We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OSLO BEST HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kjolberggaten 29, Oslo 653, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kampen Apartment Hotell)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30 % Off Scandinavia
Ranked #65 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“OSLO BEST HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at Best Western Kampen Hotell for 2 days and 1 night. I was coming to oslo for a business trip.Best location compared to other hotels.Very near to metro station,3 mins walking distance from downtown central station.I booked Kampen Deluxe (Single Room).Room is complete with unique decors of black and silver combined with varied textures.Free Wi-Fi Internet access with high speed,32 inch LCD television,fully ully equiped kitchen and a washing machine in the bathroom.

Room price is low as compared to other hotels in oslo.All the staffs are known norwegian as well as english language very well.


Stayed june 2013, travelled as a business trip

Room Tip: Most of the rooms feature balconies making it the perfect choice for sun shine lovers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarPreet S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Miller

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at - 47 24 07 40 00.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Amar Preet
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kampen Apartment Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    110
    60
    34
    46
See reviews for
52
77
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

looking good on the pictures - looking poor in real!

horrible bathroom (shower with no water "stop" - whole bath is under water after a shower)
loud squeaking doors, expensive, uncomfortable ikea bed, demolished balcony door (probably from a break-in)

never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our passport was stolen so we were forced to take any hostell close to the center in Oslo. One night cost $358 which we had prepaid the night before through a Visa card. The staff was forceful about me signing the bill. We found the bathroom had a strong smell of mold. I turned up the heat to dry it out and took allergy medication so I wouldn't have asthma. We had to stay in Oslo within walking distance to the US embassy yet it was a hour walk one way there so we could get a replacement passport. We felt we were gouged with the quality of this low end room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were coming to oslo for family vacation.We had a family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids).Everything was nice from the rooms, guest service, and food. The price was also very reasonable compared to other hotels in Oslo.Room itself was fab, fully equiped kitchen and a washing machine in the bathroom. The internet service was fantastic.There was a good tv.Tea & Coffee machines are available in the room.

The hotel is a bit outside Oslo city centre, but the Metro station at Tøyen is only 100 meters away, and from there 2 minutes from the downtown central station. The hotel has it's own restaurant with greatfood at a decent price.

We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed at this hotel in January 2013. We arrived at the hotel from the metro, the first plus was that the hotel was very well positioned in relation to downtown Oslo. When we arrived we had a very quick and simple check in. We were surprised at how spacious our room was. It was clean, modern and simple. There was a television in each room, a very spacious bathroom and a comfortable lounge area. The only downside was there was no kitchen utensils, however there was a local co-op where we purchased disposable cutlery if we fancied a quick bite to eat rather than a meal. We didn't eat at the hotel but the food was reasonably priced. We made a few enquiries about local attractions and where to go and the reception staff were friendly and accommodating. This hotel is not 5* but you get what you pay for. If you go to Oslo with the intention of spending all day in the hotel room....I wouldn't bother. However if you like to explore the city you are visiting, like to try local restaurants and bars, this is a very good convenient base.

Room Tip: Request a spacious room. Our two rooms were at the front of the hotel overlooking the lit up trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel approx. 3rd time in last 5 years and its even get worse :-(
Me and 3 colleagues stayed there because company booked it while Oslo is nearly booked out and our standard hotel had no rooms available :-(

1) check in:
1.1) 2 guys did our check in, in a real uninterested way, in parallel a guest claimed to get a working water boiler (the on n his room was somehow not working)
they told us that "Free Wlan" (as written on the homepage) costs 60,- NOK/day extra .... strange we never had to pay for it before...
after discussions they decided we can get it for free!

1.2) we asked for getting Best Western bonus points on our cards => was not possible cause this is the apartment hotel bla bla bla, but still operated by Best Western.

1.3) during check in, don't know why, the guy offered us a suite for us 4 together :-( with 4 bedrooms (one for each of us) ... NOGO we are on business trip and not on vacation....

2) checking the room:
(since it was an "junior suite" I had living room with "kitchen", bathroom + toilet and bedroom.
2.1) The bedroom was small (OK) but very hot (like Spain in summer, not like Norway :-)) so i opened the window .... when going to bed late in the evening I couldn't close it again ... so the temperature was pleasant but it was very loud as the window was out to the main road :-(

2.2) the bathroom looked very small (OK) and clean .... on first view ... on second I saw there was a water drain in the floor direct left of the toilet and this was covered by dirt and hair like being not cleaned for the last 3 weeks => disgusting like hell

2.3) the extractor above the ofen was dirty like hell, the pots in the cupboard somehow tacky
I wouldn't like to use this kitchen for cooking!
A colleague of mine heated some water for making tea and kept the pot with some water left on the ofen, on next evening he was surprised cause the pot was back in cupboard and seemed to be washed!
He took it out and spilled the whole water from day before.......!!!!!!!!

I complained my not closing window and the disgusting water drain next morning, in the evening the window was closed (I was a little afraid and didn't open it again... happy sleeping)
but the drain was still uncleaned, so I complained again and then on 3rd day it was not looking clean but better than before

3) Breakfast starts at 07:00 and cheese on the buffet looks like being old :-(, the scrambled eggs have been a burned every morning, buffet is very small compared to some cheaper hotels I've been

4) When asking or complaining something the receptionists are acting really unfriendly like adding them lots of extra work, ...
when I checked out I didn't get an invoice, etc (I had only this small paper from credit card printer when checking in)
.... asking for the bill (for my company) the guy pulled a grimace like hell and gave it to me ....

Conclusion:
=========
Friendliness, service and quality level are contradicting the high price (around 270 Euro per night)

This hotel CAN NOT be recommended for future stays.

If you want to get some adventures take a tent outside in the forest, if you want to have a nice atmosphere and a warm welcome => take another hotel

SORRY to say this :-(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell

Address: Kjolberggaten 29, Oslo 653, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kampen Apartment Hotell)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kampen Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.