We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for tapas in Oslo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salsa De Paris

Salsa De Paris
Huitfeldtsgate 25, Oslo 0253, Norway
+47 22 44 77 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 990 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Menu based on Spanish and french traditions. Tapas and main courses. Wide selection of tastes - someting for every palate.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A good choice for tapas in Oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We recently dined at this tapas restaurant and recommend it to other travellers. Dining in Oslo can be very expensive, but Salsa offers (for Oslo) reasonably good value. The portions are generous and the service was prompt, friendly and efficient. All of the tapas selections we ordered were tasty. We liked the restaurant a lot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good night out with colleagues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The starter is bread with aioli and tasted heavenly.

The main course was a bit disappointing, we opted for the dish that made it possible for everyone to get their food at the same time.
There was not much food for everyone, leaving room for dessert, but we ended up leavin quite stuffed.

Salsa grande 7
The meatballs were OK, a bit on the dryside and not seasoned. Two for each.

The greek salad was good. Good portion for each, and lots of feta cheese which I love. Tomatoes too mashed.

The scampi was said to be good/excellent, but I don't eat seafood so can't comment. Six for each.

Chicken spid was OK, a bit small, and very mild. One for each.

Selection of hams/cheese - Good. One strip for each.

Potatoes in aioli - Most disappointing dish. Cold potatoes in aioli just did not taste good together. The mayo flavour was too apparent, and I don't know if it was fresh either.

Mushrooms in bacon - I liked the bacon and the mushrooms were average. Not the biggest fan of mushrooms in general.


The dessert was creme brulée which was good.

It's a good deal for a large group to get together as you can easily sit at a large table and get in on the conversation with everyone. The waiters are professional, polite and nice. The food was OK, but I've had a lot of better tapas elsewhere (just not in Oslo as of yet), and there should have been more food. The atmosphere is the best part, it's very well decorated inside the cellar.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Far from the best tapas in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The tapas was OK, but there are several other places in Oslo that serves better tapas. The location was a basement cellar with an arched brick ceiling, and yet the athmosphere felt impersonal and oddly sterile. All in all a very bland experience

  • Visited November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The waiters were Spanish. The food tasted Spanish and homeade. We were served bread and aioli and water ...yes ... a rarity in Norwegian dining.The food was SO good.Full of flavor and went great with the Spanish beer! I love the dark cave like atmosphere. It really was a FANTASTIC dining experience in Norway.
Thank You Salsa,
We will be back and I will bring out of towners here!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great tapas, better than in Spain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I had a romantic tapas finner this Monday. We got a lot of tapas. Great! The dessert was average. Fantastic middle age atmosphere. Ok service. Recommended If you like to have tapas for a reasonable price in Oslo.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa De Paris also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Salsa De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salsa De Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.