We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value on the most expensive city on the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Save Saved
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 88 hotels in Oslo
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value on the most expensive city on the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a great find, thanks to all the previous reviewers. As nearly everyone says the front of house staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the choice at breakfast is almost overwhelming!

I travelled with a friend and when I booked the room I specifically made a request for twin beds. When we went to the room we were presented with a double bed. The lady on the front desk was very helpful and managed to find a superior room (the last one) for an additional charge for the each of the nights we stayed, apparently unlike most hotels the doubles are unable to be split into twins. I have left a comment with the site that I booked the room saying that this should be made much clearer when booking a double room.

The complimentary evening meal was much better than I had expected and we ended up eating there most evenings, this made our whole stay in Oslo much more reasonable. The lounge area which is above the eating area is a lovely space, it's rare to stay in a hotel where there is a lounge area where you feel like you want to stay, so it was a shame that you had to leave by 22:00.

Finally, if I had to have a small grumble it would be about the room service, I thought the beds were made up to a very poor standard during our stay. However I could only give this hotel 5 stars, for someone who travels regularly to Norway and knows what an expensive country it is, this really was a fantastic find, and great value for money.When I am next on Oslo I will return and I sincerely hope the standards will be made.

Tussen takk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We say tusen takk back to you for this fantastic review. We apologize for your experience with the poor standard of the room - this is not acceptable and your comments have been forwarded to the Housekeeping Manager who will take action.

Hope to see you at the hotel again shortly!

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    180
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
48
257
59
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Good locattion if not driving, central to most things

If you are bringing a car, ensure you park and be prepared to pay heaps or carry your stuff around the city!!

Reception at checkin-out were great

Really good breakfast, complex at hotel has restaurants etc. around it as well if you don't want to venture out, if you do go out then everythings in the city is close

What really put us off was the decor and room, bed was comfortable, wireless in room free but climate control and toilet floors heating made room really stuffy, in the end turned most things off!!

Lighting, painting, ambience was like something out of the 70's not our cup of tea but I amsure some will think it hip, chic or cool or a combination of all!

I would give 3.5 out of 5

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time writing this review from your stay at the hotel. Your feedback is important to us in our strive to become better.

We are sorry that the decor and design of the hotel was not for you - we hope that this did not ruin to much of your visit with us. Regarding the heating regulation in your room, the reception can help regulating from a central system and we would more than like to help you with this if you would stay with us again.

We hope to see you as a guest with us again shortly,

Until then, all the best!

Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Good location for business and pleasure. Kind and helpfull staff. The rooms feels new and fresh, all in all a very cool hotel. Cool Kate Moss statue right outside. Free evening meal and free cofee all day. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel was very good in every respect, except that there were no shelves in our room, so our clothes (apart from the ones we could hang up) had to stay in our suitcases for the duration of our 3 night stay.

The breakfast was excellent and the hotel was in an excellent location, just 5-10 minutes walk from Oslo Central Station.

In the foyer, guests could help themselves to free coffee and tea whenever they liked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have stayed in another hotel in this chain in Oslo but it does not even come close to this one. The hotel is in a good location just 5 minutes walk from Oslo central station. The hotel is reached by an arcade where there are a variety of excellent restaurants. The foyer is large and has comfortable couches and tea and coffee always available. Reception staff is ver friendly. We had a superior room on the sixth floor. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet. We ate dinner in the upstairs lounge both nights of our stay. Described as light the meal was more than sufficient and quite delicious. As others have said ,the breakfast has to be seen to be believed. Huge variety of delicious food. There is something for everyone. I would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you like space. Our room was spacious and well furnished with comfortable ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here 4Aug2012 and 5Aug2012. Arrived late and hungry on 4Aug on a rainy night. Reception was extremely pleasant and I was given a sandwich. by the receptionist who had saved it for herself for later that night. She was very pleasant and welcoming and my room was very clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was the best I've ever had having stayed at 100's of hotels over the years. This was my best hotel experience overall and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice hotel with small but clean and comfortable rooms. Hotel offered a free breakfast and dinner. Staff at front desk was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is conveniently located only a few blocks from the central station. Offered free coffee and Wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.