We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posthallen Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Posthallen Restaurant
Prinsensgate 8, Oslo, Norway (Sentrum)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #522 of 971 Restaurants in Oslo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

for the quality we received here, might be because there was a lot of people that day , but still

Visited May 2011

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent 5-course Chef's Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I went to this place to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday, and we had a great experience! Our 5-course turned out to be 9. We actually got 4 extra minor dishes, in addition to a free cava when we arrived. Some of this may be due to the fact that they had a fashion show, which is not unusual at Posthallen. However, on this Tuesday, the service was nice and caring, and the food was exciting with great combination of tastes. Value for money, even if you only have the 5 planned courses. 500,- kr / person for 5-course Chef's Menu

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Nice food - bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We had made a reservation, but when we arrived it was almost impossible to obtain contact with any staff. A waitress laying the tables, was trying hard to avoid us - it turned out afterwards that she was to be serving us. For the restaurants sake, I hope she is not a regular.
We ordered our food and wine. The latter was a problem. The two first choices we made turned out to be sold out. Each time the waitress disappeard for å LONG time before coming back informing us that they were sold out. I can understand that this can happen once, but twice is a bit annoying.
There was butter on the table, but we didn't get any bread - until we asked for it after we had been served our first course. Some of the tables arround us got it at once, other didn't. And when the second course arrived, the orders had been mixed up som one in our party of five got the wrong course. The service ruined some of the evening...
The food on the other hand was great. The building used to be a postoffice. The room would though have been more impressive without been devided by a provisoric wall through the middle of the room.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“One of the coolest restaurant´s in Oslo! The interior, the service and the food was absolutely splendid and delicious...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

One of the coolest restaurant´s in Oslo! The interior, the service and the food was absolutely splendid and delicious! This is definitely a place to visit over and over again, which I will do very soon. WELL DONE Posthallen! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Posthallen Restaurant - an exciting and tasty oasis in Oslo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is a feedback on the three-course dinner as we celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary Saturday, June 5, 2010.

It was quite a first impression that met us when we entered the backyard of Posthallen Restaurant. You will be suddenly in a completely different world in the middle of town. So incredibly nice.

A good while since we've been out and eaten, but we both agreed that we can not remember and have tasted a better meal ever. And so incredibly delicious and deilkat, and the like to creative flavors! The whole meal was a sort of surprise! And not only that, the all were served by skilled waiters who apparently knew his issues and all were
as pleasant and smiling :)

After dinner I chose and have a coffee latte out, and after a few minutes there was a little surprise of some delicacy for coffee: strawberries, raspberries and some chocolate stuff that tasted heavenly!

Thanks for a memorable evening!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posthallen Restaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Posthallen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posthallen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.