We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than it said on the tin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Save Saved
You added Saga Hotel Oslo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 87 hotels in Oslo
Horsington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than it said on the tin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having walked just 10mins into town we appreciate how well placed the hotel was in this quiet neighbourhood - the staff are charming and always with a smile and very helpful - great breakfast and very comfortably designed rooms. We write this 6 days later having travelled across southern Norway - the Saga hotel was the best overall and the cheapest and anybody who complains about details like soap dispensers has missed the point - we would recommend the Saga in a heartbeat! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    61
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
81
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A little out of the way, but well worth the quiet!! The Saga is in a great neighborhood. Close to the Vigeland Park, and a nice walk to everything else!! Great service, wonderful room! Highly Recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've stayed for a weekend and was disappointed by the fact that the room I have reserved online was not available when I arrived. Instead of an upgrade, I got a downgrade. Good thing the reception on duty was very polite and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagahoteloslo, Front Office Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Clayton,

We are sorry for your trouble this weekend. Actually we hade a problem with the former guests who broke a bedleg and therefore we had to give you another room. We where fully booked and could not give you any other room. I trust my colleagues deleted the upgrade and gave you the price you deserve. As a small and the only independent hotel in Oslo we always do whats best for the customer, but sometimes unforseen things happend and for that we are sorry.

Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of the hotel, a one star rating is never positive and a big disappointment for us, but if you ever return we will hopefully give you the room you orderd and truly deserve.

Have a nice summer:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Based on other reviews I was expecting a lot more from this place.
First this hotel is not central especially for those arriving by train.
My room was facing a busy road and was noisy despite double glazing.
I am not a fan of the all in one soap/shampoo dispenser, especially in a hotel claiming to be 4 stars. Sorry, but it is purely a cost saving measure (despite claims of being friendly to the planet)
And then we get to the minibar....how can you charge 35KR for a tiny tin of pringles or a small bottle of water?
Sorry but I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagahoteloslo, Front Office Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear WorldTraveller1007,

Thank you for your feedback.

You are correct about a bit increasing traffic in the area just now. One street near by is redirecting it`s traffic up our street due to maintanance. This will just be a passing problem. If you compare us to the noise down town we still are at a quiet location, but still, you were affected, and we can understand your problem. Next time a hotel on the outside of the town would have been an idea if quietness is most important? A city hotel have to have some traffic, and we are lucky to be away from the worst areas.

We are situated a 15 min walk from the City Center. The Central Trainstation is about 20 min walk from the hotel. 10 min with tram #19. Take one more station with the train, to the National Theatre, then it`s just a 10 min walk or 5 min with tram nr 19. I have to be honest, beeing located near the Central Trainstation and have a quiet street outside is a bit of a problem in most towns.

Regaring the Shampoo, we had small bottles before, but the content is the same and we wanted to contribute to the enviroment as most Norwegian hotels do. We started up with dispensers in 2012. We have small bottles in the reception, you would have gotten this for free if youasked the receptionist.

Hopefully you enjoyed the things we actually used a lot of money trying to be a four star hotel. Comfy beds, the breakfast, coffee machines in every room, free coffee at the lounge 24 hours, aircondition (most Norwegian hotels do not have AC), design and a personal touch.

In case of the prices in the minibar; Norway is a highcost country for many travellers. I can`t argue about that in any way. I still want to thank you for your stay and your feedback. We would welcome you again at any given time.

- The staff at Saga Hotel Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Boutique hotel in quiet residential, embassy district. Great location, tram 50m away. Modern, smart decor. We had superior room which was quite spacious. Breakfast room in basement area very pleasant, conducive to chatting to other guests if so wished. Great breakfast selection. Reception staff friendly & helpful. Wifi very efficient in guest rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience in our short stay in Oslo! The accommodations were very comfortable and we felt safe parking our car and walking all around the city. Excellent location, half way between the Sculpture garden and the Palace. Also, wonderful shopping and eateries close by. The staff was also very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is located in an exclusive quiet area of Oslo but within easy walking distance to all the delights that Oslo has to offer.It is 5 min walk to the Royal Palace and a further 5 min to the centre of the city.The hotel is a 4 star and lives up to this rating in every respect. The hotel has been totally refurbished with stylish furnishings but still maintains a sense of its 19th century classical origins.Our room was a junior suite and we could not wish for better accommodation , even included a massage chair which a the end of a day exploring magnificent Oslo it was most welcomed.The staff were exceptionally charming and helpful and the breakfast was first rate.
Highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Oslo

Room Tip: We had a junior suite but I am sure all rooms will be to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saga Hotel Oslo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.