We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munch Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saga Hotel Oslo to your Saves list
Saga Hotel Oslo
Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
London, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Munch Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A good time to visit Oslo. Train ticket from airport valid on public transport for over an hour. Tram 19 from Nationaltheatre 10 minutes. Ingelborg on reception fantastic - room was great - quiet and easy access to centre. Breakfast is tremendous - varied and fresh. No hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, large room. I found the staff accommodating and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    93
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
134
18
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had no idea the hotel was as big as it is until we saw the other guests at breakfast. It is peaceful, in a residential neighborhood but still close enough to walk to interesting sights. The staff at the front desk recommended restaurants in the neighborhood and we were very pleased with them. Lovely breakfast array as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Small hotel with a nice atmosphere. Quiet neighbourhood close to the Vigeland park and just a short walk to the city centre. Nice rooms, except it was a big cold and we didn't find and adjustment for the temperature. Very good breakfast. Great service. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am just writing this now as our stay was in April. My husband, daughter, and I stayed for one night following an overnight cruise from Copenhagen where we were getting an early train for Norway in a Nutshell the following morning. We took a cab from the ship terminal and also took a cab to the train station the next morning mainly because our train was so early. We purchased one day Oslo passes and packed in a full day of sightseeing. The tram is just a couple minutes away and was easy and efficient. We walked over to Frogner Park and the person at the desk told us about finding "Angry Boy" (which I would not have thought to look for). We had dinner in the waterfront area and took the tram back to the hotel.

Our room was not huge, but it was very quiet and comfortable, overlooking a side street. The shower was very nice with doors that fold in making the bathroom very spacious. Loved the design. Breakfast was terrific. We only had a few minutes to eat because we had to leave so early, but everything was beautifully prepared.

It was cold and rainy when we were in Oslo, so it was very relaxing to come back to such a comfortable, quiet, and welcoming small hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and I would definitely stay there again. The entire hotel is lovely and upscale. The location is wonderful and the staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast room is so inviting and pretty. The breakfast buffet was huge, everything was very clean and the staff very friendly. The only issues we had was that the room was small, but then this is Europe, and the shower is a European style with the shower floor being flat with no edge. The water leaked out from under the shower doors and we had to use towels to keep it from spreading. We told the manager and he was going to get it fixed. This is definitely the European experience of grace and good taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After a 10 day trip in the nature of norway we were a little concerned how we were going to readjust to the city. Arriving at Saga - was just perfect. The vibe of this hotel is just on the mark. quiet yet has a great positive energy. we had a great room - it was large and clean. The staff was extremely helpful and we had free parking and wifi. We met interesting people from all over the world in the lounge.
We loved the area and were thrilled to be more with the locals. we took a ten minute walk and we were at the park of the sculptures and four minutes away from a main shopping area (of course everything in Norway is sooo expensive who wants to buy anything).
IT's a great choice to feel the real city of oslo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Saga was our last hotel in Norway and made for an excellent end to a two-week vacation. We chose the hotel based on reviews and because it promised to be quiet. Although it's distance from the city center might appear to be a liability, it's an easy walk from the National Theater and you still get the benefit of a quiet street with little traffic. It's served by the Briskeby tram line (terminating two blocks from the hotel) if you're not in the mood for a walk. The rooms are spacious, the windows of excellent quality, the beds comfortable, and they have blackout curtains (if you're traveling in the summer). The included breakfast is generous, offering much more than the standard cold cuts and jams. While there are few restaurants near the hotel, I'd recommend Bolgen & Moi (corner of Briskebyveien and Lovenskiolds Gate).

We had a late flight our of Gardemoen airport so we spent some time in the reading area of the lobby and the hotel allowed us not only to store all our bags, but to access them several times throughout the day. My only suggestion would be to suffer through the tram-to-the-train to get to the airport. Though they called in a taxi quite quickly, the hotel staff underquoted the cost of the taxi significantly (though to be fair part of that was a time adjustment for when we actually left). All in all an excellent hotel that I would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saga Hotel Oslo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.