We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sacrificed functionlity for style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Sacrificed functionlity for style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived 10 pm on a Friday night and waited 12 mintues for someone to appear at the front desk to check us in. Just what we needed after a long flight. Our room was on the much fabled ''7th floor''. Clean and spacious and split over two floors it had most ammenities and was awash with all the trendy colouring of late including soft reds and chocolate browns. Our bug bear was the lighting. Poorly placed and not strong enough it meant my wife had to do her make up downstairs in the living area of the room. Elsewhere we were constantly opening curtains to try and let light into the rooms in order to be able to see and find things. We were lucky in that respect as the weather was birght and sun filled. There was no concierge on either morning we were there and the recpetionist had to double up on roles. On both mornings the information she gave was incorrect. The buffet breakfast however was a sight to behold. We agreed it being probably the best we have experienced in any hotel. The choice of food was suptumous and beautifully presented. 10/10 for that part of the experience. However, again, the bugbear at breakfast ? Twofold. 1. The lighting. I get the desire for mood lighting and the trendy Nordic effect of candles. Perhaps at dinner but breakfast ? It doesn't work. Well it didnt work for us. 2. Service. Plenty of tables with dirty plates and glasses. Poorly staffed it would seem. Location is on the fringes of the grittier part of town but only a 5 min walk to the Central Train station which was a plus.

Room Tip: 7 floor south facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to hear from our guests. We always want to hear the good with the bad in our constant strive to improve ourselves.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    220
    65
    25
    12
See reviews for
59
333
66
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a very well located hotel, a few blocks from Oslo's central station.
Although situated in a midly seedy street, its entrance is actually in a lovely covered area immediately in front of the Folketeateret, and surrounded by whimsical stores and interesting restaurants.
Why it's worth staying there: like me if this is your first time in Oslo, you must have heard that it is expensive. This hotel offers a fantastic breakfast with everything you might want, a snack in the afternoon and a perfectly good light dinner. That in itself is a great bargain.
There is a lovely terrace on the 8th floor right above the 7th floor lounge where dinner is held: in September, definitely lovely to sit outside. There are throws/blankets for cooler nights.
The staff is almost uniformly friendly and welcoming.
I loved my room. I may have had an unusual experience given other reviewers' reports of small rooms: I thought mine was spacious. The bed was outstandingly comfortable. It is true that Oslo can get rowdy at night on the weekends so bring ear plugs.
Am definitely staying there the next time we go to Oslo.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to hear from our guests.
It makes us extremely happy to read about your experience of our hotel when visiting us. Thank you for your review and your recommendations to other travellers.

Welcome back any time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel. Upon arrival, Amanda at the reception greeted me by my name the moment when I walked in (wow!). She was really helpful letting me check in despite I arrived really early in the morning. The room was great and spacious, bathroom comes with heated floor, ah and not to mention the breakfast! I really like their salmon and freshly brewed coffee in particular. The hotel location is great too, 5~10 mins walk to the Oslo Central Station and at there you can get the Oslo pass then start travelling around with trams, bus, metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to hear from our guests.
I am happy you had such a great stay at our hotel and that Amanda made such an impact. Thank you for your great review and for the recommendations for other readers.

Welcome back any time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Location is great, right in the centre of the city. Easy five minute walk from the train station, ten to fifteen minutes to the harbour, and trams and buses stop just a minute or so along the road from the hotel. There are a couple of 7-11s very nearby too.

The room itself is a reasonable size and finished to a high standard. Very comfy bed, though two pillows each would be better rather than one smallish square pillow and a decorative cushion each.

Room was very very warm when we arrived but we set the air-con ten degrees lower and opened the window and that made it much better.

It is noisy on weekend nights (we were in a room on the sixth floor which faced into the internal atrium) so ear-plugs might be a good idea.

Decent curtains, no light bleeding in to wake you up.

Downsides of the room: only a small open hanging space for clothes with five hangers so you have to keep everything else in your suitcase. And there wasn't actually anywhere for the suitcase to be kept other than on the floor.

Mini-bar was empty - apparently this is deliberate, perhaps as people can partake of three meals a day in the hotel if they like – but was actually handy for keeping our bottles of water in.

The bathroom is very nice, though a tad dark and the lighting can be quite harsh in there. Also, there is no shelf for putting toiletries on, though I improvised and moved the little footstool into the far end of the shower and used that - not sure that's good for the footstool in the long term!
For the price you pay you'd expect some decent toiletries to be provided too but it's just the usual all-purpose hair and body shampoo from a wall dispenser here.

The rest of the hotel is very nicely designed. Not sure about the huge Kate Moss statue outside the hotel entrance but at least it's a conversation piece! It's inside a covered arcade so not as easily visible from the street as I expected it to be when we were first trying to find the place.

There's free tea and coffee in the foyer at all times, which was very good. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic. We were there at a weekend and always managed to get somewhere to sit as the breakfast room is so big. The breakfast on offer is actually quite mind-blowing in terms of variety. I'd advise everyone to make sure to try the brownies and the mango and banana smoothie - both great.

The afternoon snack was a bit disappointing the day we were there. Quite spongey waffles and jam and that's about it.

The evening meal we had was a decent bit of a beef with potatoes and veg - much better than I expected for something complementary.

The staff were friendly and helpful when asked questions.

Free WiFi was good, but the password changes every day so don't forget to pick up the new code from reception each day.

I would definitely stay here again - though would ask for a room further away from the nightclub if possible. Other than that, a great base from which to explore Oslo.

Room Tip: Unless you bring ear-plugs, ask to be away from the nearby night-club - noisy til the early hours on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review here on TripAdvisor. We always love to hear from our guest and we want to know how your experience was when visiting our hotel.
So thank you for giving us and the users of this site a thorough review of our hotel with all the recommendations and tips.

Welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for a weekend break.
The room was great and very tastefully decorated. We stayed in a suite on the 7th floor and it was set over 2 floors itself. Heated bathroom floorand good ameneties.

The location is great in the same building as the Folktheatret. It's also very close to central Oslo.

Breakfast was very good and there was a free light evening meal service which was good as well. After a good lunch this filled the gap perfectly before retiring for the evening.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite. They are tastefully themed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the suite you stayed in. We have several suites available for booking for those who want some extra space and comfort during their stay in Oslo.

Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The room was decent. The cleaning could be improved. Heated bathroom floor was nice though, but toiletries were very limited.

We booked the room rate that include evening meal. The meal was mediocre. Beers were available for purchase. Given the room rate, I personally think food quality could be improved and including free beer should not be a stretch. As most reviewers said, the breakfast was incredible!

The proximity to the train station and bus terminal is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review here on TripAdvisor. We always love to hear from our guest and we want to know how your experience was when visiting our hotel.

I am happy to know you enjoyed our breakfast when staying with us.
When you book a night at our hotel we offer all our guests a light evening meal but due to Norwegian law we are not allowed to offer free or complimentary alcohol to guests as a part of our light evening meal or in any other way.
I am sorry you felt our light evening meal were not what you expected.
For all the readers I would like to specify that what we have to offer our guest is not a dinner but a very good light evening meal that includes one hot dish, one hot soup and several salads and bread with many types of toppings. The hot dishes varies from every day of the week.

Welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for three nights. Convenient to the train station and public transportation. Spectacular breakfast, very good evening supper. Our only complaint (and a minor one) is that the room was not well lit. Staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all a very positive experience, and I would stay here any time I visit Oslo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the courtyard. We were on the seventh floor, which included a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your review of your recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. It really means a lot to us to hear from our guests.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that especially that you enjoyed our light evening meal that we offer all our guests.

Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.