We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and fast Vietnamese food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hai Cafe

Hai Cafe
Calmeyers gate 6, Oslo 0183, Norway
22 20 38 72
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 1,031 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and fast Vietnamese food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Yepp! looking for a quick and cheap meal, here's your spot. Don't expect anything fancy, its just a simple, laid back little eating spot. I always order the lamb and cashewnut ( even though there are no lambs in Vietnam) and the springrolls are nice and tasty. Theres a good chilli sauce on the table too. I guarantee this to be one of the better, fast vietnamese cuisines in town, and the prices are fair, although they could be a bit cheaper. Soup is good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    32
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This has been one of my favorite restaurant/takeaway spot for five years. Unfortunately the quality has fallen the last year. More expensive, smaller portions and less tasty food.

OK, but not on my top five takeaway list.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place has received some attention for being extremely good, but when we visited it was no more than average. There are other restaurants nearby that offer about the same. The service was friendly and quick, prices were OK, and they have beer and wine, which some of the other similar places do not have.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My regular Vietnamese place in Oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place doesn't look like much and the service is not super friendly, but they make really good vietnamese food. The prices are pretty average for a norwegian standard. The soups are really good and probably authentic. I always order the same dish. A lemongrass beef noodle salad. I think it's #17 on the menu. This place is one of my favorites in Oslo for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very happy with the quality and value of this restaurant. We will definitely be back. The fresh spring rolls with prawns were excellent and the main course was satisfying. A lot of 'cheap' curry places in Oslo have a noticeable drop in quality but such a drop is not found here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hai Cafe also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Hai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.