We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Somerset NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tremendous Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Everyone by now knows of the high cost of visiting Norway, $50 pizzas, etc. But this hotel makes it possible to live well on a something that approaches a budget level. Yes, the rooms are relatively expensive, but they are fairly new (I think they were done in 2009). More to the point, for the room cost you get a magnificent feast for breakfast and a lighter feast for supper. The breakfast spread includes everything you can imagine, and is located in what is a restaurant connected to the hotel on the ground floor. Four kinds of eggs - scrambled, hard-boiled, soft-boiled, fried, not to mention omlettes to order. Two kinds of salmon, a half-dozen cheeses, fruit, juices, etc. You get the point.

The evening supper usually consists of one hot dish, for example, poached Norwegian salmon and potatoes with gravy. In addition, there are cheeses and sausage and a wonderful Norwegian rye bread, and some other cold items. Wine or beer might cost another $15 or so, but that is optional. The meal is served on the seventh floor in the "Lounge," and that lounge expands up to an upper level covered deck with several tables, and an indoor area on that level as well. When we were there, this supper kingdom was presided over by a young woman by the name of Edom, whose energy and friendliness was infectious. She spoke not only very good English, but also Norwegian, Eritrean, Amharic and Arabic. She is a jewel, and if you get a chance, engage her in conversation when she's not in motion, and you will be impressed. She is an outstanding human asset to this hotel.

The rest of the staff, especially the front desk is also excellent. We had several opportunities to use their expertise, especially Erik Lars, and the experience was always good. Their knowledge of English was excellent, since we speak no Norwegian. We arrived about 11:00 AM, thinking we would have to park our baggage and wait until much later for our room. In fact, a room was found for us, on the third floor, overlooking the street in front of the hotel. Not a prime location, we thought, but as it turned out, it was excellent. The room was clean and modern. It was comfortable. The lack of drawer space was the only drawback. This building was built in the 1930's, and became the Oslo opera house in the 1950's until about 2004. The stairs reminded us a lot of the stairs at the Metropolitan Opera in New York City - wide and carpeted in red.

This hotel is a tremendous value in an expensive city, and I wouldn't hesitate in a moment to return to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Karl v,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review here on TripAdvisor. We always love to hear from our guest and we want to know how your experience was when visiting our hotel.
We are so delighted to read about your experience when visiting our hotel and thank you for all the good advices for the users of this site.

Welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    221
    65
    25
    12
See reviews for
59
337
66
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from a 3-week Nordic trip. Having stayed in 7 different hotels (including design hotel) in 7 different cities (4 countries), I must say that Clarion Folketeateret serves the best breakfast! We simply loved the cheese spread, the different types of smoked salmon, the mini smoothies and many more... The hotel also serves afternoon tea & light meals in the evening. We stayed in the Standard Double room for 2 nights and are happy with the clean room and comfy bed. It is conveniently located near the Central Station and within walking distance to Karl Johans Gate. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Oslo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor with everyone.
When staying at this many hotels during your trip it makes me and all my colleagues prod when you say that we had the best breakfast, since this is something we always work on to be best at.
Thank you for your recommendations.

Welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great hotel - very close to central station and can walk everywhere! The breakfast was great with pancakes, hot choices and lovely fresh fruit. The evening meal made an expensive city good value. Unfortunately we never made it back for the afternoon tea but it sounded lovely. Amanda in reception is an asset to the hotel - she offered great service and made us feel at home. Room was clean and beds were very comfy. If travelling with just hand luggage do be aware there's just multi-purpose hair and body wash provided rather than little bottles of shampoo/conditioner but this is clearly better for the environment!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I will be sure to give Amanda your excellent feedback, thank you. I am happy you had an enjoyable stay with us, and i hope next time you will get a chance to enjoy the afternoon in the hotel as well. But I understand the need to explore the city off course.

Welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here our first 2 nights in Norway, took the train from Gardermoen Airport, and the hotel is a short walk from the Central Station. We had a standard room which faced the courtyard. The room was small, but nicely decorated and comfortable with a sofa, chair and a desk, great wood floors and large windows. It was our first experience with showers that are not enclosed, and it was not a problem at all. There is a half door which contains the water quite well and a small wooden stool in the shower that was convenient to put toiletries on if you do not like the soap/shampoo from the dispenser. Everything was spotlessly clean, as it was everywhere we stayed in Norway. Free wifi in the rooms was also nice and worked well. We did not have any problems with air conditioning or noise. It was a very convenient location to many of the attractions in Oslo as well as to public transportation.

The breakfast buffet was the best we had in the 16 days we stayed in Norway! The breakfast room was very pleasant with candles everywhere, and the food was excellent. The evening meal was also a nice bonus and not really "light" as there were several entrees, soup, breads and desserts.

But the reception staff was truly the icing on the cake. They could not have been more pleasant. We are especially grateful to Sarah, who insisted that we had to see the Opera House, as it was one of her favorite places. It is indeed magnificent and unique, as well as fun to walk around, and we were pleased that her persistence convinced us to see it.

We booked this hotel because of the excellent reviews it received and we were even more impressed than we anticipated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your review of your recent stay at our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
It makes all of us extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I´ll be sure to give Sarah your positive feedbacks.

Welcome back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

great place, bed amazing, very friendly service got a room with a beautiful view of the city, the food delicious, close to the city center, nicely furnished room and bathroom, luxurious, beautiful hotel, I was very impressed and will certainly be back here once more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Oslo and for taking the time to give us your review here on TripAdvisor.

Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is my second time to stay at this hotel this year and I was not disappointed. Since I was staying for 18 nights, I wanted a hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, great food (breakfast, afternoon snack and light dinner included!), with easy access to public transportation and within easy walking distance to Karl Johans Gate - my expectations were exceeded. And to top it off, all these at a reasonable price. I know where I would be staying next time I am in Oslo. You should check this hotel if you are planning to visit Oslo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Oslo and for taking the time to give us your review here on TripAdvisor.
I am very happy to read you had a great stay on your long stay with us. I hope to see you again.

Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel experience was as good as it gets. It was not expensive by Oslo standards, and it included breakfast and dinner. In Oslo those, alone, could add up to the price of the hotel and the food was excellent. The breakfasts were up to typical European standards and the dinners were as well. Both were buffet style and had an infinite variety. The hotel is within a short walking distance from the main Oslo train station which connects easily to the airport. It is also a short walk to the main pedestrian avenue through the city with shops, restaurants and pubs. Coupled with the Oslo Pass, the location is perfect. The rooms are not large, but they are efficiently laid out and very, very clean.

The hotel personnel are very friendly and helpful. We dealt mostly with a handlebar mustachioed Swedish fellow who could not have been more friendly and helpful. Many rooms have a view of the harbor and the views will only get better as a park being constructed is completed. The street the hotel is located on is not attractive, but not littered, dirty or unsafe. It appears that many of the buildings are scheduled for rehab. All in all we felt that ambiance enhanced the Norwegian experience for us. If we return to Norway we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If possible, request the 8th floor. Some of the rooms have a balcony that is quite a nice place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars Erik S, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Reading your review it may look like you have stayed at our sister hotel Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion since not all of the details you are describing match our location.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay at their hotel, since they have a beautiful hotel. I hope next time you will try out our hotel. We are located in Storgata 21-23 a couple of minutes north of the Central Station.

Welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Nordic Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.