We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brunello Pizzeria

Brunello Pizzeria
Stenersgata 10, Oslo, Norway (Sentrum)
22178880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 961 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Puerto Rico, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The mussels with wine and chili were great. The restaurant does not look very intimate at first sight, but I was pleasantly surprised. Friendly and attentive service - and best of all - the food tasted really good

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not order risotto!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was in Oslo for business and chose this restaurant as it was recommended by the concierge and it was close to my hotel. That is the only positive I can say about the place - the waiting staff were not particularly friendly or attentive.
I only ordered the main course - Risotto ai porcini. That was one of the worst rice dishes I have ever eaten in a restaurant, and at 22€ it was definitely the worst value for money. The dish is not risotto; it is long grain rice with mushrooms. Had it been flavoursome or tasty I wouldn't have minded but it was very bland as well.
I don't eat wheat so pasta or pizza was not an option. My companion had a pasta dish and it apparently was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Brunello is run by Italians - looks like a family. Waiters who speak Italian among themselves (rather than just greeting their guests with a faked "bon giorno") are usually a reliable sign that the food will be good. This was no exception. We ordered pizza and pasta - both were excellent. The desserts were also very nice and had an authentic feel.
The service was unusually good (for Oslo).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The pizzas were excellent which we got. The service was good and fast. An enjoyable place to enjoy a good meal

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food - close to hotel Thon Terminus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I like the food, but the list never changes. Probably good for those who dislike change. :) PIzza Brunello is a must-try.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunello Pizzeria also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Brunello Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunello Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.