - although no tea and coffee making facilities in the room there is a free coffee machine in the reception - coffee and cake is served from 3pm and an evening meal from 6pm all included in the room rate, along with a fantastic breakfast Buffett - which is very reasonable for Norway - room spotlessly clean and bed extremely comfortable - there was a building site outside our window however we were not disturbed by any noise and it his did not marr our stay. The location is convenient to the centre of Oslo and the ferry port and railway station - overall very happy with our stay - would recommend

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear llarma,

Thank you for making Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret your home during your visit to Oslo and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We strive for an exceptional experience for each and every one of our guests, each time they choose to stay with us. It's fulfilling for all of us to see that we could make your trip memorable. We would love to see you again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly prior to your next arrival, in case you should have any inquiries. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very friendly and service-minded staff. A very full breakfast with plenty to choose from. Quiet room with a nice bed and bathroom. We did not try the evening meal or the workout room. Several restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear matrosen2013,

I am so excited to hear your experience at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret was wonderful. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. It was an honor having you as our guest and we are very pleased to read that you found what you expected and a bit more.
I hope you will have the time to try our evening meal the next time you are staying with us. Please feel free to contact me directly if you should have any inquiries prior to your next arrival. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Modern and quiet Hotel in the city. Fantastic breakfast, nice evening meal included. The Hotel has a nice terrace on the roof. Coffee and tea availabel for free at all times in the reception area. There are several nice places to go dining just outside the Hotel. Just some few steps to the main street Karl Johan and city center. Really good Hotel. Clean, quiet, safe and good staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Beate V,

Thank you so much for your comprehensive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret. I hope you enjoyed the beautiful city of Oslo as much as you enjoyed our hotel. It was absolutely our pleasure to have you with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.